We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Vio.com
£117
Fully refundable before Sun, 2 Jun
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
JLandMike
Cochrane, Canada

Super location but a bit tired

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Aug 2023via mobile
Great location as others have noted for our one night stay. Easy access to the train station. Check in was quick and friendly. The hotel itself is pretty tired but the room was super clean and spacious. Pillows were extremely flat but a call down to the desk yielded extra pillows no problem. Extremely hot weather while we were there so we were appreciative of the ac. No breakfast included so we opted to grab something at the train station instead. It was a decent option for a short stay with a great location.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Olivier Delafontaine, Marketing at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review
Responded 29 Aug 2023
Good morning,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel and hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,
Your Hotel Continental Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    £111
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £129
0.2 miles from Hotel Continental Lausanne
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    £239
  • Priceline
    £270
0.4 miles from Hotel Continental Lausanne
Free Wifi
Pool
Outside Wine&Lounge Bar
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    £112
  • Expedia.com
    £120
0.4 miles from Hotel Continental Lausanne
Free Wifi
Room service
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    £242
  • Expedia.com
    £265
0.7 miles from Hotel Continental Lausanne
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    £102
  • ibis
    £112
0.5 miles from Hotel Continental Lausanne
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    £128
  • Priceline
    £132
3.0 miles from Hotel Continental Lausanne
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    £113
  • Expedia.com
    £135
0.9 miles from Hotel Continental Lausanne
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Triple Room with bathroom at the Hotel du Marche
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    £87
  • Expedia.com
    £92
0.5 miles from Hotel Continental Lausanne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Swiss Chocolate Lausanne Outside Hotel Fotografch Jeronimo Vilaplana
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    £104
  • Expedia.com
    £118
0.5 miles from Hotel Continental Lausanne
Free Wifi
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £92
  • Expedia.com
    £115
3.4 miles from Hotel Continental Lausanne
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Lausanne
Reviews (680)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveller rating
169
318
146
33
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
169
318
146
33
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station coffee machine lausanne gare bed was comfortable the air conditioning breakfast room small room old town switzerland lake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 680 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2023

Very convenient to the train station. Most of front desk staff courteous ( not all).

breakfast room staff rather nosy and rude. Food adequate

Terrible pillows. Totally flat!!..

Very inadequate place for clothes and no place to keep suitcase
.Overrated even for Switzerland! Wouldn't ever stay there againdida

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 664travellerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Olivier Delafontaine, Marketing at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2023

Good morning,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we are sorry that we did not fully meet your expectation. We hope you had a safe journey back home.

Best regards,
Your Hotel Continental Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2023 via mobile

The hotel was right across the street from the train station. It was very accessable to us as travelers, as we were new to the country& unfamiliar with the area. We were greeted with smiles by front desk staff who were very polite& accommodating. Breakfast was good, with many choices. The breakfast staff was friendly, and she even remembered us the following day. Room was exceptionally clean& the extra large bath towels were an added plus. Beds were comfortable.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank H2489WHmichellej
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Olivier Delafontaine, Marketing at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2023

Good morning,

We thank you for your comments and postive comments about our team. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience in our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Your Hotel Continental Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2023

Right across from the train station...about 5 minute walk. If you book a double comfort classic room with a lake view, you will be able to see the lake from a tiny balcony. The room is very dated but spacious. Restaurants are everywhere for different types of cuisines. The tram station is next door. We purchased some food and stored them in a refrigerator only to find out the next day, the fridge was unplugged thus we had to throw away everything. Next time check the plug.
The bed is comfortable. There's a sofa too. Separate room for toilet and bidet. Dual sinks. Breakfast was pretty basic but okay. Friendly service.

Room tip: Get a room with a lake view
Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WorldPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stéphanie Baumert, Marketing at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2023

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short.

Sincerely,
Jean-Phillipe Fleury, Manager and the Continental Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2022 via mobile

Hotel is located opposite Laussane train station. It is very close. Convenient store is also nearby. Easy to travel to old town and city center by Metro, which close station is just 1 min walk.
Some part of hotel was renovated, but some are old. Elevator is very conservative, door to be open manually. I have got room on 1st floor and my room is a rear of hotel, view is really bad. Carpet is quite old and smell of tobacco. Bathroom was just renovated.

Room tip: Better request high floor
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Mollymoon_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stéphanie Baumert, Marketing at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2023

Dear Mollymoon_26,

Thank you for your comment. Unfortunately all the rooms do not have the lake view and are not renovated. Next time, feel free to contact the reception to see if we can give you another room.

Sincerely,
Jean-Phillipe Fleury, Manager and the Continental Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2022

I would never stay in this hotel again. It looks dirty inside and out. One night was enough for me!

Dirty bathrooms, stained rugs. I could not wait to leave.

I also didn't feel safe right outside the front door. It's very close to the train station so a lot of strange characters.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank carrieh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stéphanie Baumert, Marketing at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2023

Dear Carrieh87,

We are very sorry to read your comment. We always make sure that our client feels good and safe in our hotel. We will discuss this internally.

Sincerely,
Jean-Phillipe Fleury, Manager and the Continental Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews