We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Shelf Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Top Shelf Hotel”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Perfect check-in which included a personal viewing of the room with receptionist. Bags delivered. Breakfast had fine service and a good menu. Room is elegant. Only slight criticism is that the bathroom door did not close correctly. As well, some noise from rooms above due to flooring. Stairs to residences may cause a problem for elderly travelers so porters should be used.

This is a fine hotel in a beautiful location. Definitely would use it again!

Tip use 'free' metro from main railway station on Orchy line 2 to the last station 'Orchy'. Hotel is short 250M walk to left across street.

Take a trip to Evian or elsewhere on the regular ferries. Just lovely.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor to avoid noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyboomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    90
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
58
157
35
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We arrived and were shown to a room in the 'English Cottage' by a perfectly spoken and charming receptionist. Super double room with plenty of space for the camp bed for our teenage son. Our room had French windows opening out onto a small balcony with views out to the Ouchy waterfront. The hotel is just over the road from the lake and ideally placed for the waterfront area - the fun part of the town where skateboarders and blade skaters show off. Hotel is only a couple of mins walk from the bottom of the metro line (La Ficelle) so use that rather than taking an 18f taxi from the station like we did.

We ate one night at the hotel's terrace restaurant looking out onto the lake - excellent set menu, good atmosphere and effective service. Not cheap at CF90+ but nothing is in Switzerland. Also ate at the Beau Rivage next door - a step up again in price for the four course tasting menu albeit on a national holiday.

Lovely pool albeit a tad on the cool side, but a very pleasant place to sit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a week with our month old son. We booked a junior suite which was very big but had no view, just a little patio to the left side of the building. Room was very dark, interior was ok but not too fancy, just like the bathroom. Very clean though. The hotel buildings and the garden was very neat and nice looking, the pool was small but very nice.
Breakfast is not included and since we had a little baby with us we had some snacks inside the room except for one morning. The breakfast comes as a buffet with a usual choice of European breakfast items, nothing special but the price! For a couple it is about 65 Francs which we found ridiculous high for the limited choice and the average service (it took forever that someone came to take used plates away). Since the hotel has about 6 buildings it is likely that you have to leave the hotel building anyway and there are some little shops and a bakery just go outside for breakfast, distance might be the same and the price difference is huge.
Overall, the hotel is ok, but for the price you can expect more, rooms are not as nice as on photos and the service has a quite arrogant attitude. Saw at least two guest complaining about something and the staff then was a little too professional and cold, felt not too comfortable to observe it.
For our next stay (we come to Lausanne every year) we would not choose this hotel again and try a smaller hotel we saw in Lutry next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taiwany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Great room. I went during high season and paid a high price. Bathroom was very modern and looked new. It was very clean. Free internet was provided along with a travel pass within Lausanne. The hotel is steps away from the waterfront and many restaurants.

My only complaint is noise. The halls have marble floors. If a lady is walking to her room and wearing high heals, then you will know about it. The cleaning staff is also loud in the hall. They need to dampen the noise.

Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Bingbangboing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Absolutely terrific location. 2 minute walk to underground which connects you everywhere in Lausanne. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Have access to the 5 star hotel and its amenities next door for a fee.
The Italian restaurant on ground floor is a must. Absolutely a terrific meal.
If you wish to splurge do have Sunday brunch next door at the Rotonde.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitoria, ES
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The hotel is perfect! The meals are great, the staff are very polite and helpful and the location couldn't be better.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cardosopat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I chose this hotel when I was attending a conference at its elder sister hotel Beau - Rivage which is next door.When I looked at Trip Advisor it ticked all the boxes and was more reasonably priced.Having now stayed there I know I made the right decision.The Beau - Rivage is a huge and beautiful grand European hotel in the old style.The Angleterre is a collection of old smaller buildings that have been fully renovated in a very swish contemporary style.My room was on the ground floor and had a perfect view across the road to Lake Geneve.I loved the whole feel of the place and couldnt fault it.The hotel has an excellent italian restaurant that spills out on to the street for lunch and dinner under market umbrellas when the weather is fine.Breakfast is served in the same venue which was excellent and good value.This is a lovely hotel in a dreamy location - don't overlook it.I flew in from Singapore via London and Geneve where I picked up a train from the airport direct to Lausanne station.Just across the street is the metro which is five stops to Orchy - a few minutes walk from the hotel.High speed WiFi included for free.

Room Tip: Get a rate inclusive of breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
#9 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre & Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre & Residence Hotel

Property: Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Address: 11 Place du Port, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Angleterre & Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Geneva, facing the Alps and just five minutes from the centre of Lausanne, the Angleterre & Residence, offers a world of refinement, elegance and absolute calm. Divided into six pavilions dating from the 18th, 19th and 21st centuries, this one-of-a-kind hotel features contemporary decor with clean lines within walls steeped in history. The Italian restaurant "L'Accademia" invites you to discover its friendly atmosphere and warm designer decor. The heated outdoor pool at the Angleterre & Residence stands in the midst of a lush green garden and is open in summer. Otherwise, a fitness centre is at your disposal all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angleterre & Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre And Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing