We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice! nice! nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice! nice! nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

Value for money, great design, very clean, and a very nice view!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pomputus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    90
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
56
153
35
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The hotel has an excellent location for leisure travelers however it does have a unique style which may not be welcomed by every traveller. The real shame is that the hotel offers room service only until 22:00 and as in Switzerland it is impossible to find food at night late travelers are to left to starvation here. Superior rooms facing the lake have high celings and they are painted in dark gray and beige which creates a cold atmosphere in the room. Bathroom should have definitely included a rain-shower which is missing. Reception and FO staff is welcoming to the limits and not ready to go the extra mile for the guests satisfaction. Help or assistance is leaking and price/performance is poorly justified in the guests eye. A much better guest satisfaction policy has to be adopted with extra traning on complaint handling. Restaurant and F/B outlets are greatly managed and service is very friendly. Accomodation and Rooms Division sections are poorly managed and success for their operations is going to remain a question mark.
4 years ago this property was excellent but right now it is the right choice for group travellers incentives etc.. but not for leisure travellers who are looking to live Switzerland to the fullest with style and great experiences.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourist-LHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This is not a cheap hotel and not a 5 star hotel, but you get very good value for money. Very quality oriented, friendly staff (sometimes a bit stiff and inflexible), lovely rooms with great character and all services available. I stay here a lot, and I always get a feeling of being at a small top class hotel that is a little designoriented and very relaxing. The beds are fantastic - I always sleep very well here. Breakfast is expensive though.

Room Tip: The nicest rooms are in the Angleterre building with lake view - stylish and cosy with old wodden be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pompe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

After a year of searching for a hotel in Lausanne where it is not a pain to return every week on business, I finally found the Angleterre. I wish I had done so much much earlier.
Staff at the reception is very friendly even if they are busy answering the ever ringing phone. You do not have to ask for the extras you have booked because they check it for you (it is recommended that you register with iPrefer if you want to make use of the spa of Beau Rivage just next door free of charge).
The hotel has several buildings for the rooms in slightly different styles, but all I have been in are very nicely decorated, modern, full of daylight; you can close the blinds easily with a remote control. TV is not huge but comes with a good selection of international channels.
The hotel is very nicely situated by the lake but you can easily take the metro or buses to get to your destination. As all other hotels in Lausanne, they provide you with a free travel card for the length of your stay.
Check out the special packages on the hotel website if you are looking for a little pampering: I have booked the spa package twice, it includes daily breakfast, a half-bottle of regional white wine, access to the spa at the beau rivage (very nice with one indoor and one outdoor pool, big enough to swim in) and one 50-minute massage. This is a very good value package.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oszorsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochristi, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Excellent hotel with very good staff. Rooms have a lot of space, enough cupboards (and easy to use hangers).
Restaurant serves very good food and is price/quality-wise reasonable.
One minor thing: the small but well equipped gym has no dressing room, nor shower. Be aware of that, before you go for a work-out.

Room Tip: On the top floor, Lake view is spectacular, even trough the small windows at the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mil r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I am recently taking a training course at LHC, and I choose Angleteere & Residence hotel as my residence for about one week. The location of the hotel is super. It's facing to the lake, with restaurant and super market around. More important, the sub way station is just at the corner, I have received one free transportation pass upon check in which was a very nice touch. The employees are warm and friendly, the room I stayed was cozy. Basically I can't ask more. Will love to come back !

Carol Ren from Shanghai, China

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol_Ren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

the hotel is facing the lake but its far from the city center. you can take the metro to the center. the rooms are nice with relativly new furniture.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamoodi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
#8 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre & Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre & Residence Hotel

Property: Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Address: 11 Place du Port, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Family Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Angleterre & Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Geneva, facing the Alps and just five minutes from the centre of Lausanne, the Angleterre & Residence, offers a world of refinement, elegance and absolute calm. Divided into six pavilions dating from the 18th, 19th and 21st centuries, this one-of-a-kind hotel features contemporary decor with clean lines within walls steeped in history. The Italian restaurant "L'Accademia" invites you to discover its friendly atmosphere and warm designer decor. The heated outdoor pool at the Angleterre & Residence stands in the midst of a lush green garden and is open in summer. Otherwise, a fitness centre is at your disposal all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angleterre & Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre And Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing