We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top choice on the lake shore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Top choice on the lake shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

This may be the cheaper option on the Ouchy lake shore when compared to the over-the-top prices next door, but it is still top notch. I booked a superior lake view room and was upgraded to a Junior Suite. It is always difficult to give an unbiased review if you get more than what you paid for, but I will try.

The suite is VERY spacious, with excellent facilities (walk-in closet, stunning bathroom, all equipment and decorations are top class). Great views on Lake Geneva, and the windows do have electronic shutters if the "light" bothers you (like some other reviewers complained - imagine that!). Very comfortable study area with good wifi connection, well equipped for business travellers.

Very helpfull staff, especially the young man at reception. Ferries just across the road. Good connection to the city with the Metro around the corner (2 min on foot). Short taxi ride to the main rail station.

My only complaint: very expensive breakfeast, totally overpriced. Try the pancake shop next door, which is much better value.

Final word of advice: beware of the free transport card that the hotel give you. I was inspected on the Metro by an army of three inspectors and not one of them knew what it was or recognised it. Fortunately I also had my Swiss Pass on me.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bolander_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    90
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
56
153
35
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
218 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Wonderful staff in this luxurous hotel. Comfortable bed with top quality bedding and towels. It could be very dark with remote blinds and peacefully quiet. Excellent bathroom with unique flooring and plush towels. Great umbrellas provided on a rainy day. We had a spacious room and efficient elevator access. I liked the interior designs they were very modern and interesting in all the community areas. It was an easy walk to commute up to the old town for touring and a pleasant stroll to the water front with plenty to do and see including the Olympic museum and boating tours, gardens, giant chess games and intriguing wind/weather vanes to photograph. Parking was simple and safe on the premises.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

I have stayed in a few hotels in Lausanne when there on regular business trips. I think this is the best. Ideal location on the lake, very pleasant room, the restaurant is very good - expensive but no more than anything in Switzerland. Staff everywhere are delightful and helpful (not always the case among the Swiss). There is a good Thai and also a pizza place around the corner which are good alternatives if you are on a budget. The walks in both directions along the lake a very attractive and relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lobnya, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

Enjoyed three excellent nights in this beautiful hotel,

it's located in very good place, near the lake with quick access to public transportation in Laussane - Ouchy.

Service is absolutely imazing, and the hotel is very nice with the Xmas preparations

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimpru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasil
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

Great hotel. Sibling of the Beau Rivage.
I stayed at a renovated room, very comfortable, with view to the lake. Very nice classical design.
You have access to the Beau Rivage which has exceptional services and food but I would say the rooms here are nicer, fresher and much more comfortable.
Breakfast is quite average though, but there is a little cafe/boulangerie next door that is not bad at all.
Exceptional service.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelSpy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
285 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

This is a very nice place in an excellent location for views, right at the side of the Lake in Ouchy.

The hotel has modern décor, and the room we stayed in was an executive suite on the front of the hotel overlooking the lake (I asked for am upgrade as it was my birthday and we got it).

The room had a large comfortable bed, large flat screen TV, though even the normal TV entertainment and music channels were chargeable. There’s a mini-bar (chargeable), an electronic safe, tea and coffee making facilities, and plenty of wardrobe space. The room was well sound proofed from the road in front, and had electric black out blinds.
The bathroom is a nice size, bath, separate shower cubicle, large sink area, with hairdryer, hotel robes and slippers.

There are a limited number of free spaces in front of the hotel reception, and an underground secure car park adjacent to them, which costs 25 CHF per day.

The outdoor pool was closed when we were there, though it was I think a little out of season, but we couldn’t even look at it as it was shielded behind a locked entrance.

The metro up to Lausanne centre is a couple of minutes from the hotel and is one line up there. The hotel issues us with a free local transport pass on arrival too.

We didn’t eat in the hotels Italian restaurant or take breakfast, but the menu did sound very good.

A nice place to stay, very clean, good staff, and an excellent location. Downside is, it’s expensive…..5 star Lake view in Switzerland!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to one of the exectutive suites on the front overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liveyourlifebefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

One of the best hotels in Lausanne, clean, quiet, not huge, excellent service. L'Academia resto is actually one of the best italians in the city with a very good choice of wines.
Always a pleasure to stay there and Imgo pretty often.

Room Tip: Rooms 1000 in the building up from swimming pool or next to swiming pool with lake view are extremly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gufi70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
#8 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre & Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre & Residence Hotel

Property: Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Address: 11 Place du Port, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Angleterre & Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Geneva, facing the Alps and just five minutes from the centre of Lausanne, the Angleterre & Residence, offers a world of refinement, elegance and absolute calm. Divided into six pavilions dating from the 18th, 19th and 21st centuries, this one-of-a-kind hotel features contemporary decor with clean lines within walls steeped in history. The Italian restaurant "L'Accademia" invites you to discover its friendly atmosphere and warm designer decor. The heated outdoor pool at the Angleterre & Residence stands in the midst of a lush green garden and is open in summer. Otherwise, a fitness centre is at your disposal all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angleterre & Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre And Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing