We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
San Mateo
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“I loved this hotel!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed two nights in August, 2013, at this Lausanne hotel. It is as nice a place to stay as I have ever experienced. It has understated elegance and a secluded feeling due to its interior courtyards. It is an extremely comfortable place to stay. I didn't go inside the next-door Beau Rivage, but I wouldn't have traded my hotel and room for anything else in Lausanne or many other places. The staff is highly professional and the front desk personnel were outstanding in every way.

My junior suite was spacious. It had a love seat, two armchairs, a coffee table and lots of closet and storage space. Tall windows made it a bright room. It was appealingly decorated with beautiful hardwood floors. The hotel and room were quiet. Air conditioning was excellent with precise temperature control and no blasts of air. Wifi internet access was free and good. The bed was excellent.

The large tiled bath had a walk-in shower with excellent controls and lots of hot water.

The breakfast buffet was good, but not outstanding. It cost 34 CHF.

I had excellent meals at three restaurants in the Angleterre/Beau Rivage hotel pairing. The highlight was the Japanese restaurant where I had a world-class sushi lunch. I couldn't get a dinner reservation at the Japanese restaurant which is small, but lunch was an excellent alternative. I had dinner at the French restaurant and at the Italian restaurant and both were fully satisfactory.

The front desk presented a free transit pass that made riding the Metro very easy. A boat ride to Evian on the south shore of the lake made a pleasant outing. The boat trip takes about half an hour.

The entrance to the hotel is easy to miss because it is via a narrow driveway connecting to Avenue d'Ouchy which is not the hotel address. But this contributes to the hotel's seclusion.

I would have liked to stay much longer at this very pleasant place. I will not consider any other hotel if I return to Lausanne.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tipster2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    90
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
58
163
36
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Situated right on the waterfront of Lake Geneva, this hotel offered almost everything one could require - separate toilet (quite rare), modern bathroom and spacious room, lots of cupboard space, bath robes & slippers, L'Occitane toiletries and tea & coffee making facilities. Close to the Metro,the ferry port and many restaurants this hotel was within easy walking of everything worth doing. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake and mountain view (i.e. facing the waterfront) are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobyVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a few nights. It was a last minute booking so didn't have much time to research. Firstly we were upgraded to a room with a balcony with the interconnecting room. Our view was spectacular, overlooking lake geneva!
The rooms were spacious and very clean!
The pool was small but perfect for relaxing in the hot weather.
The hotel is located perfectly in the port area, with loads of restaurant to choose from.
All in all we had a great time and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lausanne.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandarinYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beebe, Arkansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Our family of four booked two rooms here in early July. We loved the location! The view of Lake Geneva was amazing and then add the Alps and it's pure heaven on EARTH!!! The rooms are very nice and spacious. The grounds are very well groomed and lovely. The entire staff was professional and courteous. The beds were very comfortable. We had nice robes and slippers in both rooms. Conveniently located to numerous restaurants and shopping. There is a small souvenir shop located just across the street from the driveway into the hotel. I'm not certain of the name but the cuckoo clocks are super adorable and I highly recommend taking one home. Located within super easy walking distance from the boat service to several places (we chose Evian, France....absolutely beautiful) and also the train (or metro?). I'm not certain what it's called but we used it a lot! Our family had an excellent stay in Lausanne and we have Angleterre and Residence to thank for making our resting/down time quite peaceful and pleasant. We will definitely stay here when we return to visit our family in Lausanne again!

Room Tip: We were booking two rooms so we went with the "cheaper" rate unlike our usual vacations. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenjen0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Rooms are fantastic. Service is top. And the hotel is conveniently located by the lake. Do not forget about the food, that is good too. I really recommend it for those who like to stay in good hotels, well located. Great for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in front of the lake. There are some rooms at the front of the lake that are amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLSMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed for 1 week while on a course at IMD. Everything was perfect: location, service, rooms, breakfast. My family joined for the last 2 days and they enjoyed the pool and the city. I will happily go back to this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

After taking the TGV from Avignon and connecting to Lausanne from Geneva, we validated our Swiss Pass and took the 15SF taxi to the hotel. In just a few minutes we were shown our room and the bags arrived shortly after. Our room, though a bit small, overlooked the lake but being on the second floor our view was partially obscured by another of the five buildings that make up this complex. Personnel were friendly and dispatched information quickly.

Perhaps that was one of several problems. When asked about boat schedules on the lake, Madame at the front desk simply pointed to the area where we would catch the boats. No timetable. For that, we had to walk to the outstanding tourist office adjacent to the Metro. At breakfast, not once did a server tell us that we could order porridge, eggs, waffles, even cappuccino. Upon checkout, we were billed 38 SF for what we thought was a complimentary box of chocolates on the table. There was no price list anywhere (Madame removed the charge after suggesting that I could contest this issue with the management). There was also the issue of a broken down elevator that wasn't fixed until the afternoon. Because the hotel consists of five buildings, ours did not apparently have a monitor to detect electrical problems. When we returned from the boat cruise on the lake, our bathroom was, as the head housekeeper put it "brulant." Scorching. Only by dismantling the hot towel rack was normalcy restored.

But despite the above issues, I am recommending the hotel. The excellent review posted June 10 from a reader from Toronoto pretty much sums up the positive aspects. I'm just sorry that we were not able to have had quite the same experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M-man11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
#7 of 46 in Lausanne
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#6 of 46 in Lausanne
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre & Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre & Residence Hotel

Property: Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Address: 11 Place du Port, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Family Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Angleterre & Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Geneva, facing the Alps and just five minutes from the centre of Lausanne, the Angleterre & Residence, offers a world of refinement, elegance and absolute calm. Divided into six pavilions dating from the 18th, 19th and 21st centuries, this one-of-a-kind hotel features contemporary decor with clean lines within walls steeped in history. The Italian restaurant "L'Accademia" invites you to discover its friendly atmosphere and warm designer decor. The heated outdoor pool at the Angleterre & Residence stands in the midst of a lush green garden and is open in summer. Otherwise, a fitness centre is at your disposal all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Angleterre & Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre And Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing