We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and wonderful staff”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The front desk staff was especially helpful and delightful. Our room was fabulous with a balcony overlooking lake geneva. Highly recommend paying the extra money to get one of those rooms. The attached restaurant provided a delicious breakfast. Really there was nothing bad to report here.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    90
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
58
157
35
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It is an excellent place to stay in Lausanne - an ideal location, very friendly staff, a nice restaurant and very cosy rooms. It would have got 5+ points from us but for one minor thing - we arrived one day before the Lausanne Triathlon start, and and all streets leading to the hotel had been blocked. We had received several letters from the hotel - booking confirmation, upcoming stay information - but in none of the letters did the hotel inform us of the 'temporary difficulties' in reaching the place. As a result, we spent about 2 hours trying to get there and had to park at Beau Rivage. Once we got to the hotel reception we received all the assistance needed from the desk managers: they explained everything, took care of the parking ticket, etc. But it would have been so much easier to tell customers in advance about any such thing as restricted access or alternative parking solutions.

Room Tip: Check sports events schedules beforehand :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eldar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Travel to Lausanne on business a lot and have heard about this hotel. Finally managed to stay at this hotel becasue of a "4 nights for 3" deal (otherwise it would have been outside company policy).
It is pricey (breakfast 34 CHF, meal 70CHF -without alcohol) but the service from the staff was exemplary. The check-in staff accompanying you to your room was a nice touch. The room was comfortable, the gym was OK (but then when you have such a fantastic location with an opportunity to run along the lakeside, why use the gym?) and the food was very tasty.
If they repeat the 4 for 3 deal, I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Hotel Angleterre is perfect! We just spent two nights there and can report that it really is as nice as you could ever hope for. The room was large and finished perfectly. Venetian plaster on the walls, mural on the ceiling, air conditioned, sound proofed window, room-darkening electric blinds, great view and lovely grounds. They also provide a card that gives you free access to the metro and buses.

As others have noted, it is an expensive place to stay but sometimes you just have to be prepared to pay more for the very best. Lausanne is an expensive place to visit so be prepared for everything to cost more than you would normally pay (especially alcohol, food and wine).

Stop reading and book now!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montyawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Angleterre & Residence Hotel is wonderful-- in just about every way. The buildings and grounds are beautiful; the location-- right by the lake-- is terrific; and the staff is excellent. It feels very European and very classy-- the reception is in a striking glass building with a large stone driveway, and the rooms are in a collection of handsome old buildings that have been completely renovated with beautiful design and top-quality materials.

My daughter and I were near the end of a 10 day bicycle trip across the Alps from Salzburg to Geneva and, at check out, I inadvertently left my glasses at the reception. An hour into our ride (and about 20 kilometers from Lausanne) a taxi called out to us... the hotel had sent him after us with my glasses.

Wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCWilliamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Our 4 nights at this hotel were beautiful. We had a very nice lake-facing room with a balcony. The views were gorgeous and being next to the Beau-Rivage Palace, we had access to their grounds and fancy restaurants. The staff was pleasant and the stay very relaxing.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra to get the lake-facing room...It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shawnee40_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in Lausanne - one in this hotel and one in Chateau d'ouchy, which is located next door to this one. The hotel has a very good location, close to harbor, where you can take a ferry around the lake. Angleterre & residence has a large territory with a small but nice swimming pool where you can enjoy yourself. The hotel itself consists of several blocks. We had a room not in the main building, but it was nice, overlooking the inner garden. The room was rather big for Swiss standards:) the stuff at the reception was very nice, offered to pay all the expenses in advance and didn't block any amount from the credit card. The breakfast was quite good, restaurant overlooking the lake. We enjoyed this place and will definitely stay there once again!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
#9 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre & Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre & Residence Hotel

Property: Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Address: 11 Place du Port, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Family Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Angleterre & Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Geneva, facing the Alps and just five minutes from the centre of Lausanne, the Angleterre & Residence, offers a world of refinement, elegance and absolute calm. Divided into six pavilions dating from the 18th, 19th and 21st centuries, this one-of-a-kind hotel features contemporary decor with clean lines within walls steeped in history. The Italian restaurant "L'Accademia" invites you to discover its friendly atmosphere and warm designer decor. The heated outdoor pool at the Angleterre & Residence stands in the midst of a lush green garden and is open in summer. Otherwise, a fitness centre is at your disposal all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angleterre & Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre And Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing