We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good as you would expect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Very comfortable, very efficient, exactly as would expect.....but at a price!
Great location, exemplary service, super comfortable rooms, bathrooms with robes and slippers........super indulgence.
Highly recommended......if you can afford....

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank thekingsmessenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
There are newer reviews for Angleterre & Residence Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

Everything was very good. Many thanks to staff - they managed to make the stay quite pleasant. I would suggest to add some fatless sugarfree food for breakfast for those who are on a diet as there was only one yoghurt which was very popular.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Great spot near the lake. If you get a lake view room- fantastic! Nice, spacious and well equipped rooms. Location is great. If you do not get a lake view room, it is just across the street to enjoy the lake view, jog in the morning, or just have a walk. Several bars and restaurants within walking distance. For a business traveller- still a hassle to ask for an ironing board, especially with late arrival.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Ksksksksks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I am a seasoned traveler and I must say, this hotel is in my top five in my life!
Our room was beyond fantastic. We had the most charming sitting area, a double set of french doors and a balcony with chairs and a table overlooking Lake Geneva. Every single detail was perfection. Including the fact that it was the first time in my life that I could completely submerge this 5 ft 10 inch body in the most luxurious tub! The bed was perfect, the decor was gorgeous and and the staff was exceptional. Oh, to live here forever!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sitting area and balcony!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaurivagepalace, Manager at Angleterre & Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear elizrk,
thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

good hotel with great breakfast(expensive 34ch each, if it doesn't come with the room fare) Dinner was always busy with people. Very helpful staff. Our room was small compared to others but nice and clean and the L'occitane soap was just over the top. Always fresh fruit and just an amazing location near the water and the metro

Room Tip: ask about size. There are some very small rooms
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tcmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

As there is no in between 4 and 5, I decided after much pondering, to give it a four. Everything positive has already been said about this hotel: excellent location, first-rate service at the front desk (we received an upgrade, and a 20% discount on our original price), the room we received was very spacious with all the amenities included for a four star hotel. In addition, for 25 Swiss Francs per person, we were able to take advantage of the spa facilities at the neighboring beautiful Beau-Rivage Palace Hotel. My only complaint has to do with the breakfast and the waiters serving the breakfast (or rather in charge of the breakfast buffet). Apart from the price, the breakfast is rather expensive even for a Swiss hotel; the waiters seemed to have better things to do than to serve breakfast and occasionally were on the brink of being rude. It’s hard understood as the rest of the staff in the hotel was nice and friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Angleterre & Residence Hotel need to do something about the people in charge of the breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GothenburgProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We just returned from a four-night stay at the Angleterre, which was recommended by friends over a conference hotel nearby (and which turned out to be dreadful according to those who opted for it). There is much to like about the Angleterre. If you are lucky enough to get a room overlooking the lake, well, it's breathtaking. It is in a lovely part of Lausanne (a city that isn't nearly as pretty as its surroundings might suggest), the desk staff is courteous and most speak English at least passably. There is ample underground parking right near the entrance (though at a fairly high cost of 25 Swiss Francs a night; five free spaces are available in front, but are nearly always full).There are niggling things. The rooms aren't large -- I'm stymied by those who say otherwise -- and our "junior suite" was about the size of a standard American hotel room, if not smaller. Even the 'updated' things, like the bathrooms, seemed a little long in the tooth and not very imaginatively designed, even if everything worked well (e.g., there was a preposterously long counter... with ONE sink, and everything was monochrome white tiled). Most strange of all was the total absence of a bell staff, even though we had a longish walk over cobblestone streets and up about three flights of stone stairs just to get to the rooms. And, although this is really minor, the elevators had THE STUPIDEST DESIGN EVER (you chose the floor you wanted beforehand, but could not change it upon entering; if you want to go from one floor to another, you have to go to the lobby level, then re-ascend). More seriously, the breakfast buffet was expensive and sub-par, but, then again, nearly all the food in Lausanne was that way (we paid over $50 for fish and chips in a nearby bistro; yes, you read that right).

Quick look-sees at other hotels in the area indicate that the Angleterre is actually about as good as it gets. When you consider that Swiss prices are stratospheric in general, the merely sky-high prices at the Angleterre seem almost like a bargain. Go for the setting and the relative amenities. You'll probably be less happy anywhere else in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the lake. No great reason to stay here if you don't.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrazPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.0 mi away
Chateau d'Ouchy
Chateau d'Ouchy
#7 of 46 in Lausanne
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
0.3 mi away
Carlton Lausanne Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre & Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre & Residence Hotel

Address: 11 Place du Port, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: £141 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angleterre & Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Geneva, facing the Alps and just five minutes from the centre of Lausanne, the Angleterre & Residence, offers a world of refinement, elegance and absolute calm. Divided into six pavilions dating from the 18th, 19th and 21st centuries, this one-of-a-kind hotel features contemporary decor with clean lines within walls steeped in history. The Italian restaurant "L'Accademia" invites you to discover its friendly atmosphere and warm designer decor. The heated outdoor pool at the Angleterre & Residence stands in the midst of a lush green garden and is open in summer. Otherwise, a fitness centre is at your disposal all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Angleterre & Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre And Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing