We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I spent two night in the hotel, coming fot he Lausanne half-marathon. The hotel provided all the necessary comforts - spacious and clean rooms with comfortable beds and good-quality bed linen, large bathroom (L'Occitane toiletries were also a nice touch), receptions staff were very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast had a nice selection of food.

The location right next to the lake was also fantastic.

Just two things to mention - spa isn't always included in the rate and is actually placed in the hotel next door (even if not included, I do recommend paying for it extra, it was great) and if you come late for breakfast, the choice will diminish.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

We had a little pre-Christmas family gathering on Saturday evening at the Beau Rivage Palace next door to the Angleterre, and at first, I thought of booking at the Beau Rivage...until I saw the price. Booking.com offered us accommodation for the three parties that needed hotel accommodation at a price we would have had to pay for one room next door at the Beau Rivage. So we had a pretty good deal (around $220/night).

The hotel itself is very modern, entirely renovated, and we were given rooms with a view on the Lake Geneva....wow! The rooms are sufficiently spacious, the beds very comfortable, I had a separate toilet and a bathroom with a tub that was a little larger at the end to make taking showers more comfortable. Bathrobes and slippers were, of course, available. Overall, a really great impression. Very quiet - I slept with the window open, and was not disturbed by any noises. The view....breathtaking. You could just sit there all day... Or take a walk along the lake (which I did).

The service was excellent as well. Very attentive reception staff, which rounded off the picture.

Unfortunately, I had no chance of using the terrace or testing the breakfast...we had made different arrangements. Next time, I'll try this. And actually, it would probably be much nicer coming here in the summer than in early December when it was freezing cold.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mschuette4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

First, we were very enthusiastic about the beautiful rooms and good views of the lake. But when we wanted to watch the World Cup Final Draw strike the TV and we missed the draw. Also the change of the receiver did not bring the necessary success. So we missed it.
The next thing we did not like to have the faded flowers for our welcome to our room. Then when the other morning the shower did not funktonierte we already made ​​our thoughts, whether we are home in a four star. It's not nice to write this, but unfortunately so were the facts.
We send this remarks to the director that they can go after the thing and the next guests can benefit from it. We did not get any answer from them.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaurivagepalace, Manager at Angleterre & Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear ToBi_Thun,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to read that you liked your room with lake view.
We are sorry that you missed the World Cup Final Draw, because the television was broken. However, our duty manager confirmed that our technical service tried to react as quickly as possible to solve the problem.
During the week of your stay our housekeeping staff put fresh wild roses in your room.
Unfortunately no member of staff was informed about your problem with the shower. We would have been glad to be of assistance.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Very comfortable, very efficient, exactly as would expect.....but at a price!
Great location, exemplary service, super comfortable rooms, bathrooms with robes and slippers........super indulgence.
Highly recommended......if you can afford....

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank thekingsmessenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Everything was very good. Many thanks to staff - they managed to make the stay quite pleasant. I would suggest to add some fatless sugarfree food for breakfast for those who are on a diet as there was only one yoghurt which was very popular.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Great spot near the lake. If you get a lake view room- fantastic! Nice, spacious and well equipped rooms. Location is great. If you do not get a lake view room, it is just across the street to enjoy the lake view, jog in the morning, or just have a walk. Several bars and restaurants within walking distance. For a business traveller- still a hassle to ask for an ironing board, especially with late arrival.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Ksksksksks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I am a seasoned traveler and I must say, this hotel is in my top five in my life!
Our room was beyond fantastic. We had the most charming sitting area, a double set of french doors and a balcony with chairs and a table overlooking Lake Geneva. Every single detail was perfection. Including the fact that it was the first time in my life that I could completely submerge this 5 ft 10 inch body in the most luxurious tub! The bed was perfect, the decor was gorgeous and and the staff was exceptional. Oh, to live here forever!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sitting area and balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaurivagepalace, Manager at Angleterre & Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear elizrk,
thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.0 mi away
Chateau d'Ouchy
Chateau d'Ouchy
#7 of 46 in Lausanne
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre & Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre & Residence Hotel

Address: 11 Place du Port, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: £138 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angleterre & Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Geneva, facing the Alps and just five minutes from the centre of Lausanne, the Angleterre & Residence, offers a world of refinement, elegance and absolute calm. Divided into six pavilions dating from the 18th, 19th and 21st centuries, this one-of-a-kind hotel features contemporary decor with clean lines within walls steeped in history. The Italian restaurant "L'Accademia" invites you to discover its friendly atmosphere and warm designer decor. The heated outdoor pool at the Angleterre & Residence stands in the midst of a lush green garden and is open in summer. Otherwise, a fitness centre is at your disposal all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angleterre & Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre And Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing