We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and professional service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Friendly and professional service”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed for a week in Lausanne at the Angleterre. The hotel is situated in several building with a main building with a very good Italian restaurant and adjoining bar, a very modern reception building plus three other buildings, one which had a small, but very effective gym. There is also an outdoor pool on the premises.
This was a very pleasant hotel and even if I had a standard room I managed to get one with a view, but I could not find a way to sit in my room to enjoy it as the room was quite small... From others staying at the hotel it seems that the mini-suites in the main building are worth the little extra money in terms of extra size and nice lake view with balcony.
Staff service is prompt and makes you feel at home – a had a problem with my dry clean laundry, which was solved immediately. It is the kind of service you would like at a hotel where you stay a longer time.
The Italian restaurant is very good and frequented by outsiders – on a couple of nights we found out that the restaurant was fully booked – do ensure you make a reservation. On the other hand you will have no problem to find decent or even good restaurants within a couple of 100 meters walk from the hotel. Specifically I can recommend having dinner or enjoying a drink in the bar at the hotel across the street “Château d’Ouchy”. Outside is a lounge are which has a nice view, but is situated very close to the street.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a room where you can sit and enjoy the lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abundance_of_miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    91
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
63
170
37
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel recently for business and was very happy with the property. The location was perfect right off the shore of the lake, very close to walking along the shore and good restaurants in the area. Room rate included a local public transport card, and the hotel is only a block from the local subway/train line. This takes you into town, and to the main train station, so is very convenient for getting around. The property itself is an older, classic looking property, spread across several buildings. It is in great shape, and the building we were in had good size rooms. Breakfast buffet was good, not outstanding, but had all the basics and was well done. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would likely stay here again when in the area and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeChippewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I stayed this hotel for one night and wished I could have stayed longer to explore the town. I will say that I did have a hard time finding it at night since it's not well-marked, but once I was there I had no further problems. (And you should know that from Geneva it's a snap. You take a train, the metro and then walk for a few minutes. However, I found directions that said you should turn right at the lake when you get off the metro. In reality, you turn left.) In any event, the hotel is comprised of 4 buildings and I was in a small building closest to the lake. The room was modern, with a large, beautiful bathroom. Breakfast was nice and the staff was very helpful, polite and professional. It was really quiet, and, had I not suffered from jetlag, I'm sure I would've gotten a great night's sleep. The area around the hotel is beautiful and begs for a long walk. I hope to come back soon to take advantage of the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miwohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I spent two night in the hotel, coming fot he Lausanne half-marathon. The hotel provided all the necessary comforts - spacious and clean rooms with comfortable beds and good-quality bed linen, large bathroom (L'Occitane toiletries were also a nice touch), receptions staff were very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast had a nice selection of food.

The location right next to the lake was also fantastic.

Just two things to mention - spa isn't always included in the rate and is actually placed in the hotel next door (even if not included, I do recommend paying for it extra, it was great) and if you come late for breakfast, the choice will diminish.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenzerheide, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We had a little pre-Christmas family gathering on Saturday evening at the Beau Rivage Palace next door to the Angleterre, and at first, I thought of booking at the Beau Rivage...until I saw the price. Booking.com offered us accommodation for the three parties that needed hotel accommodation at a price we would have had to pay for one room next door at the Beau Rivage. So we had a pretty good deal (around $220/night).

The hotel itself is very modern, entirely renovated, and we were given rooms with a view on the Lake Geneva....wow! The rooms are sufficiently spacious, the beds very comfortable, I had a separate toilet and a bathroom with a tub that was a little larger at the end to make taking showers more comfortable. Bathrobes and slippers were, of course, available. Overall, a really great impression. Very quiet - I slept with the window open, and was not disturbed by any noises. The view....breathtaking. You could just sit there all day... Or take a walk along the lake (which I did).

The service was excellent as well. Very attentive reception staff, which rounded off the picture.

Unfortunately, I had no chance of using the terrace or testing the breakfast...we had made different arrangements. Next time, I'll try this. And actually, it would probably be much nicer coming here in the summer than in early December when it was freezing cold.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mschuette4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thun, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

First, we were very enthusiastic about the beautiful rooms and good views of the lake. But when we wanted to watch the World Cup Final Draw strike the TV and we missed the draw. Also the change of the receiver did not bring the necessary success. So we missed it.
The next thing we did not like to have the faded flowers for our welcome to our room. Then when the other morning the shower did not funktonierte we already made ​​our thoughts, whether we are home in a four star. It's not nice to write this, but unfortunately so were the facts.
We send this remarks to the director that they can go after the thing and the next guests can benefit from it. We did not get any answer from them.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaurivagepalace, Manager at Angleterre & Residence Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear ToBi_Thun,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to read that you liked your room with lake view.
We are sorry that you missed the World Cup Final Draw, because the television was broken. However, our duty manager confirmed that our technical service tried to react as quickly as possible to solve the problem.
During the week of your stay our housekeeping staff put fresh wild roses in your room.
Unfortunately no member of staff was informed about your problem with the shower. We would have been glad to be of assistance.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable, very efficient, exactly as would expect.....but at a price!
Great location, exemplary service, super comfortable rooms, bathrooms with robes and slippers........super indulgence.
Highly recommended......if you can afford....

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank thekingsmessenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chateau d'Ouchy
Chateau d'Ouchy
#6 of 46 in Lausanne
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre & Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre & Residence Hotel

Property: Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Address: 11 Place du Port, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Angleterre & Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Geneva, facing the Alps and just five minutes from the centre of Lausanne, the Angleterre & Residence, offers a world of refinement, elegance and absolute calm. Divided into six pavilions dating from the 18th, 19th and 21st centuries, this one-of-a-kind hotel features contemporary decor with clean lines within walls steeped in history. The Italian restaurant "L'Accademia" invites you to discover its friendly atmosphere and warm designer decor. The heated outdoor pool at the Angleterre & Residence stands in the midst of a lush green garden and is open in summer. Otherwise, a fitness centre is at your disposal all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Angleterre & Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre And Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing