We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!!!”
Review of Crystal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crystal Hotel
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Lausanne
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We were shocked at how appallingly bad this hotel was, we only stayed 1 night but the children had to sleep on a warn out sofa because there were dangerous cables hanging out of the walls by the bunk beds making it unsafe! The carpets were badly stained and the hotel and room smelt strongly of urine!! This was Switzerland, not a third world country, the info and photos on the website are misleading! I am shocked at how bad this hotel was considering how exspensive it was, when I complained I was offered a 10 franc Swiss Army knife! Do not stay here it is awful!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzieswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre-Yves F, Propriétaire at Crystal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

We are aware it is nearly impossible for everything to always be perfect in a hotel, and we understand that everyone is entitled to her or his opinion and comments. However we would like to reassure future potential guests and let them know our hotel does in fact have hot and cold water, we do have electricity, we also have televisions and WIFI....

We love, cherish and serve all guests, regardless of nationality or language spoken. We offer, at no extra charge, and to everyone, a delicious Swiss breakfast buffet and we pride ourselves in always providing the very best customer service to our guests.

We follow and observe very strict hygiene guidelines and have optimal safety measures in place.
The comments expressed above are completely inaccurate and her attitude is absolutely out of line.

We hope she will find hotels better suited to her "requirements" in the future.

PY Fiora, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 for 2 nights with our two kids. Though room was just okay but great breakfast and very helpful staff who made our stay very comfortable. It was a little hot so they gave us two fans and one evening even opened up their breakfast area terrace with access to kitchen just for us to eat. Would recommend it but just ask for rooms with some view or it feels like you are in a basement.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kala I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Lausanne seems priced for millionaires. This hotel is plain but everything either works well or is fixed promptly. It helps to approach the staff without arrogance. Breakfast on the outdoor terrace is wonderful. Bread is fabulous, but the coffee ...? Really good coffee is hard to find here. Even
the Starbucks doesn't hold up. Lovely oranges with a big juicer for fresh juice. All transit is nearby and the huge Co-OP department store is nearby with everything you'd need- groceries, win, liquor in the basement. The staff: Mauro, Rita, and Monique took a lot of care to make this old man's visit a happy one. There are two computers, a Mac and a windows' free 24/7

Room Tip: If heavy, out-of-tune church bells bother you when they make the sonic demand to go to church....yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel Crystal in Lausanne for 2 nights during a business trip. The hotel is very basic and the design is a bit oldish; rooms are very basic, but clean. The quality of sleep is OK, they could invest in better duves and pillows though. The best of all is the buffet breakfast, great choice and large quantities. Then the location is excellent as well, right on the Riponne Sq, near shops, bars & restaurants and public transportation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank agg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I stayed here 11 night in August 2012 with a friend during a bicycle trip from London to Italy.
The staff was helpful, located in the heart of Lausanne, large rooms with well equipped bathrooms. One of the best buffet breakfast I had in a hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor suites with terrace, amazing view on cathedral and lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

Loved our trip there... Very helpful and
nice staff. Breakfast is very big, lots of different breads, cereals, orange juice... What a difference from many hotels we have been in the past that offer small, basic breakfast with stale Danish pastries...
We had no issue with the rooms. Yes it was a little small and it has a retro look but that's to be expected in Europe, and it was very clean. My husband is a clean freak and was very impressed by how clean it was. I was reading some of the reviews and I wonder if we stayed in the same hotel... To each his own, but bed bugs really???

Anyway... We will definitely be back!!!!

Highly recommended for a decent, lovely and cost y hotel in downtown Lausanne.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuffk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

A very nice hotel Located right in the heart of Lausanne. Walking distance to most sights such as the Cathedral and all the other lovely building in the old part.
You get of course the travelcard so you can use public transportation which is necessary in the hilly town :)
The staff is friendly and when i had issues they fixed right away.
The décor is not the newest, but they kept it clean, and for three nights it worked out great.
The Breakfast was fine as well. Good variety and coffee.

I can definitely recommend this hotel if you want a nice budget hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndersSandgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#16 of 45 in Lausanne
712 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Aulac
Hotel Aulac
#22 of 45 in Lausanne
404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bellerive Hotel
Bellerive Hotel
#28 of 45 in Lausanne
122 reviews
4 mi away
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
#1 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
895 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mirabeau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Address: rue Chaucrau 5, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range: £92 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet pedestrian street, we offer you a warm welcome, a high quality equipment for your comfort and we serve a hearty Swiss buffet breakfast.Hotel Crystal Lausanne is within walking distance of the Palais de Beaulieu (congress center, exhibitions, etc.) - Close to private clinics and the University Hospital (CHUV). Direct connection with the EPFL and the University thanks to M1 - 250 meters on foot of our establishment The City Tax allows you the free use of the public transportation of Lausanne Bus and Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lausanne
Lausanne Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing