We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for what it is”
Review of Crystal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crystal Hotel
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel is (extremely) dated and somewhat loud. The rooms are very, very basic and not really cheap (although Lausanne is very expensive) it is what it is I guess. The location is really great. Right by the old town and a stone's throw from the metro. You really can't beat the location. The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was really great. Tasty and an absolutely beautiful view of the city. It's the best part of the hotel. Overall, I would stay again but probably just because everything else is so expensive in Lausanne.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rochestervacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed in the suite which was perfect. After 12 hours of traveling the comfortable and quiet room was a godsend. The room has a very large balcony with incredible views of Lausanne and the cathedral. The hotel offers a big albeit typical European breakfast (croissant, boiled egg, etc). The woman at the front desk was very friendly and helpful.....and very patient with my horrific French (even though her English was excellent).

We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The suite is well worth the extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana12142013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I was just staying for 1 night in the hotel because of I had a job in Lausanne. Location is perfectly great, in the heart of Lausanne's old town. The hotel itself offers nothing special. Very decadence. And feels like going back with time travel to 1970's. it could've been fun tho, but it was not. Luckily the staff were pretty friendly and the room was decent and clean.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank BerryErwanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We were shocked at how appallingly bad this hotel was, we only stayed 1 night but the children had to sleep on a warn out sofa because there were dangerous cables hanging out of the walls by the bunk beds making it unsafe! The carpets were badly stained and the hotel and room smelt strongly of urine!! This was Switzerland, not a third world country, the info and photos on the website are misleading! I am shocked at how bad this hotel was considering how exspensive it was, when I complained I was offered a 10 franc Swiss Army knife! Do not stay here it is awful!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzieswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre-Yves F, Propriétaire at Crystal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

We are aware it is nearly impossible for everything to always be perfect in a hotel, and we understand that everyone is entitled to her or his opinion and comments. However we would like to reassure future potential guests and let them know our hotel does in fact have hot and cold water, we do have electricity, we also have televisions and WIFI....

We love, cherish and serve all guests, regardless of nationality or language spoken. We offer, at no extra charge, and to everyone, a delicious Swiss breakfast buffet and we pride ourselves in always providing the very best customer service to our guests.

We follow and observe very strict hygiene guidelines and have optimal safety measures in place.
The comments expressed above are completely inaccurate and her attitude is absolutely out of line.

We hope she will find hotels better suited to her "requirements" in the future.

PY Fiora, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 for 2 nights with our two kids. Though room was just okay but great breakfast and very helpful staff who made our stay very comfortable. It was a little hot so they gave us two fans and one evening even opened up their breakfast area terrace with access to kitchen just for us to eat. Would recommend it but just ask for rooms with some view or it feels like you are in a basement.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kala I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Lausanne seems priced for millionaires. This hotel is plain but everything either works well or is fixed promptly. It helps to approach the staff without arrogance. Breakfast on the outdoor terrace is wonderful. Bread is fabulous, but the coffee ...? Really good coffee is hard to find here. Even
the Starbucks doesn't hold up. Lovely oranges with a big juicer for fresh juice. All transit is nearby and the huge Co-OP department store is nearby with everything you'd need- groceries, win, liquor in the basement. The staff: Mauro, Rita, and Monique took a lot of care to make this old man's visit a happy one. There are two computers, a Mac and a windows' free 24/7

Room Tip: If heavy, out-of-tune church bells bother you when they make the sonic demand to go to church....yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel Crystal in Lausanne for 2 nights during a business trip. The hotel is very basic and the design is a bit oldish; rooms are very basic, but clean. The quality of sleep is OK, they could invest in better duves and pillows though. The best of all is the buffet breakfast, great choice and large quantities. Then the location is excellent as well, right on the Riponne Sq, near shops, bars & restaurants and public transportation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank agg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#32 of 46 in Lausanne
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#21 of 46 in Lausanne
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
#23 of 46 in Lausanne
246 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Aulac
Hotel Aulac
#24 of 46 in Lausanne
394 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mirabeau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Address: rue Chaucrau 5, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range: £92 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet pedestrian street, we offer you a warm welcome, a high quality equipment for your comfort and we serve a hearty Swiss buffet breakfast.Hotel Crystal Lausanne is within walking distance of the Palais de Beaulieu (congress center, exhibitions, etc.) - Close to private clinics and the University Hospital (CHUV). Direct connection with the EPFL and the University thanks to M1 - 250 meters on foot of our establishment The City Tax allows you the free use of the public transportation of Lausanne Bus and Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lausanne
Lausanne Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing