We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£200
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Expedia.com
£192
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£131
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
RovingAl
Vienna, Austria

LOVELY, ABSOLUTELY LOVELY!

Review of Crystal Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Feb 2020
This hotel is located right in the pedestrian zone and surrounded on all sides by a cornucopia of shops and eateries of every kind. If arriving by train, ride one stop on the metro to Flon station. May sound extravagant but this way you´ll spare yourself the effort of walking up a really steep hill. The building offers bits of period charm like spacious central stairs or pudgy water heating radiators in rooms. Light breakfast fare is included in the room rate offering salami sausage, an assortment of cheeses (what else?) and a wide range of tasty marmalades and delicious chocolate-based spreads. Coffee with frothed hot milk served on the side was excellent. There is a terrace on the top floor that offers nice views of central Lausanne. My room was sufficiently large and airy and did not feel cluttered by furniture that besides a desk also included a padded easy chair and a coffee table. Bed and bedside lighting were excellent, the only disappointment being the pillows, rather thin and of an uncomfortable shape. For some reason the quality of pillows often gets neglected, at least that is my experience. Shower tub was curtained off by cloth drapes, which when wet tended to cling to the body and generally get in the way. Room colours were quite lively, battleship grey with red and white accents and a comics-style mural taking up one whole wall (see picture). In my room there was a small cooler (I mean a fridge without the frost compartment), which proved to be perfectly capable of keeping basic victuals at below room temperature. One (temporary) inconvenience was created by a capital reconstruction of a building right across the street where works started punctually at seven in the morning. I can´t say it bothered me much at all but as the room has no air-conditioning, if I am allowed a speculation, come the warm season an open window may create a tad of problem for late risers. To end on a positive note, internet connection was stable and sufficiently fast for video calls. Oh, and there was free coffee (capsules) and tea available the whole day through in the breakfast room, which I found quite touching.
Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£129
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £109
  • Expedia.com
    £129
0.5 miles from Crystal Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Double Economy
Booking.com
£149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £108
  • Expedia.com
    £123
0.4 miles from Crystal Hotel
Free Wifi
Room service
Exterior view
Booking.com
£102
  • ibis
    £112
  • Expedia.com
    £112
  • Hotels.com
    £112
0.3 miles from Crystal Hotel
Free Wifi
Room service
Outside Wine&Lounge Bar
Booking.com
£152
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £105
  • Expedia.com
    £120
0.7 miles from Crystal Hotel
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
£143
  • Expedia.com
    £135
  • Agoda.com
    £111
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from Crystal Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Triple Room with bathroom at the Hotel du Marche
Booking.com
£87
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    £92
  • Expedia.com
    £92
0.2 miles from Crystal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£300
  • Expedia.com
    £286
  • Agoda.com
    £259
  • Hotels.com
    £277
0.8 miles from Crystal Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£322
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £321
  • Trip.com
0.5 miles from Crystal Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£329
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £265
  • Agoda.com
    £222
  • Expedia.com
    £266
1.1 miles from Crystal Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £150
  • Agoda.com
    £121
  • Priceline
3.1 miles from Crystal Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Lausanne
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
15
16
5
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
15
16
5
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2019 via mobile

Everything we needed was provided: great food in the morning, unique and comfortable rooms, friendly helpful staff that felt more like family, and incredible help with child care (a crib, some toys, bath chair, and the hotel recommended a nanny who we cried to leave after our trip - she was so kind to our son). Can’t recommend enough!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank drewlius24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2019

I had the unpleasant experience of spending 4 nights in the Hotel Crystal in June (2019). First impressions were not good, a boarded up set of windows out the front, a sleazy looking neon sign and a horrible sticky looking floor in the reception.

The receptionist on arrival was very friendly (as were all other staff), in fact that is the one positive I have to say about the place.

The decor is from the 80s, with pink rag rolled walls and a desperate need of decoration. My room was very dated and worn looking. There is no air conditioning, and my room on the 5th floor must have been 30 degrees, the fan I borrowed to put in the room just seemed to blow hot air around. There is no carpet, just some cheap veneer vinyl flooring.

The room had a balcony, with a filthy looking plastic chair, and a pleasant view of the scaffolding surrounding the building that blocked out what could have been a nice mountain view.

The bed was not comfortable, and pillows were probably the worst I have ever slept on. Imagine rolling up a lot of linen and stuffing it in a pillowcase, that is how it felt, no cushioning and very uncomfortable, I asked if they had any alternatives, but unfortunately, the answer was no.

The safe in the room is about 6 inches square.. quite ridiculous and would fit a watch and a ring but nothing else.

The bathroom was dated and tiny, the shower cubicle was so small that the vinyl shower curtain stuck to you like a skin graft while trying to shower.

The town bell tower resonates through the whole room every 30 minutes, including at 10pm and 6am. The sound proofing is awful, and I had to endure the noises from the passionate neighbours well into the early hours.

Breakfast, again the staff were pleasant, but no cooked options apart from a DIY hard boiled egg. The terrace to sit on was pleasant, but with not much to eat that is a small consolation.

My room smelled ok, but there is a general smell of cigarettes around various parts of the building. Overall a miserable experience, I wont be coming back.

Room tip: A room in a different hotel would be my advice
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DougOverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located in my opinion. A couple minutes walk to Place de la Riponne which is two metro stations to Gare Lausanne. Hotel is clean. Staff is great and very helpful. Breathtaking view from the upstairs terrasse. Free breakfast with delicious breads and cheese. They also have complimentary tea and coffee all day. Also next to grocery store which is very convenient. Go pick up dinner and back on the beautiful terrasse to eat spectacular view of the cathedral, the mountains and lac Leman at a distance.

Big thank you to Sylvie for outstanding service at the front desk.

Switzerland is a beautiful place to visit.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Edelvweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2018

I enjoyed a lot the staff, cleanliness and location of the hotel.
Easy access to the metro and there are a lot of shops and a supermarket within a 3-minute walk. Breakfast is simple but of very good quality

Room tip: There were some construction works nearby
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NellyA37
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Stayed at Hotel Crystal whilst at a conference at EPFL, very easy to get to EPFL and University of Lausanne from the hotel. Free travel card was greatly appreciated. Staff were very friendly and welcoming, breakfast was good. Bathroom facilities looked a bit dated but everything worked very well so can't complain! Very clean and tidy, thanks for a great stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank ylime993
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews