We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grandiose hotel”
Review of Beau-Rivage Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beau-Rivage Palace
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
brussels
Level Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A grandiose hotel”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The most impressive hotel i know . You could drive a big car in the corridors . It is majestuous , the remnant of a bygone era . The room i had was huge, with two balconies overlooking the lake .
The hotel has several restaurants from three stars to a superb brasserie . The food id superb everywhere and the wine lists are endless. There are also several bars , inside and outside . And the decor is always superb and relaxing . A dream of hotel , reasonably priced if you compare with Geneva. Do not miss it.
Just one remark . At breakfast , i suppose that the service is done for the most part by stagiaires from the Lausanne école d'hotellerie . Thay tend to forget what you ask them . Fortunately the professional staff is supervising .

Room Tip: Select a room with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    107
    42
    18
    9
See reviews for
236
426
55
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed here with a friend for a mommy's spa day. Staff at reception were super friendly and professional. Spa was lovely very spacious with great indoor and outdoor pool. We had 3 treatments each which were extremely relaxing. We had a lovely room facing the lake overlooking the perfectly manicured grounds. Room service menu is extensive and varied. The presentation was super and food delivery efficient. Wish we could have stayed longer!!! Will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask for room with a lake or partial lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marlena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

As it's been mentionned many times already, Beau Rivage lausanne is a great hotel, another fine instance of swiss hospitality. We stayed with our 2 young children in connecting superior rooms facing the lake. Although those seemed to be the most basic rooms available, they were still reasonnably pleasant @32sqm plus a balcony - which I made great use of, thanks to the awesome weather.

Service was always top notch which made the all experience even more pleasant, and we found it a good destination for kids as well, with the large gardens, the children playground, the couple of pools inside the hotel as well as the lake and plenty of kids friendly atractions right outside ( Yetthe crowd on Ouchy was a bit dodgy over the week end as there was a music festival there, I preferred the beach volley we encountered during our former Lausanne visit)

Only complains I'd have regarding the hotel would be the numerous spiderwebs (and spiders) on the kids playgrounds but also on the room's balcony. There seems to be a an issue among the staff to clean some areas - also in the outdoor area surrounding the outside chessboard, items (empty glasses or bottles, rubbish...) would stay there until the evening as we noticed 2 days in the row. same thing happened to the couple of tables only 10 meters from the breakfast terrace, it seems that because it's a few meters away, nobody felt responsble to clean it.

Also the Treasure map for kids is sketchy to say the least. I don't mind so much as our kids loved the presents they got and wanted to go for another treasure hunt but the pics need to be updated and the sticker rewards at each station were not obvious.

Very minor complains compared to our overal satisfaction, great destination roughly 4 hours from Paris and we're planning to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kojis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaurivagepalace, Guest Relations Manager at Beau-Rivage Palace, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear kojis,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad that we fulfilled your expectations concerning service quality and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
However, we also took note of your remarks concerning the spider webs and the cleaning of certain areas. The concerned departments are informed and will make sure that these issues won’t occur again. We also like to thank you for your comment about the treasure hunt map. The map was already updated and we are looking for a way to improve the sticker rewards.
We hope to welcome you and your children very soon again for our special kids’ activities in summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

What a delightful hotel - great food, great wine, great facilities, great staff and a great venue. We had a mid-May weekend business/leisure retreat with colleagues from across Europe. The weather on the Friday and Sunday was excellent but on Saturday, which was our working day(fortunately), it rained heavily.

Our room was bright and airy with one of the quietest and yet most efficent air conditioning systems we have experienced. The staff apologised to us because we could only have a partial view of the lake - that is the bit from Lausanne to Geneva! It was more than adequate with an excellent balcony to sit out upon (sun from noon until sunset). There was also plenty of wardrobe and luggage space. The bed was very comfortable and we had two very restful sleeps.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they made our stay very special. We had a special private dinner on the Saturday night which was excellent. The breakfast buffet in the Terrace was exceptional - the food fresh, the buffet choice wide and the orange juice sharp and fresh. The only tiny glitch we had was on the first night after ordering our glasses of wine in the lobby bar, it took some 20 minutes to arrive. However, in our customer survey we mentioned this and I had an email back from the Hotel GM, within 24 hours of getting back home, apologising,and advising that he would rectify the problem . My wife also used the spa and had room service which she says was also very good.

The location adjacent to the Olympic Museum and Lake Geneva was beautiful and if given the chance we would go again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aviaraptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyiv
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

It's famous place and very elegant one. It's a palace but still feels like home. There is free wifi in the rooms and everywhere in the hotel. Breakfast is very good. They have a nice terrace and pool. The hotel is facing Lac Leman. It is pretty close to the center. Metro station Ouchy is 2 min walk from the hotel.
The rooms are large and well equipped.
Two things I didn't like: check-in took us forever, three people changed at the reception, each one was giving different information about the waiting time (the rooms were not ready) and security deposit. We had to wait for almost two hours before our rooms were ready.
The other thing is ... It's quite expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunfloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

One of the most luxurious hotel in Lausanne (comes with the price). The service was great, especially people at the reception and the guys standing outside.

We had the room facing the carpark, so i can't tell you about the wonderful views, but if you take a 5 mins walk out to Ouchy, there is a beautiful park and Lake Geneva. Two supermarkets near by as well.

The breakfast (@ CHF 49) was okay, good variety.

Room Tip: get a room with the alps view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyxLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Wow!

The Beau-Rivage Palace plus stunning natural setting on Lake Geneva with views to the Alps equals an unforgettable trip. We stayed in 309 - Junior Suite Beau-Rivage. The many highlights included:

+ Impeccable service. Breakfast staff deserve a special mention!
+ Bedroom / living area was very spacious, comfy bed, all mod cons + controls
+ Balcony - not huge, but plenty space for table and two chairs to admire those views ...
+ Large bathroom with huge bath / jacuzzi in the centre
+ Separate shower, dual sinks + luxury toiletries
+ Arrived to flowers, champagne and fruit - another nice touch to make you feel welcome
+ Classical style without feeling too stuffy or dated. Some really beautiful rooms for conferences and events on the ground floor, almost made me wish I was attending one ;-)
+ Never felt busy even though there was a conference on one of the days.
+ Luxury Spa, indoor / outdoor pools
+ Varied options for dining - we tried Cafe Beau-Rivage and L'accademia, which were both good, and Miyako, which was excellent (always good to see the chefs at work in the kitchen).

+ Finally, Bacon lovers: I MUST draw your attention to the thinly sliced rashers of pig heaven at breakfast - quite possibly the finest bacon I've ever had! :@)

Definitely worthy of its LHW tag. Hope to be back again soon!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with a junior suite with lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choronzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lausanne
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.1 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
#6 of 46 in Lausanne
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
14.0 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau-Rivage Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau-Rivage Palace

Property: Beau-Rivage Palace
Address: place du Port 17-19, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Spa Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beau-Rivage Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in 10 acres of private gardens on the banks of Lake Geneva, only 40 minutes from Geneva Airport, the elegant Belle Epoque buildings of the Beau-Rivage Palace, a Leading Hotel of The World, command breathtaking views across the lake and Alps. The 168 guest rooms and suites are richly appointed and offer the utmost in elegance and comfort. Luxury 8 Executive suites were created to be different and unique in style. The restaurants provide guests ample cuisine from which to choose. From the 2 Michelin star restaurant “Anne-Sophie Pic au Beau-Rivage Palace” to the “Cafe Beau-Rivage”, the Italian restaurant “L’Accademia” and the refined sushi restaurant “Miyako Lausanne”. The Cinq Mondes Spa offers pure relaxation on over 1,500 square meters; discover the beauty rituals from the world over. The Beau-Rivage Palace provides impeccable service including also a special kids program to make your stay truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beau-Rivage Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Palace Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing