We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True 5-star experience in Lausanne”
Review of Beau-Rivage Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beau-Rivage Palace
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Unfortunately I spent only one night at the Beau Rivage, as I was on a business trip.
Even if it was really short, I really enjoyed every minute of my stay at the Beau Rivage which is now of my best hotel experience in Europe.

Pros
- Overall impression : the hotel is extremely impressive even for a guy like me (I prefer contemporary and design hotels to the Grande Dame style)
- Room : nothing to say, it is extremely nice and comfortable. Decoration is a bit old fashioned, and not my favorite but this is only a personal opinion.
- Bulgari products in the bathroom
- Jacuzzi style bathtub in addition to a separated shower cabin
- Excellent quality of service (escort to the room, use of your name during every interaction, effective and friendly...). I will relate a short story that demonstrates the high level of service you can find
- Spa : really a highlight of the hotel. The spa is spectacular with two large swimming pools, a big jacuzzi, sauna, steam bath, luxury cloackrooms...
- Location in Ouchy along the Lake
- Free internet access (it seems normal when you pay 400 euros a night but it is not always the case for 5-star hotels...)

Cons
- Lack of (effective) technology : the TV management system is way too complicated and slow. Moreover some TV channels were not working as well as the MP3 player input
- Lights in the bathroom : impossible to have a dim light in the bathroom. Not really pleasant if you want to relax in the bath.

One short story to finish my review that demonstrates the excellence of service.
Before I went to the spa, I notified the front desk that the mp3 input was not working. When I left the spa, the staff there told me that a Bose soundsystem was brought to my room in replacement of the broken MP3 input.
And moreover, after completing the feedback form, I had additional (and really nice) apologies from a Supervisor.

This is really an hotel where they do care about customer satisfaction and where excellence means something and is not only a vain word. Can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YonderFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,187)
There are newer reviews for Beau-Rivage Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2012

Studied, quiet elegance at any time of day or night, or weather permitting, on the exquisite terrace overlooking Lac Leman. My retreat after the death of my dear wife, I was inspired to manage grief at the very sight of a caring staff, dining room distilled in the evening light and a large suite that ignited and refreshed fading happiness. Ten days in the stunning embrace of Beau-Rivage was an altering experience and renewal of many happy times spent there several years earlier.

Room Tip: Whether an Alpine or lake view, you will not be disappointed.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We booked a suite with lake view - the later was stunning. Room was really nice, high ceiling, good mix of modern and traditional. Great in room food, good service, nice spa. If you have business in the center of lausanne you will have to take a cab or the metro

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Located in Ouchy on the lakefront of Lac Leman in Lausanne, this hotel oozes opulence. The location is unmatched--gorgeous views of the lake and across to Evian in France, directly across the street from the lakefront providing easy access to a stroll along the waterfront and all that it has to offer, and close proximity to the Lausanne metro allowing you to travel throughout the city with ease. The staff exudes a welcoming and friendly attitude from the check-in process, which includes a personal orientation to hotel amenities and to your room, until the moment you depart. The public spaces are elegant in the extreme, with ballrooms in which you can easily imagine crowned heads of state of 19th century Europe holding court. The rooms are plushly furnished and up-to-date, with all the expected 21st century amenities. Included in our room rate was what can only be described as a sumptuous buffet breakfast including pastries and breads, charcuterie, eggs, made-to-order omelets, fruit, etc. The location of the breakfast area matches the quality and scope of the breakfast, overlooking the park-like grounds of the hotel and the lakefront. And to work off your breakfast, the spa offers 2 pools (indoor and outdoor) cardio equipment, weights, massages, and the full range of spa treatments--extraordinary! If you are looking for a special place to stay in Lausanne, this is it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HSRSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

A grand-hotel "à l'ancienne", old-style. It was all simply perfect. Yes, the rooms need a refreshment to move into a more modern style, but actually you don't really need that except for the pictures you will show to our friends, as all is just fantastic.

Reception: we were greeted and scorted by a lovely girl who, by the time it was, went further on by asking us if we had had lunch yet. As it turned out we hadn't, a table was immediately proposed and booked at the Café Beau-Rivage, which was a nice touch. My girl received a child-size bathrobe+slippers, a bag and a welcome orange juice+cookies plate, fabulous (and delicious).

Rooms: facing the lake is compulsory here, lovely view, rooms were nicely decorated on an old style but with all working and new tech. equipment, including easy to access free wi-fi. Large bathrooms in good condition with good water pressure and easy to control water temperature, nice Bvlgari amenities, very good towels and linen. Well equipped mini-bar, good noise isolation, and powerful heating. Could have improved with a firmer mattess, as per my likes, but the fact is that we all slept like babies. Very good pillows, allowed us for a tough pillow-fight before sleeping. Lovely balconies made them even better. And that's what a hotel room is supposed to be for: fun.

Breakfast: served up to 11am, which is simply great for lazy mornings. Buffet was nice, nothing really extraordinary on variety (all classic breakfast dishes were there) but all of top quality. Nice service staff and lovely ambience in a newly built room with plenty of light. Exquisite table dressing. A perfect start of the day, that room is great.

Café Beau-Rivage: obviously overpriced but hey, this is Switzerland, where all is overpriced. Nevertheless, all was nicely cooked and very well presented. Service a bit slow, or maybe we were too hungry to wait. Tartare was perfect, and so was the pasta of my girl. Maybe the fish of my friend lacked a bit of flavour but it could not have been any fresher, and sauce was delicious. Deserts were nice as well, bread was very good, consisting of a full piece of bread half cut in slices.

We didn't try the other restaurants and only had a couple of teas at night at the bar, which was also very nice, as nice was to see they serve my favourite whisky, Caol Ila. Service staff were good.

Spa: only went a couple of times to the pool, didn't try massages or beauty treatments. Just at the same standards as the rest of the hotel, so very good. If I were alone, I would avoid evening time when more people goes, especially people with children, but apparently it is usually quiet, as was the case in the morning. I was not disturbed by kids, though, as all were really polite.

Grounds and public areas: beautiful garden, lovely corridors, impressive ball-rooms...

Staff: all great, from doorman to waiter, from concierge to room-maid. Discreet, polite, smiling, proactive, just perfect.

This is really a grand-hotel, without a doubt, and has showed that it is possible to live the history of the place while not falling in it as other "old-ladies" do. I often say some negative points of the places I go, this one I will only say that a renovation may be needed by some customers. Good news is that it is planned, better news is that, as of now, the hotel is in perfect condition and renovation is only felt as a matter of style.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake, no doubts about that!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Campanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Simply amazing. Gorgeous view of the French Alps! Hotel was beautiful. Room with a view is worth it! The spa was worth spending a day in for sure. Lausanne is a beautiful town and fun to walk around. The local restaurants were all great. I would learn a some basic French before you go...we found the locals know very little English so communicating can be a challenge. :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hwils002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Excellent location, the spa/swimming pool is one of the best we have seen (in an hotel). Rooms are big, classic but not too much and have just the modernity needed, not less, not more.Then comes the restaurants...well Myako is just superb. Great service. We haven't tried Anne Sophie LePic but this must be good as well. As usual in such case...the price of the hotel and the restaurants is very high....only if you can afford it really.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salsa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lausanne
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.1 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.1 mi away
Chateau d'Ouchy
Chateau d'Ouchy
#7 of 46 in Lausanne
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
14.0 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau-Rivage Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau-Rivage Palace

Address: place du Port 17-19, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Spa Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: £314 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beau-Rivage Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in 10 acres of private gardens on the banks of Lake Geneva, only 40 minutes from Geneva Airport, the elegant Belle Epoque buildings of the Beau-Rivage Palace, a Leading Hotel of The World, command breathtaking views across the lake and Alps. The 168 guest rooms and suites are richly appointed and offer the utmost in elegance and comfort. Luxury 8 Executive suites were created to be different and unique in style. The restaurants provide guests ample cuisine from which to choose. From the 2 Michelin star restaurant “Anne-Sophie Pic au Beau-Rivage Palace” to the “Cafe Beau-Rivage”, the Italian restaurant “L’Accademia” and the refined sushi restaurant “Miyako Lausanne”. The Cinq Mondes Spa offers pure relaxation on over 1,500 square meters; discover the beauty rituals from the world over. The Beau-Rivage Palace provides impeccable service including also a special kids program to make your stay truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beau-Rivage Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Palace Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing