We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in”
Review of Beau-Rivage Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beau-Rivage Palace
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Set on the banks of Lake Geneva, the Beau-Rivage is definitely pitched upmarket with rates to match. That said, the service, rooms and general surroundings are simply fantastic. Te breakfast is served in the large semi circular conservatory extension over looking the lake and outside of Gleneagles, is just the best breakfast ever - allow a couple of hours and don't eat too heavily the night before! Clientele is a mix of rich and mega rich retirees and the odd well heeled businessman - I was booked to stay in the sister hotel next door which had closed for Christmas. If you go at Christmas, the tree in the lobby that is 4 floors high is pretty impressive.

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view command a premium but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heath J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

Life changing event alert: This morning I had homemade hot chocolate at the Beau Rivage Palace hotel for breakfast. It is to hot chocolate, what Turkish coffee must be to American coffee (not that I know the first thing about coffee). It is thick, dark and universe altering. Business trips almost never result in such finds, but this one did. Truly amazing. I stayed here for an arbitration, which was held here in the hotel. The hotel is magnificent, the service is superlative and the business convenience is high. The bed was confortable and the pillows were heavenly.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 104 not facing the Lake and it was just fine for my purposes. Definitely plan on ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I was unsure what to expect actually. And from my arrival to a beautiful lobby filled with fresh cut flowers, to my amazing room overlooking Lake Geneva, i was blown away. actually staying there in June again. The hotel is a mixture of old and modern, but done well. Not to different, but such elegance, warmth and class. It is my new Favourite hotel in Switzerland. Beautiful restaurant for breakfast and lunch with views if italian Alps, huge hallways, and excellent rooms and meeting space. And i great location to go to Montreaux, Gryeres, Geneva or the Alps. Highly recommend this beautiful hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Of course like all hotels, there are various price categories . You view the gardens, or the side st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter747_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I must say, that this hotel is the Grande Dame of them all. It is beautifully situated in Lausanne along the water. There is such lush green space and plants, beautiful pool and a very good spa available with extensive services. The food is superb and there is much attention to detail. The views from the rooms are spectacular, facing Lake Geneva. It is an elegant Hotel that is quite reserved. Although it is very expensive, the "pearl" on the lake is the number one destination in Lausanne.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMPeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The terrace of the Lobby Lounge is great thanks to its view, space and relax atmosphere. Unfortunately, all these advantages are spoiled by the attitude of a waiter called "E. Marchal" and his nasty and hypocrite comments towards the clients.
We are frequent customers of this place (terrace and inside).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gouteur_nicois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaurivagepalace, Manager at Beau-Rivage Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear Gouteur_nicois,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are sorry to read that you didn’t have a good experience at the Lobby Lounge during your last visit. It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and that an excellent service is ensured.
We passed the information on internally and invite you to contact us if you would like to discuss your visit in further detail.
Although you didn’t have a very positive experience last time, we would be glad to welcome you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

It was a night in December 2012. My companion wanted to surprise me on my birthday by inviting me to my favorite restaurant!
Here we are at the Beau Rivage Cafe, Lausanne or a special romantic dinner.
1st mistake: the waiter did not who ordered what, so he had to ask us ( thing that not used to happen before ......)

2nd disappointment, I always order my favorite menu there "filet de perche" but this time frankly , I was disappointed !!!! they were not as always , I guess there is a new chef......

3rd and biggest disappointment for such an establishment, when we got out from the restaurant all our clothes smelled the frying !!! I couldn't believe it !!! our table was in the middle of the restaurant maybe a bit close to the kitchen, so what ? in such places this is a NO NO thing, whether you had a table at the windows, in the middle or back....
Honestly, It was a big disappointment for my companion and myself.
It is also a bit sad, since it was my favorite restaurant ever!!!
What a pity.....

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaurivagepalace, Manager at Beau-Rivage Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear Anna J,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very sorry to read that your birthday dinner at the Café Beau-Rivage didn’t meet your expectations. We took good note of your remarks and discussed them internally. A high service standard as well as the quality of the food are very important for us.
We hope that this one time experience won’t stop you from eating at the Café Beau-Rivage where you are always welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

On my way from Paris to Rome I took what turned out to be an inspired choice, to stop over in Lausanne. I was upgraded to a lake and Alps view room, and my attached image will testify to the grandeur of the view. I have stayed at a number of 5 star establishments in Europe and Asia Pacific, and this would be the best I have experience. Even though it was a one night stay, the level of service was superb. My driver and the hotel staff were still outside when I entered the lobby, and was addressed by name and greeted immediately. A nice touch.
I dined in my room both for dinner and breakfast, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the meals impeccable. The old world elegance of the Beau-Rivage Palace is enhanced and you explore the many elegant ballrooms and see the pictures of the meetings of heads of state that took place here over the last century.
The hotel is ideally located on the shore line and the metro is a short walk away to reach the centre of the old city.
Finally, on my return to Melbourne I received a very nice email from Alexis thanking me for my stay, and again demonstrating attention to detail in knowing my destination after Lausanne.

If you are a "spare no expense" type of traveller, do not miss this hotel, and it's Michelin starred restaurant. If your budget does not normally run to this, make an exception this time!

Room Tip: A Lake view is almost compulsory
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lausanne
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.1 mi away
Chateau d'Ouchy
Chateau d'Ouchy
#7 of 45 in Lausanne
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
14 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau-Rivage Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau-Rivage Palace

Address: place du Port 17-19, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: £317 - £592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beau-Rivage Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in 10 acres of private gardens on the banks of Lake Geneva, only 40 minutes from Geneva Airport, the elegant Belle Epoque buildings of the Beau-Rivage Palace, a Leading Hotel of The World, command breathtaking views across the lake and Alps. The 168 guest rooms and suites are richly appointed and offer the utmost in elegance and comfort. Luxury 8 Executive suites were created to be different and unique in style. The restaurants provide guests ample cuisine from which to choose. From the 2 Michelin star restaurant “Anne-Sophie Pic au Beau-Rivage Palace” to the “Cafe Beau-Rivage”, the Italian restaurant “L’Accademia” and the refined sushi restaurant “Miyako Lausanne”. The Cinq Mondes Spa offers pure relaxation on over 1,500 square meters; discover the beauty rituals from the world over. The Beau-Rivage Palace provides impeccable service including also a special kids program to make your stay truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beau-Rivage Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Palace Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing