We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many disapointments”
Review of Beau-Rivage Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beau-Rivage Palace
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Having stayed several times at this hotel for many many years (over 50), it is sad to see that the only thing that remains qualitative is the architecture and the garden. The service in the lobby is extremely slow and unprofessional. Had to wait for over 20 minutes to receive a simple tea and coffee order for 2 persons and on top of that, another 30 minutes to pay. Unacceptable, especially as is this was the case most of the time. One has the impression that students from hotel schools are used in order to save money and hence the "quality" of the service. The food is really nothing to write home about. Expensive for very average food. The Sophie Pic restaurant is nice but the prices too high, bearing in mind that Mrs. Pic is never there. The once voted best Spa is also declining. No steam in the hamam, low temperature in the sauna, only huge towels available on some days. The products, shampoo, soap etc. in the Cinq Mondes Spa are not Cinq Mondes products but just any vulgar product. How can Cinq Mondes accept to give their name to such a Spa? Newspapers are rarely available before 9am. An entry of ice-cold water in one corner of the indoor pool makes the pool experience disagreeable. And when questionning the manager, the reply was once that they cannot control it and another time the answer was that only water of the same temperature as the pool was being injected (which is not true...). Well, it remains a beautiful place, just a shame that it doesn't offer 5* service any longer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lulu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaurivagepalace, Manager at Beau-Rivage Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Lulu B,
Thank you very much for your review concerning your last stay at our hotel.
We will have a look into the serving time at the Lobby Lounge.
Our gastronomic restaurant from Anne-Sophie Pic has 2 Michelin stars. Our kitchen chef develops and discusses all dishes with Anne-Sophie Pic, which ensures a high standard all the time although Anne-Sophie Pic is not always present. We only use high quality products, paired with the expertise of our highly qualified chefs which results in a certain price for the dishes, but not higher than other Michelin starred restaurants in the region.
It is true that at the end of last year we unfortunately had complex technical problems with the temperature of our hamam as well as the sauna. It took some time to be fixed, but the sauna and hamam are functioning again perfectly. Concerning our shower products, they are products produced by Cinq Mondes for the special use of hotel spas, but they are not the same products we sell in our spa shop.
Our newspapers are usually delivered between 6.45 am and 7.45am. If our guests order newspapers which aren’t delivered to the hotel directly they arrive in the guest rooms between 8 am and 8.30 am.
Please feel free to contact us in person in order to discuss your experience in further detail. As a loyal customer since over 50 years we would be looking forward to welcoming you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel and do not understand the high ratings. The front desk was not very professional, rude and slow, the service in the hotel was bad. What really surprised me was the lack of training of the staff. The restaurants served ok food at a high price but again the staff working there did not have any concept of what they were serving. The rooms are ok, not 5 star quality but ok I guess. The hotel is in a nice location with nice views and I am sure that this has a positive effect on previous ratings. But the hotel as such is not worth 5 stars. It is not a hotel I will return to.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Masse O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Spent 10 days in Switzerland during Chinese Spring Festival holidays and Beau-Rivage Palace just made this trip more memorable than I expected. The historical hotel locates on the banks of Lake Geneva which has a perfect view. The design and decoration both in the rooms and public areas makes the property worth a visit.
When I arrived at reception late in the evening, I was warm greeted by front desk staff who quickly dealed with my check-in afterwards. Concierge helped me enthusiastically as well. No doubt the room was exactly like the website image showing, elegant, precious and stunning. I received fresh fruits, tea, even instant noodle in my suite room, while the breakfast in the second morning gave me a pleasant surprise which a set of Chinese dim sum was offered exclusively besides buffet! Tasty for sure!
The excellent service was impressive. I had to skip the extremely luxurious SPA Cinq Mondes due to the tight schedule while it just made another reason for me to come back.

Room Tip: Suite room with Lake view is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just returned from three beautiful days at the hotel. Grand hotel with fantastic facilities. The staff are the real stars: engaging, warm and truly enthusiastic. I couldn't recommend the Beau Rivage more.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bathyeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

the location on the shore of the lake and near the small port is excellent. there is free rapid
connection to the old city by subway.
we stayed only one night after a ski holiday and enjoyed the hotel.
even our unexpensive room was very nice and rennovated.
the hotel itself is luxurious and impressive and combines classic style with modern elements.
some of the public halls are really palace pieces.
the staff was nice and the total experience was very pleasant and worth the price.

Room Tip: the best rooms are with lake view but pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strulovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

One of the best hotels I've stayed in. Our room was excellent as it should have been at the price point (north of $650/night). As an example, the breakfast buffet was quite good, but again at CHF49 per person it should have been. Bottom line: very expensive, but you get what you pay for here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel is wonderful , the location service and the gardens in the summer are just wonderful , one feels one could be anywhere the flowers and lush foliage are just exceptional.

One of Switzerlands great hotels and still close to geneva .

Right on lake Geneva with wonderful views of the lake and Evian .

Perfect for business or pleasure couples or family .

good choice of restaurants .

Room Tip: Lake view is a must even though this may be an added cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathonSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lausanne
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.1 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.1 mi away
Chateau d'Ouchy
Chateau d'Ouchy
#7 of 46 in Lausanne
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
14.0 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau-Rivage Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau-Rivage Palace

Address: place du Port 17-19, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Spa Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: £320 - £492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beau-Rivage Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in 10 acres of private gardens on the banks of Lake Geneva, only 40 minutes from Geneva Airport, the elegant Belle Epoque buildings of the Beau-Rivage Palace, a Leading Hotel of The World, command breathtaking views across the lake and Alps. The 168 guest rooms and suites are richly appointed and offer the utmost in elegance and comfort. Luxury 8 Executive suites were created to be different and unique in style. The restaurants provide guests ample cuisine from which to choose. From the 2 Michelin star restaurant “Anne-Sophie Pic au Beau-Rivage Palace” to the “Cafe Beau-Rivage”, the Italian restaurant “L’Accademia” and the refined sushi restaurant “Miyako Lausanne”. The Cinq Mondes Spa offers pure relaxation on over 1,500 square meters; discover the beauty rituals from the world over. The Beau-Rivage Palace provides impeccable service including also a special kids program to make your stay truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beau-Rivage Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Palace Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing