We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most beautiful hotel in Lausanne”
Review of Le Chateau d'Ouchy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Crema, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful hotel in Lausanne”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I was in this beautiful hotel in June, simply exciting experience. People kind, rooms so elegant and charming, the position is just THE position...no other hotel can give you the same....The restaurant and the breakfast corner have a very beautiful view...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabioMorana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaudouchy1, Directeur général at Le Chateau d'Ouchy, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Château d’Ouchy. I hope to welcome you back on your leisure travels to Lausanne.

Best regards,

Pablo Pizarro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    122
    31
    17
    5
See reviews for
50
177
20
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I had no major expectations since Swiss hotel rooms are usually disappointing when compared to other equivalent European or American hotel standards. However this one had incredible charm and flair, great design combining old and new, young dynamic service from reception to the restaurant and lobby bar. It was one of the trendiest hotels I've seen in Switzerland and didn't expect to find it inside a castle. Both Luxury and Standard rooms were beautiful and very comfortable (although pillows are a mistery to me in Europe, most of the time totally unergonomic). Breakfast was served in a great room with lots of Sun, with the option to have it by the terrace outside facing the lake. The hotel also offered public transportation tickets which we gladly used (we were a group of 8 and it was impossible to get around by car) and the possibility to use the SPA of the Lausanne Palace downtown, which we also enjoyed. We were at walking distance from the Olympic Museum which was incredible.

Room Tip: We had a lovely standard room with a low ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiss_business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaudouchy1, Directeur général at Le Chateau d'Ouchy, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Château d’Ouchy the trendiest hotel in Swtizerland. I hope to welcome you back on your leisure travels to Lausanne.

Best regards,

Pablo Pizarro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
270 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel is a very well renovated and refurbished chateau right by the lake, on a busy function.
Our room was lovely, a good view of the lake and extremely we'll furnished in the usual neutral colours but well done. The wardrobe space was good and enough drawer space for a longer stay.
Bed linen, duvet and pillows were all excellent quality and provided us with a luxurious sleep.
For me the bathroom was superb, it was large with big bath and separate shower stall, plenty of space for all the bits and pieces you want to store in the bathroom without them either getting wet or falling on the floor!
Downstairs the lounge area was perfect for a coffee or afternoon tea, the bar area I was not so impressed with - it could be verging on gaudy.
At the end of my holiday I realised I had left a couple of items at the hotel and returned to see if they had them, they did and we're all packed up safely - top marks!
Beware, they have a tiny car park and take care getting into it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awaywegoagain22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaudouchy1, Directeur général at Le Chateau d'Ouchy, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Château d’Ouchy. I hope to welcome you back on your leisure travels to Lausanne.

Best regards,

Pablo Pizarro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
409 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. The beds were quite firm but we have found this is the case all over Europe. Good sized modern bathroom with large walk in shower. We didn't have the breakfast at the hotel as there are plenty of cafés outside the hotel. We did have dinner in the restaurant and we enjoyed the food very much. There is a nice outdoor bar that served a very good gin and tonic. Reception, bar staff and restaurant staff were all very polite and helpful.
I do wish the hotel industry had a standard check in time. This hotel has a three o'clock check in. Having said that our room wasn't ready until three thirty.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1954Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaudouchy1, Directeur général at Le Chateau d'Ouchy, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Château d’Ouchy and specially our restaurant and gin and tonic at the Bar. I do apologize that your room was not ready at 3.00pm and.

I will be sure to share the nice comments to my staff as well I do hope to welcome you back on your leisure travels to Lausanne.

Best regards,

Pablo Pizarro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed for six nights in the Chateau d'Ouchy. Our corner room was lovely -- a view of the lake and of the park. The room would have been ideal had the mattresses been more comfortable. They were the most firm hotel mattresses I have ever slept on, and the mattress pad was ridiculously thin. I ended up asking for a duvet so I could put it between the sheet and the mattress. The linens were fabulous (silky soft); I just don't understand why the mattresses were so hard and uncomfortable. That said, the staff immediately changed out the mattress after the first night, but the one they used as replacement was just about equally firm. So I didn't sleep all that well -- sore hips from sleeping on my side (my husband, who never complains about mattresses, also found them uncomfortable). It's the first time that has happened in our extensive travels. The staff, however, was excellent, the bar area/reception area lovely, and the location fabulous. My husband and I enjoyed evening walks along the lake promenade. Just beautiful. We'd stay here again if the mattresses were softer! One other complaint: the breakfast should be included in the room price! It cost 30 Swiss francs per person -- way too much for a mediocre breakfast. Our hotel in Zurich had a fabulous breakfast that was included in the room price. Chateau d'Ouchy should follow suit!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravels310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaudouchy1, Directeur général at Le Chateau d'Ouchy, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Château d’Ouchy and enjoyed our wondering corner room.

I will be sure to share your comments about the mattresses and breaksfat with my staff. I hope to welcome you back on your leisure travels to Lausanne.

Best regards,

Pablo Pizarro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I strongly recommend Chateau d'Ouchy. Our room was excellent - large, clean, very nice spacious bathroom, plentiful shelf and closet space. Very comfortable bed and Frette linens and towels. The only downside was the dim lighting. There were wall sconces near each side of the bed, but they are not adequate as reading lights - too dim and too far from the bed. The bathroom had one bright light over the mirror, but your face was in shadow or partial shadow (depending on your height). Not at all useful for seeing clearly for shaving or putting on makeup. The location is right on the waterfront at Ouchy, and the very easy to use Metro is a 1 minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XXNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaudouchy1, Directeur général at Le Chateau d'Ouchy, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Château d’Ouchy. I hope to welcome you back on your leisure travels to Lausanne.

Best regards,

Pablo Pizarro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Every time in Ouchy, I will have one night an al fresco dinner with friends on this nice (and quite!) terrace. Food and Service are excellent. There is no traffic nearby what makes it a wonderful place to enjoy food and discussions with friends. I have very much appreciated the kindness and flexibility of the service team - thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaudouchy1, Directeur général at Le Chateau d'Ouchy, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Château d’Ouchy. I hope to welcome you back on your leisure travels to Lausanne.

Best regards,

Pablo Pizarro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.0 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau d'Ouchy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau d'Ouchy

Property: Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Address: place du Port 2, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chateau d'Ouchy 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau d'Ouchy and its medieval dungeon, has 50 rooms including 10 suites with a majestic panorama. The high-end comfort and quality service will charm you during your stay. Totally renovated, the originality of Ouchy will surprise you with its lounge atmosphere at the bar, with its Mediterranean restaurant, its pleasant terrace facing the lake, pool and relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Le Chateau d'Ouchy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau d`Ouchy Hotel Lausanne
Le Chateau d Ouchy Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing