We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Chateau d'Ouchy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

The hotel is modern and beautiful and well situated by the lake. Clean modern minimalist style. Bathroom is beautiful. After reading previous reviews I was ready for rude staff but encountered nothing of the kind. I arrived around noon and my room wasn't ready yet but Charlotte at reception took my cell phone number to call me as soon as it was ready. I went to lunch and within 20 minutes received a call that they had gone straight to my room and cleaned it for me. Throughout the weekend meeting we had here every member of staff went above and beyond to accommodate us (only 4 of us) letting us meet in their sitting room, brought us coffees, etc. The dinner we had in the restaurant of this hotel was better than the Michelin rated place we went the next night. I was thoroughly pleased. Pricey (as with all Switzerland hotels) but fab.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leotrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    113
    30
    17
    5
See reviews for
50
170
20
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

When I arrived at almost midnight, I stumbled into a sort of saturday night disco going on in the lobby. I felt that bar tenders and the consierge -once I found out where he was - where not amused to see me with my loads of suitcases. Check in was not of the warm and friendly sort.
The restaurant was already closed, there was no way of even getting a piece of bread and cheese. But there was champagne in the mini bar.
The room was small, cosy and impecably clean. Big shower, separate toilet, fluffy towels and modern decor, gread bed linnen and duvet. Absolut silence.
Breakfast was ok, but for its limited choice and lacking refill, overpriced. Service is non-existent. At 10.30 personal starts preparing tables for lunch and you may not want to stay longer.
Dining was of the dark-room candle light kind. Portions are very tasty and very small Service is deficient, specially when it comes to 10 p.m., when personal starts to prepare tables for breakfast.. Prices are of the higher kind.
The Hotel lobby is a fashionable bar for fashionable people.
Access to the elevator and Hotel rooms are not controlled in any way.
To sum up, I do not regret having stayed here, as the room was nice, but I will try another Hotel on my next stay in Lausanne.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

The Hotel: A beautiful Castle on the outside is a modernly styled hotel on the inside. The Room: We booked a Junior Suite which ended up being a lovely room in the tower with basically it's own elevator. It had a lovely view of the lake and the coast, but "full ocean view" folks should be warned that it's more of a side view.
The bed was very firm and the pillows very flat. For those who like softer beds, it will be uncomfortable for you.
The bathroom was a single sink with not a lot of space for toiletries. The shower was a tub conversion that was difficult to use in an American Fashion. The showerhead faced outwards, mounted on a side wall (instead of the end) and therefore showered the floor with sopious amounts of water, despite the small glass enclosure.
The room was virtually spotless with only a few cosmetic blemishes. The recent remodel was done in excellent fashion.
The Location: The hotel is located on a very busy street in a somewhat busy tourist zone in a harbor. Our room was fairly quiet despite the busy location.
You are within walking distance to the Olympic Museum, Paddle Boat Rentals, and several other Museums. The Metro is easily accessable should you want to go into Upper Lausanne.
The Surroundings: Be prepared to pay lots of money for food in Switzerland. As of my visit, the USD and Swiss Dollar were virtually even, but food was 3 times as expensive as in the States. Fondue for 2 at the cafe across the street? $40. That's before water & wine. There is a small grocery store nearby if you want to stock up on some basics and there are several sandwich and bakery places as well.
The employees: Overall were very nice. The bar staff was a little flaky and rude, but we could deal with it.

The buffet breakfast was wonderful - one of the best I've had in Europe. We had a rate that included it and I'm so happy that we did.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeelaVeela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

We arrived at the hotel nearly one hour after check - in time, but we were told that our room wasn't ready. We didn't expect to hear this from a 4 star hotel. The hotel wan't full and cannot imagine that our room wan't ready. We felt that they look at people and decide which room to be given to the guests. We were given a different room but not sure whether we were downgraded or just given a different room. We had dinner at the restaurant and the service was non-existent. The staff are rude, arrogant, and unfrienly.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMNLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

Very little to say except that this hotel has been very, very recently renovated and renovated perfectly. Our room had a "look out" from one of the turrets built into the castle. Seperate toilet and shower/bath is incorporated into the room. Hotel is Eco friendly without losing any of its luxuriousness. The area in Ouchy by the lake is so perfectly manicured and beautiful, it looks like a garden. The views from the hotel and from the ground are just spectacular. Please make sure you make your way to Lutry, just 10 minutes down from the lake to see how well the locals live and relax (and look for a restaurant with picnic benches - best fondue ever)
At some point I will post pictures.

Breakfast was hearty with nice hot coffee and selection of cheeses and breads and jams. Bed was very comfortable and a duvet for each occupant. I really can't fault this hotel for anything. It will appeal to those who stay away from dusty older hotels and I bet this renovation is going to do a lot for this already perfect town. It is now my "happy place".

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charpature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

The day I arrived in Lausanne I was pick-pocketed at the train station, with all of my credit cards and nearly all of my cash, including the card I booked with. Thank God for traveller's checques! I ended up ringing home and having family fax through their CC details to pay for my accommodation and food for the duration, whilst waiting for my new cards to arrive. I arrived and the staff treated me so well.

The hotel had just completed renovations, and the final pieces of carpet were being laid on the staircase as I arrived. The rooms were clear and full of light with great bathrooms, cosy duvets and huge beds. Connected broadband was inclusive, there was wifi , but, I think, no room service. Breakfast was fantastic! Apart from cereals, yoghurt and breads, a full breakfast was cooked to order, and fruit, cheese and even garden salad were inclusive. The restaurant was full at night (reservations definitely required) and the bar was rather chi chi and had quite an upmarket clientele.

What would have been a depressing stay in one of the world's most beautiful spots turned out to be a joy thanks to Olivier and the wonderful staff. Many thanks!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LavenderLawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

This hotel has a nice locaion on the lake in Lausanne. However I do not recommend you stay at the hotel. (1) There were spider webs in my room (2) i made a booking on the SLH web site which states that breakfast was included. When I checked out the person charged me 30SF each day for breakfast and refused to budge. Since I only had a cafe and piece of bread each day it was the most expensive beakfasts I have ever eaten. Dare I say it was a ***rip off.***

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.1 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.2 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau d'Ouchy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau d'Ouchy

Property: Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Address: place du Port 2, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chateau d'Ouchy 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau d'Ouchy and its medieval dungeon, has 50 rooms including 10 suites with a majestic panorama. The high-end comfort and quality service will charm you during your stay. Totally renovated, the originality of Ouchy will surprise you with its lounge atmosphere at the bar, with its Mediterranean restaurant, its pleasant terrace facing the lake, pool and relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Le Chateau d'Ouchy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau d`Ouchy Hotel Lausanne
Le Chateau d Ouchy Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing