We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommend this Place”
Review of Le Chateau d'Ouchy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
210 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend this Place”
Reviewed 5 June 2010

This is just a great place It's in an old 'Chateau' right on the lake, amazing views, really great rooms - total comfort and a lot of 'style' to this place - the rooms, the bar, restaurant etc all have a bit of 'hipness' but too over the top and not trying to hard. Bed is great, bathroom incredible and the location is excellent as it's right on the lake but right across from the metro so it's maybe 7 mins right into central Lausanne. Also very close to the Olympic museum which is worth a visit. It was winter so not 'in season' for the lake so the rate was quite good for this level of quality (~$200/nt)I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAB430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    122
    31
    17
    5
See reviews for
50
177
20
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Waking up in the morning and having breakfast on the patio looking out over the lake was the best part of the day. The hotel has been designed very contemporary, but still has alot of the original work throughout. Our room looked out onto the lake and was really beautiful. We were lucky to have amazing weather while we were there, but it wasn't as crowded as it might be in the summer. Depending on the season, the lake side may be a bit noisy as there are boat rentals right out side the window. Highly recommend the hotel...it wasn't just a place to sleep, but was a big part of making the trip so fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Langan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

A very trendy boutique hotel right on the lake and close to a metro station. I was upgraded to a junior suite on arrival, which was very spacious. Internet access was free (always a plus) and the breakfast was OK if a little limited.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dk011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

As a special treat for my new wife on our honeymoon. I booked a night in Chateau D'ouchy and it was a great decision. The upgraded us to a tower room, which is literally the 12th century tower of the chateau with 1 room per floor looking right over lake Lausanne. They also prepared a beautiful room with rose petals and champagne for us. The hotel is a SLH hotel and it shows. The staff are brilliant really brilliant. The are helpful and kind. (unfortunately I was ill the last day - no fault of the hotel. and within 30 minutes they had a doctor in my room on a saturday morning). The room was stunning and elegant. The restaurant is brilliant and it's worth the money they charge. it's not cheap but it's excellent value. Also they must be owned by the same company as the palace hotel in Lausanne itself and they told us we have access to the spa at the Palace which is part of the Leading hotels of the world an stunning as well. You must take advantage of the spa as it's a luxurious experience and one makes this hotel even better. They give you a train pass which leave every few minutes from just outside the hotel and drops your in the middle of town. if you are looking for a beautiful luxury getaway in a chateau in switzerland. Do go to Chateau D'Ouchy.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Missed a train home and ended up spening the night in this hotel. We had already toured through Lausanne and spent a wonderful evening with a few cocktails at the hotel bar. Our room had a wonderful view and was very comfortable. The downstairs bar is a great place for a drink as well-parts of it still hang on tot he feeling of an old castle although the hotel is very modern.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabiolaabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We booked 4 nights here for my wife's birthday getaway using the hotel's website and got a pretty good deal, which got even better when we arrived early and got upgraded to a deluxe room "superb lake view" instead of "nice lake view". The room was very stylish as was the hotel itself - "glamorous" is the word that springs to mind. Free internet access via ethernet cable (wi-fi in the public areas).

Our deal included breakfast - a very nice buffet with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages; cold meats and cheese; fresh fruit and generous choice of bread and rolls. We had dinner in the hotel on our first night and although the food and the service were faultless it wasn't particularly exciting. And being Switzerland, it was eye-wateringly expensive - 185 SFr for a pleasant three course dinner with wine. A cup of tea in the bar was 7.50 SFr. But our package included a voucher for a free glass of champagne, very nice, and as it was my wife's birthday she got a complimentary tray of 8 petits fours on her birthday. Very nice, excellent personal service. Our only criticisms would be that in our room (on the top floor, with mansard roof so no vertical walls) the only mirror was in the bathroom - much walking to and fro, and there was a separate WC with no wash hand basin - a trifle unhygienic perhaps.

The hotel is by the lake, a few hundred metres down hill from the town centre, so the free metro pass for the duration of our stay (metro station a few steps away) was very useful. We also ate in the Creperie La Chandeleur in the old town (excellent, but you need a reservation unless you get lucky like we did), at the Creperie D'Ouchy opposite the hotel (nice, cheap, friendly) and at L'Accademia Italian restaurant opposite (superb food but quite expensive, reasonable local wines by the glass, watch out for the currency conversion if you're not paying in SFr).

We also took a day trip to Gstaad (train from Lausanne central via Montreux) and Evian (boat from the quay by the hotel) and as Evian is in France, everything there was really cheap by comparison! All in all, a great stay at a great hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

This hotel has a wonderful location on the lake - it is very convenient to the restaurants by the lake, the subway, as well as the ferry landing. The subway is key because one night we decided to walk to dinner - we quickly gave up as it was uphill all the way (the hotel provides free bus/subway passes). Our room was very luxurious - it was on a corner, overlooking the lake. Despite being on a low floor, we never had any issues with noises from the street. The room was really spacious, with comfortable linens and a huge bathroom. Breakfast was wonderful, with lots of yogurt, cheeses and hot selections. We also enjoyed the pool, which was so often deserted that we felt that we had it all to ourselves. The terrace area also has a bar which is good for people watching and enjoying the lake scenery. From the hotel, you can take a jog along the lake - we went as far as Cully one morning. The staff was friendly and helpful as well.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsoxfan02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.0 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau d'Ouchy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau d'Ouchy

Property: Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Address: place du Port 2, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chateau d'Ouchy 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau d'Ouchy and its medieval dungeon, has 50 rooms including 10 suites with a majestic panorama. The high-end comfort and quality service will charm you during your stay. Totally renovated, the originality of Ouchy will surprise you with its lounge atmosphere at the bar, with its Mediterranean restaurant, its pleasant terrace facing the lake, pool and relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Le Chateau d'Ouchy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau d`Ouchy Hotel Lausanne
Le Chateau d Ouchy Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing