We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor services - never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Chateau d'Ouchy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor services - never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

It's not the first time this is happening, but it will be last time i visit this establishment.

We had to wait more than 45 minutes to have our table cleaned up and still after all this time - and numerous complains to the waiters and the restaurant manager - nothing happened. More, we asked to make a complain about this and all we got was a business card to write an email to the hotel manager !!! Nobody asked us what was the problem, where it happened or why we were upset.

For sure, we'll never go there again!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catalinBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    118
    30
    17
    5
See reviews for
50
173
20
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
zurich
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

this recently renovated hotel is perfectly located at the lakefront in lausanne. from there you can take nice walks on the broadwalk or take the nearby subway into the city. the hotel bears a very modern, reduced design. the lobby is very nice and looks more than a stylish lounge than a hotel. staff is not very welcoming, a definite area of improvement. the rooms are small but clean, only few have a decent lake view. since there are quite a few other hotels in the area, i'd recommend to stay at the same rate at the nearby hotel angleterre and go to chateau d'ouchy for drinks at night.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkjhgZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

This is where those with serious travel budgets would choose to stay. I don't normally fork out those sorts of prices. What you get for your money is old world elegance, and the sort of quality that old world money takes for granted. I loved it, and can't really complain. The room was comfortable, the food was great, the staff were helpful, and the experience was really good. But I can't justify those prices on a regular basis.

Other reviewers have occasionally remarked on poor service. I didn't really experience that, but the hotel manager chappie, a sixty-something type, did come across as someone who longed for the old days, when only the right "quality" of person would stay there. I don't let that bother me, but I know some who would manage to take offence.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Talos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

A very nice and "cheap" alternative to the Beau-Rivage. It shares the same brilliant location, but has friendlier staff and a more relaxed atmosphere. service was 5*; breakfast good, the sauna is very small, but if you are alone (as I was) more then big enough. The entrance area is an attractive bar, the room was large and airy; just nothing to complain about. I will come back next time I am in Lausanne. I really enjoyed my stay from the warm welcoming to the quick and efficient check-out.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedgeman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

We loved Chateau d'Ouchy. The castle/hotel is gorgeous, and the hospitality is very gracious. The staff helped us upgrade to a room with a fantastic view, at a reasonable price. As soon as we arrived in our beautiful room, a tray of delicious appetizers was sent up to us!
The location is wonderful, just across from the lake and one block from the Metro. The restaurant is terrific (such a view), and the bar is hip and fun, with friendly bartenders.
We stayed in several wonderful hotels this trip, but d'Ouchy was our hands-down favorite.
Stephanie and Frank M.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austin30196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
319 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

Associated with the Lausanne Place, this establishment, located right on the harbour with its lake views and its contemporary renovation has a boutique feel.
The restaurant has a small but well-thought light cuisine.
As members of the small luxury hotels club, they graciously gave us an upgrade. Although we were very close to the main road the double windows did their silencing trick. After two very good nights, we wanted to leave after a last lunch and asked for 1 and 1/2 hour grace period (1:30pm instead of noon, usually as member you can have until 4pm), we like to freshen up after lunch. They refused, stating they needed the room immediately due to arrivals (on a Sunday???). We could not believe they had an army of maids large enough to make up all the vacated rooms at the same time and even if....
This got us unsatisfied and after this first stay we are not likely to return. Chain hotels might behave like this but not luxury boutique hotels.
As we have to go to Lausanne six times a year and are in the profession to recommend to others, they are out of luck.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelistanr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

The hotel was just right beside the lake which makes the view from the hotel room really beautiful. The lobby area's really elegant. The rooms were comfortable and had a nice walk-in bathroom. The view from the room was great, and I enjoyed the views of the lake for the three nights I stayed there. So do get a nice lake view room if you intend to stay here, it's worth it! I really liked the architecture of the whole hotel, it's like an old castle but yet still modern in some ways. This hotel would be great for couples too. My family and I ate at the restaurant one night and the food was pretty good. Overall, I had a really comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.0 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau d'Ouchy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau d'Ouchy

Property: Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Address: place du Port 2, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chateau d'Ouchy 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau d'Ouchy and its medieval dungeon, has 50 rooms including 10 suites with a majestic panorama. The high-end comfort and quality service will charm you during your stay. Totally renovated, the originality of Ouchy will surprise you with its lounge atmosphere at the bar, with its Mediterranean restaurant, its pleasant terrace facing the lake, pool and relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Le Chateau d'Ouchy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau d`Ouchy Hotel Lausanne
Le Chateau d Ouchy Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing