We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very nice little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

This hotel is perfectly located in the old town and close to the metro station, which is good if you need to go to the EPFL (like I did). The furniture in my room was a little old, but the bed was confortable and the bathroom recently remodeled. The wifi is included in the price of the room and so is breakfast (they have delicious croissants au beurre!). Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annina_q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    48
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
10
34
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Drab, dark, stained carpet and cramped. Very noisy. Not sure what a 2 star hotel would be like if this is a 3 star. Breakfast was just ok. No fresh fruit. What's up with that. Was going to ask when the last time they changed the sweat sock that the coffee was being filtered through, but that would have been rude. (I am a bit of a coffee snob, so take that last comment with a grain of salt).

Staff were all competent and very nice (the only thing that made me not give this a one "Dot" rating). The city of Lausanne was kind of a shock to the system after being in the alps. In fact, the city and the hotel can be described using the same works... Drab, dark, stained and cramped.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights the third week of June. The hotel is located in old-town which is within walking distance to the train station, metro, shops and restaurants. The only thing we disliked was the street the Regina is on is a very steep pedestrian street and therefore a tiring walk uphill each time you returned. The room was clean and comfortable with adequate storage. There was a hair dryer available and enough outlets to charge cameras, i pad, phones etc. We made good use of the ceiling fan. I don't believe the open window and the ceiling fan would be sufficient to cool the room passed the month of June. The hotel tax paid for a city transportation pass. The breakfast was good and plentiful. The assortment of delicious breads was wonderful. We took advantage of the free internet access and Wi-Fi. Most of the staff spoke English and went out of their way to be helpful. Michael ,the owner, spoke very good English, was charming, and very helpful with directions and suggestions. The service and staff are the reason we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Dark, drab rooms with yard sale quality furnishings; the only perk is a small but clean bathroom with shower. You won't rest well here because of a loud hum from the electric transformer outside your window and noise from people on the street. Can't believe Rick Steves would give this place a good review and describe it as "comfy". This "fixer-upper" needs lots of fixing!

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I spent two nights in early May at this very convenient and artfully decorated hotel. Its location is terrific, an easy walk to the cathedral, the train station and the metro, which takes you to Ouchy, where boats leave for tours around Lake Geneva. The hotel tax comes with a transportation pass to get around the area. Our room was clean and nicely furnished with a view over the roofs of the Old City and up toward the cathedral. Our only concern was that the shower floor was slippery. The plentiful breakfast was served in an inviting area. The staff were delightful, ready to give advice and very approachable, making maps and directions available. One staff member had lived in Los Angeles for several years, and his English was exceptionally good, but all staff spoke enough English to communicate helpfully. We went to the Saturday market nearby and loved purchasing cheeses, breads, olives and fruit for a picnic lunch. Overall excellent visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Otye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I spent five nights at the Hôtel Régina Garni in Lausanne. I was satisfied with my stay. The staff were very friendly and the room extremely clean and quiet. The breakfast was plentiful and the location superb. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yqmflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troutman, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Friendly hotel staff speaks good English. Great location in old-town Lausanne. Short walk to many of Lausanne's ethnic restaurants. Clean rooms. Terrific breakfasts

Room Tip: Can't think of any
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#20 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#18 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#23 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bellerive Hotel
Bellerive Hotel
#30 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: rue Grand-St-Jean 18, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing