We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“still the best in Lausanne” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lausanne Palace & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lausanne Palace & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“still the best in Lausanne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We visit this hotel each year for a few days since our daughter works in Geneva. This year we spent five days at the Palace. We had a very nice room on the 2nd floor, spacious and with a impeccable bathroom. The service was excellent, free wi-fi and in room bar. The bed was very comfortable and the room made up as soon as left. We had diinner at one of the restaurants and the food was excellent. We are looking forward to our next visit to the Palace. A top ratio quality/price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanne111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    88
    33
    17
    7
See reviews for
69
183
49
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

The hotel is very downtown and has nice rooms with beautiful view on the lake but the rooms were noisy, we had connecting rooms and the doors between the rooms didn't stop the noise.
The general impression about the hotel is that is kind of old and it needs a lot of refurbishment.

Room Tip: ask a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meda_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have stayed in Palace 1 night a few weeks ago. Having studied in the Swiss boarding school and then in Lausanne, on many occasions have I heard people telling me that the hotel is nice. But that was 15 years ago i guess. We were very disappointed.
We have checked in around 6 pm and when brought to our rooms ( we had 2 rooms) we have noticed that the air conditioning wasn't working properly. The fan was blowing but no cold air coming out. Having mentioned that we were assured its just because we have just arrived and it takes time. Ok....so we went for a dinner and have come back at 12. Again in the room we saw that its still hot but since again we have just entered the room, we decided to wait. After 30 min it was obvious its a fan and not an air conditioning. My husband have fallen asleep and when I called someone to come (Quite a rude and uninterested night clerk) and repair it I was told "it works can't you see, it blows air" ,then i was told that there is nothing to do, no one can repair it at this time and finally that we can move rooms ( which at 1 in the morning is useless). I find it absolutely unacceptable for a hotel of this class and price!!!!! which calls itself a Palace to not have anybody that can repair the aircon at this time and frankly this kind of problems are so basic that they should not even be an issue in these types of establishment. In the morning my mum being in the other room, has told me she had the same problem and she did move rooms but it wasn't much better so I am guessing the hotel is saving on energy. Very disappointing. Switzerland is loosing its charm, sense of service and seems like they are cutting costs, yet the prices are raising.
Having mentioned it in the morning, no reaction from the reception.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kamaya13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

From the moment our bags were taken from the cab, the hotel staff always excelled. They took wonderful care at each step of check in. The polite and knowledgeable front desk clerk escorted us to our room while introducing us to the hotel and its amenities. The lobby is also handsome and a nice mix of traditional and updated. The remodeled room was very large and handsomely decorated with a Juliette balcony and a beautiful view of Lake Geneva and the Alps in the distance. THe guest hall is a wide spacious corridor unlike anything in a modern hotel with wood paneling and a variety of seating areas. A welcome combination of elegance and updated features.

Room Tip: Spend 50 swiss francs extra and get a lakeview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DStewardNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

I'm not quite sure why you would go to Lausanne except on business and if that is the case then this is a pretty good hotel. I have stayed here a couple of times - it is obscenely expensive and although it is 5 star it doesn't feel that way by international standards. Thank heavens the company paid. The staff are very efficient, rooms are very comfortable but there is no real 'feel' to the place. It's all a bit dull. It's not a great location given the distance from the lake although I believe if you pay even more you can stay at the back with a lake view.

Room Tip: Save up for a room at the back with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

I felt like I was at the $39 Massage Parlor: arrive, massage, leave. Thank you. For an extra $125 you can use one of the chairs in the spa after your massage, otherwise your only choice would be a hardback chair in the hall (that was the answer to my question about whether there was a place 'pour se detendre' after the massage); so while the massage was quite good,double thumbs down on service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabbam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in May/June 2013. Professional staff, good cleanliness, large (although a bit outdated, but that's a matter of taste I guess) room, comfortable bed, good facilities... Nothing to complain about really, except maybe that the spa facilities (men's side) are a bit small compared to other Leading Spa hotels, but still good enough. I highly recommend treating yourself to the marvellous Sunday brunch buffet!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kloddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.8 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.3 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
#10 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lausanne Palace & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lausanne Palace & Spa

Property: Lausanne Palace & Spa
Address: rue du Grand-Chene 7 - 9, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Spa Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lausanne Palace & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Lausanne, the Olympic Capital, in French speaking Switzerland, the Lausanne Palace & Spa enjoys a superb view across Lake Geneva to the Alps. The beauty of its surrounding landscape makes it an exceptional place of refinement. The recognition since 2007 by UNESCO of the Lavaux region, 10 km from the Lausanne Palace & Spa, now on the list of "Real World Heritages" serves as proof of its uniqueness. At the heart of Lausanne, the Lausanne Palace & Spa, offers to you its parking open 24/24 and 7/7, an ideal base from which to discover Lausanne and quickly and easily access the different services which the Lausanne Palace & Spa offers you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Lausanne Palace & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Palace Hotel Lausanne
Lausanne Palace And Spa
Lausanne Palace Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing