We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a stay.”
Review of Hotel Elite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elite
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well worth a stay.”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This hotel has an excellent location as it is near the station and the metro but is located in a very quiet street. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The dining room is charming and elegant. Breakfast is limited in range but what is available is good and sets one up for the day.Some of the top floor rooms have a balcony and are spacious with air conditioning. Temperatures in the thirties (celcius) made this a good option. These rooms also provide a view of Lake Geneve/Lac Leman and it is worth paying the bit extra for these rooms, especially if your stay in the hotel is longer than a day or so. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom is clean and nicely tiled and my only reservation would be the high side of the bath that had to be climbed over to get under the shower. This is not a flashy hotel with glitz but it is comfortable and dependable.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with a balcony on the top floor. They provide a view of the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    109
    31
    7
    1
See reviews for
37
73
25
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Pros:
- friendly staff,
- lovely room (despite old TV set), with a large balconee plenty of flowers
- good price (for Lausanne)
- clean
- free parking
- nice location
- close to public transportation (metro, railway)

Cons:
- Breakfast is good, but not so much variety
- They have free wireless Internet, as the site claims, but it is limited to 30 minutes per stay. After this, you can still access wireless Internet, but you have to pay some fee.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bboogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed twice, once on our way to th Bernese Oberland and once on the way back.
We have also stayed before. Our room was lovely, modern, very clean with a comfortable bed, couch and arm chair, and this time the television included BBC and ITV! Amazing. We had a pleasant breakfast.
On the way back we were allocated room 14. This was a disappointment as the furniture seemed a bit old fashioned and the TV was an old style. We asked for room 26 and immediately were given this room, so all was well.
We like the Elite. It is clean, efficiently run and always welcoming.

Room Tip: Go for room 26 or any of the equivalent rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katekkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed in a tripple room at the Elite hotel. The location of the hotel was very central, just a short walk from the train station, but still quiet. From our room on 4th floor we had a veiw over beautiful residential street. The interior of the hotel and furniture was probably not the most recent fasion but the rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great (nice breafast room, too!) and the staff was very kind and helpfull. If we come back to Lausanne we would definitely stay at the Elite hotel again!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TheOrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I went to visit my son who was working in Lausanne on a last minute air fare sale. When I looked for rooms all the places I'd been dreaming about were full. Booking.com,( the best site ever), kept telling me to change my dates. The Elite popped up and I booked it thinking I could cancel when something better opened. Nothing did. I went looking by foot from the train station and voila, up the hill and down a side street there is this oasis. The Elite is a classy little Hotel, centrally located, a little three star gem for a city visit. It is very clean, well managed and in a nice neighborhood. The breakfast and breakfast room were pleasant and gracious. My room was a little compartment with no view and no air conditioning, the TV was small and there was some noise at night. Even so, it was just a really pleasant place to stay and enjoy the city, easy to take the train to Vevey and Montreaux. I probably wouldn't choose it for a family with children, but definitely would recommend for budget conscious travelers who want a good hotel in Laussane.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heartjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

An uphill walk from train station, but not bad at all. Great service. Smaller room, but perfectly functional. For no additional cost, we were given a separate 'single man's' room for our 16 year old son which was smaller but included his own bathroom and shower. Perfect! Definitely recommend this location.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

This hotel worked well for us, particularly since we were in Lausanne only two nights and were traveling in and out of town by train. Our triple was spacious, with a separate bedroom for our 16-year-old daughter. We were there on a weekend, so I was a bit concerned about noise issues mentioned in other reviews, but we had no problems, maybe because it was rainy. No air conditioning but we didn't need it. We had the windows open at night and enjoyed the fresh air. We used the free public transit pass a lot since the city is so vertical.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kms4774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.3 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#23 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#18 of 46 in Lausanne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#7 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elite

Property: Hotel Elite
Address: avenue Sainte-Luce 1, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elite 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Lausanne
Cambria Suites Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing