We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite disappointed”
Review of Hotel Elite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Elite
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My family were guests of the Elite Hotel in Lausanne for one night on August 5th , 2013. I understood that the hotel was not on the lake shore, but had no idea it was a 25 minute walk down a very steep hill. Granted, there is bus service down to the water's edge, but the hotel is located in a very difficult area to drive to without knowing the area well. The hotel is just not what we expected and was very hot and did not smell very nice. I would not recommend this hotel to any American traveling to Lausanne. The breakfast was pitiful and just not what we came to expect from many of the reviews on this site. Try another hotel in Lusanne.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

A good option for exploring Lausanne and the surrounding area. Small and intimate within an easy walk from the train station. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Stayed three nights with family in two rooms. Breakfast a bit thin - not much fresh fruit, but quite decent.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank West105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I was there 4 nights because of a conference trip. The hotel was nice, wifi in the room, minibar, nice view, good staff, satellite tv, good breakfast (even if no cappuccino available). Ask for free transport card to the reception, it is for free and you can use all Lausanne public transport.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinetta r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We booked the hotel because we wanted something in town and not too expensive. The Hotel Elite is well located and seemed good value at about €140 per single room. We booked three.
We arrived and were welcomed and checked in without fuss, which was a good start. The lobby smelt of cigarette smoke and there was an odd smell of food on the fourth floor. To log onto the (slow) wifi I had to traipse all the way down to reception to be given a hard-to-read code on a slip of paper. This could only be used once and on one device so wouldn't let me use my phone.
And then the room - it was compact but had everything including a chilled minibar. But it was fiendishly hot. Even with the windows open so that street noises intruded the temperature was tropical. The bedding was clingy and the pillows soft to the point of being ridiculous. And it wasn't just my room. And then a cramped breakfast room serving a meagre, sad continental breakfast. The coffee was the best thing about it.

Room Tip: Consider running a cold shower with the door open to cool the room and create a draught.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spencerneal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The hotel Elite is a very nice hotel within walking distance of Lausanne railway station, making it very convenient when taking a train from the airport. Although it doesn't have a restaurant for evening meals, it does a very good continental breakfast, great coffee and a good selection of breads, croissants, ham and cheese. The best thing about the hotel are the beds, which are very comfortable, with feather quilts and pillows, which you sink into for a great sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ramac300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

A charming small hotel, centrally located very close to the station,(be aware Lausaunne is steep and the climb upwards starts from the station to the hotel either up steps or the street.)
The room was large & very comfortable with a flower edged balcony and garden to enjoy if the weather allows :) The bathroom was huge and light with a bath & shower (great water pressure) the tiling dated but fine.
Breakfasts were very good. A supermarket is near by to provide picnic food.
The reception ladies were all extremely friendly & helpful. Free wifi & an available PC.
The free travel card is great & gives you a large area to explore.
If you want a comfortable, friendly small hotel this is it.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aubin785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

A nice hotel in a quiet neighborhood, conveniently located within walking distance of the Old town attractions. Staff were friendly and we were lucky to have the room ready at 9am when we arrived. Room was nice and cosy, but the pillows were really bad... Softer than marshmallows ... And then some more.
Other than that, it was ok although the price was quite high. Breakfast was nothing to rave about. A warning though ... If you are not driving and coming by train, there is a 'mountain' to climb to reach the hotel. So beware them bad knees and backs!
Overall a nice stay and would return.

Room Tip: It's quiet so doesn't matter, plus well sound-proofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkandFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mirabeau
0.3 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#31 of 46 in Lausanne
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#11 of 46 in Lausanne
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
#24 of 46 in Lausanne
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elite

Address: avenue Sainte-Luce 1, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range: £105 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elite 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Lausanne
Cambria Suites Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing