We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
SeeWilliam
Portland, Oregon

Walking distance (uphill) from train station

Review of Hotel Elite
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Aug 2019
Decent hotel, with great view of Lake Geneva from 4th floor balcony. Basic 3 star hotel, so towels were somewhat worn. Location is mid-way up the hill, so everything is up from there. Would have stayed further up if we went back.
Date of stay: August 2019
Room Tip: 4th floor balcony overlooking Lake Lausanne.
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£267
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Hotel Elite
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £127
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Hotel Elite
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
  • Movenpick
    £141
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from Hotel Elite
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £238
  • Expedia.com
    £264
0.8 miles from Hotel Elite
Free Wifi
Pool
£198
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £198
0.2 miles from Hotel Elite
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £327
  • Expedia.com
    £334
0.8 miles from Hotel Elite
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
  • ibis
    £124
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Hotel Elite
Free Wifi
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £125
  • Expedia.com
    £153
3.1 miles from Hotel Elite
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £101
  • Priceline
3.4 miles from Hotel Elite
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
  • ibis Budget
    £97
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.9 miles from Hotel Elite
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Lausanne
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
87
155
44
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
87
155
44
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews croissants train station boiled eggs lausanne gare other hotels free metro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2019

The hotel is a nice find just outside the old towne of Lausanne. It sits up the hill, literally cross the road and go up the steps turn right and a'Violá!, from the main train station so it's a good place for those that travel by rail on vacation.
The breakfast is the typical European fare, the coffee is really good! They will make you a 'macchiato' AKA a latte.. the little metal coffee pots keep the coffee super hot!!
To get to the old town you just need to walk down the stairs, across the street and into the Metro line- jump on, go two stops and there ya' go..better because it's free! a ticket provided by the Elite let's you ride all public transport FOR FREE!!!!
The Staff is incredibly nice and knowledgeable of the area.
The hotel decor itself is getting a tad dated..like it was updated in the 80s-ish..our bath was maybe the 70s but it was clean and quiet, there is a fridge in the room and TV channels in English- I was able to watch BBC TV shows that are CURRENT!!! :)
I do have to say, for what it's worth, the lift has got to be one of the creepiest I have ever been in! It is the one from EVERY horror film ..Like EVER! Thankfully, its fast!

Room tip: we had room 41 overlooking the neighboring parking lot/garden and with a side view of the lake..
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ragan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2019

A very nice Hotel within walking distance of the central train station, many shops and restaurants. The hotel itself is on a quiet side street. The rooms are very nice and large. The hotel offers an includes breakfast I wouldn’t miss. A great European breakfast. They also gave us transfer cards where we were able to travel by bus, subway or trains to many locations both in and out of the city.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2019

The location is a few blocks from the train station & it is in a very quiet area. Note there are several walking routes to hotel & one means climbing a lot of stairs. The alternative is rolling along a cobblestones walkway w/a bit of an incline. The hotel is a bit older, but charming and the balcony was a lovely touch. Breakfast was more than ample.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lamaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2019

We stayed here for five nights, using Lausanne as a base to travel to some other nearby areas. Being near the rail station was a priority for us. We read earlier reviews and were aware of the climb from the station to the hotel. It is short, but pretty steep. We were able to go up the street instead of the stairs when we arrived with our luggage. After that, you could take the stairs straight to the station a short distance away. As we were here for so long, we splurged on a room with a balcony with a view of the Alps and Lake Geneva. There is a table and chairs, so you can bring food out and enjoy the view. Spectacular! The windows had metal shades on the outside for good room darkening. The street below is very quiet. Standard breakfast, friendly service, plus an elevator :)

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SB1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2019 via mobile

Stayed one night here in February on a second visit - well that says it all! Very comfortable hotel near the station but on a quiet road - it would be a bit of an effort with no car and lots of luggage but fine walking up the flights of steps with just an overnight bag. The room was comfortable and there was a good selection at breakfast with fresh fruit salad, Bircher and several sorts of bread. Staff were very friendly and helpful and on an overnight stay you get 2 days free transport which is great. I’ll be back!

Date of stay: February 2019
1  Thank readytogoSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews