We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Crimitorii
Hawthorn, Australia

Well-located and overall charming hotel

Review of Hotel Elite
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Oct 2019
Spent 4 nights here a a base to explore Chillon castle and Geneva etc. Reasonable sized rooms. Great location close to the main railway station but also the underground (metro) which runs up and down. Thus nearby COOP stores, restaurants and fast-food outlets. Still some uphill walking involved but not too much - hey! it's a city built on a hillside from the lake.
Lots of TV channels in multiple languages. Wifi was a bit dodgy in that some devices wouldn't connect (used a pc as a hot-spot). Good breakfast. No coffee facilities in rooms but there was a bar fridge.The over-bath shower would be challenging for some people. Multilingual staff. Bed was a bit soft but wouldn't mind staying here again.
Date of stay: October 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£395
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £395
0.5 miles from Hotel Elite
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £132
  • Expedia.com
    £143
0.3 miles from Hotel Elite
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £183
  • Expedia.com
    £215
0.8 miles from Hotel Elite
Free Wifi
Pool
£149
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £149
0.2 miles from Hotel Elite
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Movenpick
    £174
  • Expedia.com
    £155
  • Hotels.com
0.8 miles from Hotel Elite
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
  • Hotels.com
  • ibis
    £123
  • Expedia.com
    £123
0.5 miles from Hotel Elite
Free Wifi
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £270
  • Expedia.com
    £284
0.8 miles from Hotel Elite
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £123
  • Expedia.com
    £125
0.8 miles from Hotel Elite
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £94
  • Priceline
3.4 miles from Hotel Elite
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £85
  • ibis Budget
    £90
3.9 miles from Hotel Elite
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Lausanne
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
87
155
44
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
87
155
44
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews croissants train station boiled eggs lausanne gare other hotels free metro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2019 via mobile

The main benefit for me, was the location. Literally a 5 minute walk to the metro and main station. This meant that within 20 minutes, I could get to most places I needed to go to.
On first impressions it does seem a little dated, but it’s actually very comfortable, quiet and calm. All the staff were very pleasant and very patient (even with my terrible French). The breakfast is excellent.
I found a couple of lovely places to eat within a 15 minute walk, plus could get to Ouchy (so to the lake) on the metro in less than 20 minutes from leaving the hotel. Even the WiFi was adequate for my purposes; certainly better than many chain hotels I’ve stayed in.
Would happily recommend this hotel, as long as you realise you’re swapping modernity for some charm.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank SanteBello
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2019

Decent hotel, with great view of Lake Geneva from 4th floor balcony. Basic 3 star hotel, so towels were somewhat worn. Location is mid-way up the hill, so everything is up from there. Would have stayed further up if we went back.

Room tip: 4th floor balcony overlooking Lake Lausanne.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeeWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2019

The hotel is a nice find just outside the old towne of Lausanne. It sits up the hill, literally cross the road and go up the steps turn right and a'Violá!, from the main train station so it's a good place for those that travel by rail on vacation.
The breakfast is the typical European fare, the coffee is really good! They will make you a 'macchiato' AKA a latte.. the little metal coffee pots keep the coffee super hot!!
To get to the old town you just need to walk down the stairs, across the street and into the Metro line- jump on, go two stops and there ya' go..better because it's free! a ticket provided by the Elite let's you ride all public transport FOR FREE!!!!
The Staff is incredibly nice and knowledgeable of the area.
The hotel decor itself is getting a tad dated..like it was updated in the 80s-ish..our bath was maybe the 70s but it was clean and quiet, there is a fridge in the room and TV channels in English- I was able to watch BBC TV shows that are CURRENT!!! :)
I do have to say, for what it's worth, the lift has got to be one of the creepiest I have ever been in! It is the one from EVERY horror film ..Like EVER! Thankfully, its fast!

Room tip: we had room 41 overlooking the neighboring parking lot/garden and with a side view of the lake..
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ragan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2019

A very nice Hotel within walking distance of the central train station, many shops and restaurants. The hotel itself is on a quiet side street. The rooms are very nice and large. The hotel offers an includes breakfast I wouldn’t miss. A great European breakfast. They also gave us transfer cards where we were able to travel by bus, subway or trains to many locations both in and out of the city.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2019

The location is a few blocks from the train station & it is in a very quiet area. Note there are several walking routes to hotel & one means climbing a lot of stairs. The alternative is rolling along a cobblestones walkway w/a bit of an incline. The hotel is a bit older, but charming and the balcony was a lovely touch. Breakfast was more than ample.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lamaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews