We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With a good deal, then go for it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Lausanne Boutique Hotel
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
netherlands
Level Contributor
196 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“With a good deal, then go for it”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The rooms are well decorated, in an old style. It is clean.
We stayed there 4 nights. However the first one, we could not well sleep due to ongoing noises in the radiator. Next morning, they put us in another room, and it was fine.
The bathroom had a ceiling to be maintained (condensation) and painted. The shower
Strange thing at end of 2013: the internet wifi is still to be paid...
The TV is old (the set box) but more important, the provided channels are only few local or French ones (and not well settled to navigate through). No International news channels, no Asian channels, no movies channels... If you are not into TV, then perfect.

However, to be honest, we got an offer, and for the value it was fine.
Should be better classified as a 3rd star hotel, except if few things are fixed asap.

The location is great and the building style is a plus.
So it is a 4 for us.

Room Tip: avoid maybe rooms near the subway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    108
    38
    24
    15
See reviews for
38
102
19
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The hotel is superbly located at the metro station, so getting around Lausanne is a breeze. The rooms are quaint, with fabric on the walls, but don't look too closely anywhere, as it's all getting a bit tatty. The beds were very strange - a bit like a boarding school, complete with strange plastic-type liner under the sheets! The staff are frosty, totally uninterested in helping, and miserly - the water in the mini bar was not replaced, the towels were small and old, and there is nowhere to sit except your room or a very boring foyer. There is really no ambience except in the individual rooms. Overall I was satisfied with the hotel, but how it could possibly be four stars is a total mystery.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the metro have a balcony, which is lovely, and the metro itself is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our room was very pretty with a sort of toile wallpaper. Very high ceilings, even on the middle floor. Beautiful, clean bathroom with modern shower. Nice fluffy towels.

The staff at the front desk was very helpful in assisting us with a problem with our rental vehicle; they made phone calls on our behalf without hesitation.

The hotel is outside of the Old Town area but within walking distance and you are given complimentary tickets for the metro during your stay. Parking and wifi for a fee. We were there on a Sunday night and found a great rate on their website. Everything in Switzerland is expensive so we were very pleased to get a hotel of this quality for under 100 euros.
Sent from my iPad

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittykai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
195 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed here with my family on the way to an Indian Wedding in Austria. Stayed here 5 days! The rooms are the best thing about this hotel! The air conditioning can be made to whistle it is so cold! Which is how I like to sleep! The rooms are decorated in an old 16th century style! The comforters are heavy and very comfortable! The breakfast is delicious and the coffee is nespresso! Which makes my waking up early amazing! The hotel is located less than 50 meters from the Metro. I recommend this to anyone who is in Lausanne.

Room Tip: Deluxe or higher rooms are more spacy but overall the AC is the best and it works in all rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anabellepaulino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Nash Carlton hotel is conveniently located close to the metro station, and within a walking distance from the lake.
Reasonably big room, double bath sinks.
Air conditioner, refrigerator, coffee maker (we had our own breakfast in the room)
The TV was old (we didn't care much about TV though)
What we didn't like was the bed sheet / mattress pad: with some plastic (water-proof?) at the bottom, I could hardly sleep until I put a bath towel on top of it.

Room Tip: Ask for bed sheet / mattress pad options. Ask for 30 min free Internet login/password.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PavelU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Well i did get a special deal, for CHF 100.- a night instead of CHF 160.- paid in advance without breakfast. i thought it was good deal.......
The Hotel is in a nice location.The personnel is very nice.
My disapointment is that the room was quite old and outdated, and very small.
I was told that the softdrinks in the minibar was included or free, as matter of fact they were only 2 small bottle of mineral water in there BIG deal.
in a 4 stars hotel you expect a little more..... there was a complimentary coffee machine.
Normally in evry 4 star hotel, you find a documentation of the hotel or the town etc nothing.
I needed paper to write something not even paper ......
I open my bed and i found out that my bed sheets had holes in it....... they were clean though

The other dispaointment was the outside parking was quite expense CHF 15.-. a night, not garded, outside in the street it is free.. so why bother.
WI FI is more expense per hour than a 5 star hotel in that region.
I was rally dispointed for a 4 star hotel in a Hotel well know country.

Room Tip: ask a room in the back of the main strees, little noise with the metro passing by , but no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swisstraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Very friendly staff, beautiful room, big, but cute balcony, good location (walk to the lake or with metro to center). Room had nice little details (not wallpaper, but fabric on the walls, nice mirrors, different furniture) really liked it!!

Room Tip: Price from the hotel is always with breakfast and quite expensive- so book before from some online s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triinuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
0.3 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Lausanne Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Lausanne Boutique Hotel

Property: Carlton Lausanne Boutique Hotel
Address: avenue de Cour 4, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Lausanne Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton Lausanne Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nash Carlton Hotel Lausanne
Nash Carlton Lausanne
Hotel Nash Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing