We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Lausanne”
Review of Hotel Aulac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aulac
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Lausanne
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The Hotel Aulac is right on the water's edge in Ouchy, which is literally five minutes from the centre of the city. It is also located right next door to the Metro station, so if you are arriving by train and getting off at Lausanne, walk across the street to the Metro and take a ride to Ouchy and save the CHF15 taxi fare.
The hotel has a very average entry and reception area, but check-in was done efficiently, and a free travel card was supplied to each of us for the duration of our stay. This scheme apparently operates for all hotels in Lausanne. The room we stayed in for four nights was like a small suite...a lounge room in addition to the bedroom, and a toilet separate from the bathroom. All the facilities were clean and in good order, and the beds were comfortable.
The breakfast provided was very generous and suitable for all appetites. All hotels in Switzerland are expensive compared to other European cities (except for Norway where everything is super expensive) but we still believe that Hotel Aulac represents good value for money and would recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors with a lakeside view, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCHMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

This restaurant is quite none on Quai d'ouchy the little lake front walkay. It has a good choice of dish and the usual daily menu is well served. From fish to meat, you will find the main known plate with also a certain number of local and regional dish. The team is professional and smily. The director always make a tour to verify how service is done. They have a nice terrace in front (bit to near the road) but also a nice terrace on 1st floor that gives you a nice view on the lake and the alps. no worries you will get for a sure a minimum satisfaction if not a good one :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Confmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The Hotel is close to the Lac Leman and the Harbour of Ouchy. It is very nice to look out from the rooms to the lake - if you book lake-side. The metro station is very close - you get free tickets for the transport system of Lausanne - and you reach the Center in 5 minutes.
Sometimes it is noisy when you have the windows open - close to Street - Clock - Big Boats approaching sound. But everything is OK when you close the windows. (Fan in the room but no Aircon) - Free and fast Internet available.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms have a really nice view, but a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jurgphuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Excellent location near the Lake just 2 minutes from the metro, close to supermarkets, cafes money machines. Lovely view of lake. Could be a bit noisy in the mornings but was not warm enough to have to have windows open overnight. Clean except for an item left on bedside table I assume cleaner overlooked!!! Spacious suite room. Breakfast was a bit of a muddle, not laid out very well, it needs to be re organised. Breakfast staff not particularly enthusiastic. Overall a a great location and good value in Switzerland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shron35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed in early July, with the family and got an excellent lake-facing room. The location is everything with this hotel. The room was spacious but to accommodate our two kids, they provided bunk beds, which led to a an accident when our daughter hit her head. The hotel staff was quite helpful, directing us to the nearest children's hospital where our child needed five stitches. Like elsewhere, the breakfast was very basic. If you are driving, be forewarned that there is very little space to get in and out of the hotel (no driveway), and there is no parking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulysses S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Breakfast - Typical Swiss breakfast, buffet mode.
Room - Comfortable
View - Breathtaking view of Lake Geneva.
Location - Just next to the subway.

We went during summer of 2012. There were even a free concert on the quay side in front of Aulac, with food and drink and music.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

My husband reserved a special rate for water view, and we were very pleased with the view and the location. The rooms are pleasant and clean. The service was friendly. Breakfast was good. The port is immediately across the street, and it was great to walk across it and hop on the boat. Even better was the short walk from the boat to our room at the end of a great day in Montreaux and the castle. The only down side is paid parking down the street, but we would return to this hotel.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
1 mi away
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
#24 of 45 in Lausanne
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carlton Lausanne Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
#1 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
879 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#12 of 45 in Lausanne
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aulac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aulac

Address: place de la Navigation 4, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: £79 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aulac 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the charm of Ouchy's lakeside promenades, parks and gardens, surrounded by Alpine splendour and only a few steps from the Olympic Museum and the metro stop at this stunning lake front hotel. Located on the shores of Lake Geneva, the hotel is ideal for business and leisure trips; it is just 10 minutes away from the city centre and railway station, and Geneva's international airport is just 40 minutes away. The Restaurant and Brasserie, Le Pirate, offers you informal dining and regional specialities from Lake Geneva. Offering the perfect venue for seminars, cocktails and banquets, for groups of 10-50 people, the hotel boasts a splendid view over the Alps and Lake Geneva. The hotel provides a complimentary pass for the public transportation network of Lausanne. Sous-Gare-Ouchy is highly rated by guests for: Romantic, Gourmet Food, Relaxation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aulac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aulac Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing