We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
dlhutchison
Kentville, Canada

Super spot

Review of Hotel Aulac
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Feb 2020
Great place to stay, friendly helpful staff. Room was clean and comfortable with a wee deck looking over the lake. So close to metro stop and Coop store. Very nice and handy. Continental breakfast was good with boiled egg option and smoked salmon, a little better than average European breakfasts. I would go back. Easy as a single person and handy walks along the lake and for ferry to Evian.
Date of stay: January 2020
Room Tip: View of lake for sure. 309 was nice
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
directionhotelaulac, Directeur général at Hotel Aulac, responded to this review
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Dear guest

We are happy we could count you among our guests and we thank you for your positive comment

We are happy you appreciated the cleanliness of the comfortable room and the friendly staff.
We are delighted that the breakfast buffet has met your expectations and we thank you for recommending us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you for your next visit and and we assure you already our best care and attention.

Best regards

The management

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£129
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £111
  • Agoda.com
    £109
  • Hotels.com
    £129
0.6 miles from Hotel Aulac
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Double Economy
Booking.com
£149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £142
  • Agoda.com
    £108
  • Hotels.com
    £116
0.7 miles from Hotel Aulac
Free Wifi
Room service
Outside Wine&Lounge Bar
Booking.com
£152
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £121
  • Agoda.com
    £105
  • Hotels.com
    £117
0.4 miles from Hotel Aulac
Free Wifi
Room service
Exterior view
Booking.com
£102
  • ibis
    £112
  • Hotels.com
    £112
  • Priceline
    £110
1.2 miles from Hotel Aulac
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
£150
  • Expedia.com
    £150
  • Agoda.com
    £121
  • Priceline
    £132
2.9 miles from Hotel Aulac
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£143
  • Priceline
    £113
  • Agoda.com
    £111
  • Expedia.com
    £135
1.6 miles from Hotel Aulac
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Triple Room with bathroom at the Hotel du Marche
Booking.com
£87
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £92
  • Expedia.com
    £92
  • Agoda.com
    £87
1.2 miles from Hotel Aulac
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£300
  • Priceline
    £270
  • Agoda.com
    £260
  • Hotels.com
    £277
0.3 miles from Hotel Aulac
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£329
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £265
  • Agoda.com
    £230
  • Expedia.com
    £265
0.1 miles from Hotel Aulac
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£322
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £321
  • eDreams
    £322
  • StayForLong
0.8 miles from Hotel Aulac
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Lausanne
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveller rating
80
241
121
52
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
80
241
121
52
14
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 508 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2020

I had a great stay of 2 nights at Aulac, room had a beautiful view at lake of Geneva. The Ouchy district is very authentic and beautiful and great for a stroll along the lakeside. Situated next to the metro station, It was also a good location for my business trip, for which I had to travel by metro to outside the city centre.
Room quality is in good balance with the price. I would have appreciated a electrical socket next to my bed, though. Personnel was friendly and spoke English well. The building is old, so the rooms and halls are a bit noisy sometimes. I didn't stay during the weekend, so perhaps this can be an issue if you are not a tight sleeper.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronaldhX2066VH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
directionhotelaulac, Directeur général at Hotel Aulac, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2020

Dear guest

We thank you for having chosen our hotel for your last stay and for your constructive comment.

We are happy you appreciated the comfortable room with the beautiful view as well the good value for money and our friendly staff.

We look into the matter concerning your remark of electrical socket and thank you for your feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you for your next visit and and we stay at your entire disposal for any further information you may require.

Best regards

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2020

arriving by train at Lausanne station you just cross the road and arrive at metro station direction Ouchy end station. at your left hand side is located the hotel au lac. friendly service and quiet and renovated room the restaurant of the hotel with fish specialities is good but rather expensive and also the breakfast. a place to remember for location and also 10 minutes walking distance of Olympic Museum.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jean Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
directionhotelaulac, Directeur général at Hotel Aulac, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2020

Dear guest

We are happy we could count you among our guests and we thank you for your nice constructive comment.

We are happy you appreciated your stay with us and are delighted you liked the renovated room and the quality of our food in the restaurant.

We are looking forward to welcoming you for your next visit and send you our best regards.

Best regards

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2019 via mobile

Overlooking the lake and adjacent to the Metro, so perfectly positioned.
We had a family room, which seemed smaller than a double room would normally be. Little space down the side of the main bed and room dominated by the bunk beds. Family room yet just one tumbler and one wine glass! Bathroom tiny with quite the smallest bath I have ever seen. Water pressure fabulous but complete lack of space to hang towels for 4 people.
Staff charming and helpful, providing an extra pillow and tea bags!
We did not eat in the hotel (Snack D’Ouchy next door was perfect for breakfast) so cannot comment on the food.

Date of stay: November 2019
1  Thank HelenR256
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
directionhotelaulac, Directeur général at Hotel Aulac, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2019

Dear guest

We thank you for having chosen our hotel for your last visit in Lausanne and for your comment.

We are happy you appreciated our helpful staff and the flexibility of our housekeeping service. Indeed, the family room is not very spacious and we thank you for your remarks which will help us to improove our services.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again and we assure you already our best care and attention.

Best regards

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2019

The hotel is on the waterfront and right near the train and bus stops. We took the train into the main station and then took the M1 all the way to the end to the hotel. It is literally around the corner from there. The hotel gave us complimentary bus passes for both days we were there (just one night). The hallways had a bit of a must smell that bothered me quite a lot but the room was fine. We had requested a waterfront room and we had a large balcony, unfortunately it rained most of the time but we still enjoyed the views of Lake Geneva. I really liked that there was a shutter you could lower for privacy and security that still let air into the room through the door. The room had USB plugs and a fan which was greatly appreciated.

Room tip: waterfront with a balcony
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank flsarahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
directionhotelaulac, Directeur général at Hotel Aulac, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2019

Dear guest

We thank you for having chosen our hotel for your last stay and for your nice comment.

We are happy you appreciated the room on lake side with the large balcony and the free using of public transportation.

We look into the matter of the smell and thank you for your remark.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again and we stay at your entire disposal for any information you may require.

Best regards

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019 via mobile

Hotel Aulac is super conventiently right by the lakeside final stop of the metro in Lausanne and also steps away from the Olympic district. The lakeview rooms, many with balconies, offer quite spectacular views. While the general condition of the hotel could use some upgrading, this is easily offset by a mostly great staff, reception and breakfast room staff in particular. Especially when staying longer on business, it is very nice to be greeted by friendly, familiar, smiley faces in the morning and in the evening. The breakfast is a really good spread with lots of options including homebaked cakes, super fresh breads, salmon, eggs and all your usual breakfast items. If in the area in the future, I’d be glad to return to the Hotel Aulac which also comes at a fair value for price, especially given the fact that it’s in Switzerland. Pictures were taken from room 209.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 344blankas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
directionhotelaulac, Directeur général at Hotel Aulac, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2019

Dear guest

We are happy we could count you among our clients and thank you for your constructive comment.

We are delighted you appreciated our friendly staff especially at reception and breakfast. We are happy you loved the offer of our breakfast buffet and the beautiful view of the lake side room.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again when you are back in Lausanne and we assure you already our best care and attention.

Best regards

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews