We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Brian Chalk
New York City, New York

Worst hotel experience I've ever had

Review of Hotel du Marche
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Sept 2022
I originally booked a room for three nights. My experience was so bad that I checked out after one night, knowing that I was lose my money for the remaining nights.

Problems were:
1). The horrible shared bathroom. I knew my room would have a shared bathroom, but I was not expecting the two bathrooms and one shower to be so small and shared with the entire floor of a dozen rooms. a dozen rooms, and it's so small it's nearly impossible to dress & undress in there. There are only two toilets on the hall - one on each end of the hallway. When I took a shower around 9am there were pubic hairs left all over the shower and mirror.
2) the directions from the train station to the hotel on the confirmation email were not only confusing, they were completely incorrect. The receptionist confirmed they were incorrect.
3) my room was facing the street. There is a major construction project going on across the street, which I was not told about. The noise started at 8am and went on nonstop until 4pm.

When I checked out, the receptionist couldn't have cared less about why I was checking out early.
Date of stay: September 2022
Room Tip: Do not stay on the floor with the shared bathrooms, and do not stay in a room facing the street.
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£97
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £114
  • Expedia.com
    £114
  • Hotels.com
    £114
0.7 miles from Hotel du Marche
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Exterior view
£104
  • ibis
    £115
  • Priceline
    £112
  • Expedia.com
    £115
0.2 miles from Hotel du Marche
Free Wifi
Room service
£128
  • Priceline
    £113
  • Agoda.com
    £98
  • Expedia.com
    £126
0.6 miles from Hotel du Marche
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£150
  • Expedia.com
    £150
  • Priceline
    £139
  • Hotels.com
    £150
0.6 miles from Hotel du Marche
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£141
  • Movenpick
    £141
  • travelup.com
    £127
  • Priceline
    £146
1.2 miles from Hotel du Marche
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Vista dalla camera
£124
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    £142
  • Hotels.com
    £142
  • Trip.com
    £142
0.5 miles from Hotel du Marche
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£109
  • Hotels.com
    £109
  • Agoda.com
    £87
  • Priceline
    £158
3.1 miles from Hotel du Marche
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
£89
  • ibis Budget
    £90
  • Agoda.com
    £75
  • Priceline
    £94
3.6 miles from Hotel du Marche
Free Wifi
£315
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £378
  • Vio.com
    £304
  • Expedia.com
    £334
1.0 miles from Hotel du Marche
Free Wifi
Pool
£336
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £271
  • Agoda.com
    £222
  • Hotels.com
    £271
1.2 miles from Hotel du Marche
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Lausanne
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
81
213
60
22
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
81
213
60
22
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private bathroom one way street central location reception internet walkable
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 401 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2022

My wife, two daughters and I spent three nights at the Hotel du Marche in August. Our two rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the hotel is well located. By accident, I doubled booked - that is, booked four rooms instead of two, and did not realize the mistake until arriving. The mistake was part mine and part the hotels. The hotel willingly cancelled the extra rooms and refunded my payments for those rooms.

Room tip: Know that some rooms have private baths and some share a bath at the end of the hall.
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2022

By mistake I have taken a room with a shared bathroom. To do? Adapt. They have a shower separate from the toilet, each space super small, that is, I can't imagine a fat person in those tiny spaces.

They allege that because it is a 2-star hotel, on the 4th day they clean your room. I can accept that, but in no way accept that they don't change the towels. The towels get wet and inside the closed room all the time they can't dry fast and well so they smell musty. We requested that our towels be changed for clean ones and we were unsuccessful.

The heating at night was not turned on strong enough to keep the room at a comfortable temperature.
I did not like this hotel at all.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Taniarashel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2022

This is a terrible place! Stuff is very rude and unwelcoming. These people shouldn’t be in the hotel business. We accidentally booked Friday night instead of Saturday night and when we called to fix the mistake they literally stole our money. It is less priced but even that price is not justified. Stay out of this hole!

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Ivies_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2020

This is one of the few hotels that does not show loyalty in relation to cancellation of non-refundable rates in difficult pandemic conditions, when a tourist has no opportunity to come to the hotel due to circumstances beyond his control (quarantine, border closed, flight canceled)

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 731elizavetaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catherine Künzler, Directeur général at Hotel du Marche, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2020
Google Translation

Bonjour - je suis navrée de votre déception - en effet, sous certaines conditions nous ne remboursons pas les montants payés.
Vous avez choisi de réserver notre hôtel à travers booking.com, nous avons donc appliqués les conditions d'annulation de booking.com. Vous avez également choisi un tarif non-remboursable, peut-être avez-vous une assurance annulation qui prendrait en charge ces frais ? Nous sommes tout à fait navré de cette situation.
Cordiales salutations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2019

We would like to thank the wonderful staffs for their excellent service. The guy in charge of the hotel at the day of our arrival allowed us to use their washer and dryer in the basement with a very reasonable fee, and helped us to operate the machines even after his shift was ended. At the day of our departure, breakfast was not supposed to be served until 8 am (it was a weekend), and it may be too late for us to catch the train at 8:25. We asked if they could allow us to have the breakfast 15 min earlier. They told us that they would try their best but would not guarantee that. We were pleasantly surprised that the young lady in charge of the breakfast on that day did have everything ready by 7:45 am, and the breakfast was really delicious.
In contrast to the excellent service, the condition of our room could be improved. We lived in a room with a private bathroom, and had to take showers in standing water as the water did not drain quickly enough in the shower unit. The entire room also was not adequately lighted in the evening.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelholicDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CKunzler-Gloor, Directeur général at Hotel du Marche, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2019
Google Translation

Merci pour votre commentaire, c'est toujours un plaisir de constater que vous avez été satisfait de notre service. En effet, il nous tient à cœur d’accéder aux désirs de nos clients.
Par contre pourriez-vous me dire dans quelle chambre vous logiez afin que nous puissions améliorer les équipements de cette chambre - vous pouvez me joindre s/ direction@hoteldumarche-lausanne.ch
D'avance merci
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews