We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Maribor, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good accomodation”
Reviewed 24 August 2008

I and my boyfriend were in Lausanne in February 2008. We decided to stay overnight in Lausanne guesthouse, also because good reviews on Tripadvisor.
Lausanne guesthouse stands on good location which is easy to find. It stands about 500 meters from Lausanne main train station. Also main city attractions are not far away. Before arriving we didn’t book a room, so we didn’t get the double room with sharing bathroom, as we wished. All that type rooms were full. Instead of that we took room with private bathroom, which was more expensive. The room was quite spacious and had wonderful view to Lake Geneva. It was simply furnished, mostly with Ikea furniture. Although the nearness of railway you can’t hear the noise in the room. A little bit unpleasant is fact that bathroom is located opposite to the room. Both, the bathroom and room were clean.
Lausanne guesthouse also has its own kitchen, which we didn’t use.
Staff was nice and prepared to help and get some good advice about the town. After we book a room we also got a free bus ticket.
All in all this is really good backpacker hotel which I recommended to all who want cheap and nice accommodation in Lausanne.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LilliMarleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    100
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
66
60
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

We booked this place based on review from Rick Steves who called this the "best hostel in switzerland" and I don't doubt that he is right.

For the price that we paid, the place was clean, comfortable and convenient. We were pleasantly pleased.

My husband and I were a bit wary when we saw the building from the outside but the inside is great.

We were looking for a comfortable and clean place to spend the night and that's exactly what we got.

If you are looking for a place for a great price to crash for a night or more, this place is perfect.

  • Liked — clean, comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — uphill climb to get there
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank muwa2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2008

This good value accomodation is basic but good. Dont bother paying extra for a private bathroom as you will still have to duck across the hallway to use it. Nice and close to the train station but not noisy. Great view fo the lake but could do with a curtain to block out the early morning sun. All in all a bargain in Switzerland.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — lack of curtains
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nessie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2007

For its price, it is definitely good. very cosy and nice, with basic amenities. Although it can be a bit noisy at night as the rooms are not sound proof, but overall, the service, cleanliness and location is good. However, there is no attached bathroom, so be prepared to run to your bathroom at night and back to your room again.
The hostel has a kitchen which can be used for cooking. It provide all the cooking utensils and storage spaces for all guests. We did cook for 2 nights there.
Overall, its a pleasant surprise, the best hostel we ever stayed.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tartarSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

The Guesthouse is very close to the railway station. A short-cut path (through the carpark) can lead you to the platform directly. As the rooms are not facing the railway tracks, the train noise is acceptable and we have not been disturbed at night (given my wife and I are very sensitive to noise). The room is very clean and basic. The bathroom (a private one, located opposite to the room) is exceptionally big and also clean. The view is good. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The kitchen is well-equipped, though it may be crowded at dinner time. The common area is also clean. We enjoy the comfortable stay at this guesthouse and its convenient location, and most importantly, its great value for money.

  • Liked — Convenice
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Chan_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2007

This isn't a five star hotel, it's a backpackers, but for the price in Switzerland, great value. Staff was very friendly, everything clean and well kept.

  • Liked — good value
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank monde6219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2007

Initially had some concerns with staying in backpacker type accommodation. However, we loved Lausanne Guesthouse. It was well placed in Lausanne, with easy access down to the lakeside at Ouchy, up to the town centre and located very near to the station. We had a double room on the 4th floor, which had a balcony with amazing views across Lake Geneva and the mountians behind. Our room was simply furnished and was very clean and comfortable. We had a private bathroom opposite with was spotless and spacious. Boths rooms were cleaned every day with new bedding and towels. There is a shared kitchen downstairs, which is well equipped with 2 large fridges for food storage. The kitchen opens onto a delightful garden area which was lovely on a sunny morning. We made use of both the internet and the laundry facilities. If all backpacker type accommodation is to the standard then I'm converted.

  • Liked — The location and view
  • Disliked — The bathroom being across the hall (unavoidable)
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Seabrook29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.5 mi away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#9 of 46 in Lausanne
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
#2 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker

Property: Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker
Address: chemin des Epinettes 4, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ambition is to satisfy a demanding clientele with high standards of service, cleanliness and professionalism, offering the best value for money, while insuring the viability and permanence of our business entreprise. At the same time, we try to promote a dynamic and economically attractive image of tourism in the Lausanne region as well as in the rest of Switzerland. Central location (close to the Lausanne Train station). Four-bedded dorms, double / single rooms, garden with BBQ, free kitchen use and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Guesthouse Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing