We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lausanne Guesthouse” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lausanne Guesthouse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Our stay here was alright. The room was clean, and there was wifi.
The guy told us the wifi was only available in the lobby but i guess we were lucky because the wifi reached the 2nd floor. The only thing I didn't like is that the guy in the reception was not that friendly. I like the lady when we checked out the next morning. Bathroom was clean however there was only one toilet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missririwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Marie E, Gérant at Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hello,

We thank you for your visit & comment ! We are sorry about the guy at the reception and hope this was only a "bad day"...however, this should not happen at all and we will work on it ....we are glad to hear that the lady on the next day was friendly and that you could use the wifi in your room : this is new :)

We wish you a nice week-end and remain with pleasure at your disposal,
Best regards from Lausanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    98
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
66
60
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We (6 persons) stayed there for one night as we were running the Lausanne 20th kms race.
Rooms are nice and functional .
Bathrooms are clean.
The view over the lake is awesome especially from the 5th floor.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank manta972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed in Lausanne for 3 nights in a 4 person dorm. It is located very close to the train station and there are signs directing you to the hostel so it is very easy to find. Check in is from 2pm however there is a luggage room (not secure) and free wifi in the lobby sitting area/kitchen if you need to wait. You also receive a free public transport card on arrival.

You are given fresh sheets to make your bed and if you need a towel it is only a few franc extra. The room itself is pretty standard with bunk beds. There are lockers designated to you on each floor to store your valuables. There is wifi on each floor, though we were on floor 3 and received better signal from the lobby and 4th floor wifi. On our mobile there was no wifi though on laptop it picked up a better signal.

The kitchen is well stock and makes cooking easy, there is a Coop nearby at the train station.

All in all for a hostel this is a fantastic place stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

This hostel is very close to the train station, but it has many other qualities. It has good common areas, including a large, well equiped and CLEAN kitchen. The bathrooms are also very very clean. Also, when you check in you are given a public transport ticket for you to use during your stay.This hostel was definately worth it's price.

Room Tip: Since the hostel is really close to the railways, there are probably rooms that are more noisy than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guiselapereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stayed at the Guesthouse from 9 to 22 Feb and I highly-recommend it. It beats the Novotels and the Ibises hands-down.

The standards were very high. I had a variety of rooms - from a dorm that was converted for one person, to a twin-bed room. They were all very clean, including the bathrooms (which were spacious, looked as if they had been newly-installed, tiled in white and had really good hot showers), so clean I could have eaten off the floor!

Very warm, comfortable mattresses, good crisp bedding. Nice use of essential oils in the hostel so it smelled welcoming.

Nice kitchen with good range of utensils. Two huge fridges with plenty of storage space. Kitchen tended to get busy at meal times (not surprising!). Having a kitchen meant I could save on eating out - very important because it's so expensive in Lausanne. Unfortunately, because it's a shared kitchen, some of the frying pans weren't properly cleaned by the other guests and I couldn't use the pans for cooking. I think they need to supply better pan scourers or cleaning materials.

Also, the walls of the rooms were a bit thin because it's an old building, so I had to tell the room next door to pipe down at midnight. Curtains were muslin, so did not block out light, so don't forget your eyemask!

But all in all, fantastic value, fantastic location near main supermarkets, the train station. Watch out for the steep hill though!

The receptionists all spoke good English, were very friendly and patient with me, and made me feel at home. Nice mix of guests, young and cosmopolitan, and didn't feel impersonal like a huge hotel would. Lovely garden, fantastic views from the 4th and 5th floors, of the mountains and the lake. I would gladly stay there again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the lifts so the noise from the lifts isn't so obvious. Best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rona995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Very nice and helpful staff! Room, bathroom and kitchen were all very clean. Nice atmosphere at the common room. good wifi. good location, just about 10 minutes walking distance from the train station. Most sockets in the dorm room are beside the door, not very convenient for charging. Other than that everything was great! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Popin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel, and chose it for its location as it is very conveniently located. It is near the train station so the commuting is easy. It is also very budget friendly in an otherwise expensive city.This was the perfect accommodation option. The guesthouse is very well maintained and the rooms are very clean. Ours was a nice sized room, well furnished. The room had all the basic amenities one would require. The staff was very warm and helpful.Overall I have no complains. I would recommend it to everyone. The pricing is great and our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joseph e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.5 mi away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#8 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
3.7 mi away
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
#2 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#22 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker

Property: Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker
Address: chemin des Epinettes 4, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ambition is to satisfy a demanding clientele with high standards of service, cleanliness and professionalism, offering the best value for money, while insuring the viability and permanence of our business entreprise. At the same time, we try to promote a dynamic and economically attractive image of tourism in the Lausanne region as well as in the rest of Switzerland. Central location (close to the Lausanne Train station). Four-bedded dorms, double / single rooms, garden with BBQ, free kitchen use and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Guesthouse Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing