We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in Lausanne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights in August, and really enjoyed it. The location is just a few minutes walk from the train station and tram stop, so it's easy to get there and around the city. We stayed in a double room with a shared bathroom. There wasn't any noise from the trains, but the walls between rooms were a bit thin. The room was a good size, clean, and had a great view. The shared bathroom was also updated and very clear. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: For a great view, ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NW_Traveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Super easy to access from Lausanne train station.
Room is super clean with Alps mountain and Geneva lake view, though the bed is not so comfortable.
Shared bathroom is only shared with another guest room. It is almost private. It is also spacious, well-maintained with wooden shelf for holding personal belongings during shower.
Everything is so perfect in my memory. We had several nice pictures in the backyard rose garden.
Common area is cosy and with free wifi. You even got printing service, though it is not free but not expensive either.
A nice over stay for exploring the lake area and the beautiful small towns including Vevey, montreux and Villeneuve, and the more than one thousand years old Château de Chillon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jenny194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Marie E, Gérant at Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hello,

Many thanks for your advice! We are very happy you have had a great stay, and we hope to see you again ...Anne-Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I went to Paléo Festival in Nyon and stayed overnight here. Perfect! Trains run all night from the Festival and this place is right next to the station.
The location and value also makes it a great place if you're stopping over in Lausanne.
Friendly reception, clean and comfortable rooms/dorms and amenities to top it all off.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank metze21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Marie E, Gérant at Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour et merci pour votre avis ! Nous sommes ravis de lire que vous avez passé un bon festival et que nos services vous ont bien convenus...nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous revoir pour l'édition 2015! A bientôt, meilleures salutations de Lausanne
Anne-Marie & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Considering Switzerland is an expensive place to stay, this place offers value. I stayed here in a 4 bed room. Luckily my room mates were quiet and mainly kept to themselves. The common bathrooms and showers were clean. The rooms were cleaned daily. In all, I'd definitely come back as it was a good experience. The place is quiet close to the station and a lot of food options. It did tend to get a bit noisy sometimes with a lot of traffic sounds. But i didn't really mind.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank AnupRajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Marie E, Gérant at Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hello,

Thanks for leaving this message on TripAdvisor! We hope you had a good time here in Lausanne and wish you a nice Summer !
Best regards
Anne-Marie & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It is overall ok. Contrary to some other reviewers, I felt really welcome from the beginning. The location is great as you are really next to the main train station. The only thing about the location is that the small path going to the hotel was really dark at night which does not really make you feel secure. The view from the room was fabulous but the room was really small and the bed was actually broken. For me, the real problem came from the noise, both from the next room (you can really hear everything happening in the neighbor room ) and particularly from the proximity with the trains (the bed was vibrating when the train was coming by)...

Room Tip: Do not forget your ear plugs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auroreborealle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The previous reviews about being clean, best value, near to the station has summarized everything. It's also walking distance to City Center although a bit hilly. You get a free transport ride, so it is very convenient for everybody.

Kitchen is ready, fully equipped and user friendly. Bathroom is also very clean and well maintained. Wifi is working well. No TV, but hey.. you're in Switzerland, Lausanne on a holiday, you should go out and enjoy.

Thank you Anne-Marie for being very friendly and helpful during my stay in Lausanne Guesthouse. I had a very good experience here. I am looking forward to staying back at the Lausanne Guesthouse should I be visiting Lausanne in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahara212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Marie E, Gérant at Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Hello, thanks so much for your kind message! We are very happy about it and hope to see you another time here in Lausanne....the Lausanne Guesthouse staff & myself wish you a nice and sunny Summer :)
Anne-Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Best value guesthouse.Very convenient ,just 5 minute-walk from train station.The kitchen is very good, full-equipped.The reception can guide a day trip at Lausanne and Montreux.You can find tourist maps there.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dusit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
3.7 mi away
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
#2 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#10 of 46 in Lausanne
1,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
515 reviews
3.5 mi away
ibis Lausanne Crissier
ibis Lausanne Crissier
#1 of 2 in Crissier
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker

Address: chemin des Epinettes 4, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: £32 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ambition is to satisfy a demanding clientele with high standards of service, cleanliness and professionalism, offering the best value for money, while insuring the viability and permanence of our business entreprise. At the same time, we try to promote a dynamic and economically attractive image of tourism in the Lausanne region as well as in the rest of Switzerland. Central location (close to the Lausanne Train station). Four-bedded dorms, double / single rooms, garden with BBQ, free kitchen use and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Guesthouse Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing