We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Port

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Port
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel at the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We got a room facing the lake...great view. The hotel is very convenient. 2 min walk from the Ouchy train station. We took a train from Geneva to Lausanne, and from main station to Ouchy took a max of 10 min. Excellent breakfast with many different selections, and the room is clean and reasonable. Very good value for Switzerland. 10 min walk to the Olympics museum, and 3 min walk to the boat dock where you can take to get to Montreux and surrounding towns. If you are a avid walker who wants to fully enjoy the lake with the mountains in the back or a runner, this hotel provides the location for that.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    83
    29
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
70
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed for 1 night in order to be relatively close (by train) to Geneva airport for early flight.
Friendly efficient staff, excellant breakfast and clean, comfortable room in hotel both close to metro station Ouchy (200 metres) that connects directly with main line station and lakeside prom (100 metres), together with numerous restaurants.

Room Tip: Possibly not worth staying in lakeside room for extra cost, due to relatively small windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevorg1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Main attraction here is the location, raise the lake and beside the tram. Try to get a lake view, it make all the difference.
Rooms are average.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigtripper322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
96 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We found this hotel to be a good value for Switzerland. There are much more expensive 4 and 5 star hotels that share the same location and similar views. This hotel is on the lake and very close to a metro station which is very convenient to get to the train station and to central Lausanne. We were given a free city transport card for the length of our stay and found this to be very useful. We booked a double room with lake view. The room was very large for a European hotel room and included a nice desk area and small table by the window. The room charge included a nice buffet breakfast. We really appreciated the free wifi which worked very well in the room and we were able to access it in the restaurant as well. There was just one password for all of our devices, so it was easy to use. We had a nice view of the lake from our room. It is a very good find for the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swissmiss001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
206 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel is located directly across from the Chateau d'Ouchy, right 'on' the lake in this excellent part of Lausanne. Given the prices and often limited availability of the 'higher-end' properties in this area I would recommend this hotel as a 'more economical' option. But be advised that, in this area, prices are so high that 'economical' is 150-200 CHF per night including a nice buffet breakfast and free wifi. But the rooms and hotel are relatively 'basic' - what you'd expect from a 3-star, but nothing more. Bed comfort and noise were not a problem, and we were on 3rd floor facing the main street (w lake view). Bottom line: for a quick night or two stay in a great location, it's a good spot. If you want something more 'romantic' or special spring for Chateau d'Ouchy or one of the other 4/5 stars nearby - just book them well in advance and expect to pay close to 300 CHF++ per night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAB430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Our room was lovely, clean, comfortable, and quiet. Breakfast was good. Location excellent. Service was helpful and friendly. Wi-fi was free and strong. Nice view out over the lake.

Our one caveat is that we arrived by car. You have to pull up on the sidewalk and quickly unload your bags. There were 3 of us, so I could leave the others while I went and parked. Parking is bit far and in a big, confusing underground garage. But this was our only complaint.

Room Tip: The higher the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eclipsoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

At 200 CHF for a double room Hotel du Port seems cheap by Swiss standards, however behind the 3 star rating is a well run, small hotel with great attention to detail and great location opposite the lake at Ouchy. The welcome was warm and efficient, the room was very clean and well appointed (although the bathroom was slightly dated) with a good view over the lake. Continental breakfast is included in the price. A free travel pass issued by the hotel allows easy access to the centre of Laussane (up the hill) via the metro station 5 mins walk away. Although there's no parking at the hotel a smart, manned, underground car park is 5-10mins away, costing 18 CHF per day.
We had an enjoyable overnight stay here and would recommend Hotel du Port to friends and family without doubt.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycamper007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aulac
Hotel Aulac
#24 of 46 in Lausanne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
#7 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carlton Lausanne Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Port

Property: Hotel du Port
Address: place du Port 5, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Port 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming small family-run hotel, ideally situated on the waterfront of Lake Léman and 7 minutes from Lausanne center. Its warm and modern 22 rooms will enhance your stay with us. The Nicolier family, who have been running the hotel for 3 generations would be delighted to welcome you ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel du Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing