We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel Lausanne Bussigny(Bussigny-pres-Lausanne)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind(Lausanne)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel du Marche(Lausanne)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Chateau d'Ouchy(Lausanne)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny(Bussigny-pres-Lausanne)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lausanne Palace(Lausanne)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$350
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
64
94
35
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
94
35
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake viewfamily run hotelgreat locationchateau de chillonboat dockrecommend this hotelhotel restaurantsmall hoteltrain stationtransportation passfrench alpsdecent sizespent two nightsarriving by trainparking garageeach morningvisit lausanne
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We asked for, and got, a room with lake view (for a surcharge), which was certainly pleasant and we actually spent a bit of time gazing out the window. The ferries across the lake leave from this point and it's a 5-10 minute walk to reach them. The area is sort of holiday-ish but the metro into town (free for tourists) is 2 minutes away so you are as good as in downtown Lausanne (downtown is perhaps not the right word as it's quite a steep climb up the hill). Luggage loading from a car means you have to park on the footpath. The car park (not part of the hotel) was kind of expensive. Desk staff in hotel was a bit offhanded but always answered our queries.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baudolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

The Nicolier family made our stay at this gem of a B&B that much more enjoyable. For Switzerland, the hotel is a good value. It is on the lovely Ouchy waterfront and an easy walk to Lausanne proper. Or, the Nicoliers give each guest a free travel pass for your stay, which includes the very easy to use Lausanne metro and bus. The little cafes outside the B&B are good for taking in the waterfront activity and also better escaping the cigarette smoke (indoor partitioning of smoking vs non-smoking in restaurants in Switzerland is usually ineffective, in my experience). A nice thing to do is to take a cruise around the lake, which either goes to Evian (France) or to the Chateau Crillon, stopping briefly at the towns along the way, with fantastic mountain views and fresh air. Lausanne itself (~40 mins by train from Geneva airport) is also lovely, with what seemed to be a surprisingly high level of ethnic diversity, making it a bit more comopolitan than we expected. The Hotel du Port's rooms were (thankfully!) non-smoking, very spacious and clean, and quiet, well lit, and efficient in terms of water and energy usage, without being uncomfortable to the guest, which we appreciated on both counts. A plus was the free and very zippy wifi. It's worth paying a bit more for rooms with views of the lake. The Nicoliers also are warm/personable (perhaps a different experience from what a foreigner would have in the German parts of the country) and go out of their way to accommodate guests. Overall, a fantastic experience for a weekend break to the lake.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ostramundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2008

This is a charming hotel that I, my daughter & 5 year old granddaughter loved! It is on the street in Ouchy that goes right along the lake and is directly across from many of the ferries & boats. The metro station is about a half a block from the hotel( a level walk for those with a suitcase) & is frequent and only about a 10 minute ride up the hill to Lausanne. One of the stations in town is directly across from the train station.

We had a double room with an extra bed, and while not spacious, it was more than adequate. It was very clean & comfortable.

Loren at the front desk was extremely helpful. He looked up train schedules for us & told us how to get to the Chateau de Chillon, and how to catch the ferry to Evian, France. There was a computer with internet access that guests could use at no charge.

The Hotel restaurant had a nice breakfast spead of meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, yogurt, juice which was included in the room rate. The restaurant was nicely located with an outdoor strretside cafe as well. We had dinner there one night-it was good, but a little pricey.

We would stay there again in a heartbeat! The rates were reasonable for the location & Switzerland in general & the location was great. Also, several nice children's playgrounds in easy walking proximity.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kaiolohiakids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2008

Overall I really enjoyed my stay at the Hotel du Port. Lausanne is in a great spot on Lake Geneva and it's just a quick train ride to get to Geneva. The room was very clean and modern looking. The bed was very comfy and hard to get out of in the morning. Breakfast was really good with quite a few items to pick from in the buffet. If you have a car then you'll need to park in the garage which is a couple of blocks away but there are no hills between it and the hotel. The staff spoke perfect English and were very helpful with advice and directions. Ask about the Lausanne card when you check in which will allow you to ride the bus system for free among other things. The only knock I have against this hotel is that it's on a fairly busy street and you will hear the traffic starting pretty early in the morning. If you're a very light sleeper then you may want to look elsewhere. I'm not sure if having a room without a view would be more quiet but it's worth calling them to ask. It's a bit on the spendy side but then again, what isn't in Switzerland. I would probably stay there again if I were to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roobieroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

The Hotel du Port is located on the shore of Lake Geneva, near the base of the shuttle railway leading up into the center of Lausanne (10 minute trip). A pass for the train is provided free by the hotel at check-in, making it convenient for city business even though it is located outside the core. The hotel has a family-run feel, warm and inviting, and the staff is helpful and friendly. Parking is located a block away in a municipal garage, it is well-lit and attended. The neighborhood is lovely, shops and restaurants, with paths along the marina across the street.

Check-in and check-out was quick and efficient, and there is a small elevator to the upper floors. There are a few internal steps in the hallways, so disabled guests should ask for a room enar the elevator. The room was cozy with a wonderful view over the lake, with a generous bed, small television, minibar and small desk. There is free wireless internet, electrical plugs are a bit scarce. The bathroom has a stall shower and good water pressure.

There is a buffet breakfast served each morning with a good selection of meats, cheeses, cereals, breads, and juice / coffee. There are drinks and snacks served in the bar in the evening.

I This is a wonderful small hotel in a great location. The staff is friendly and it is a good base for exploring the city and the region.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews