We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ParagliderBasel
Penang Island, Malaysia

Comfy and great views

Review of Hotel du Port
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Apr 2021
My wife and I were visiting Lausanne for two nights and decided to stay at Hotel Du Port based primarily on its superb location by the lake. We booked the junior suite. We had been in touch with Laurent prior to arrival to make sure about the availability of breakfast and food, and he was very transparent about the fact that because of the Covid situation he had shut the restaurant. Real pity as having a meal with those gorgeous views would have been great.
The check-in was easy and we had a detailed conversation with Laurent about the situation with the current restrictions and how it was affecting his operations as well as other family run establishments like his. The suite was very spacious and clean and had everything we needed. The hotel was pretty quite and desolate though during our stay as there were only two other rooms occupied at that point.
It is an old building and it shows. But that also gives it character. The winner hands down has to be the gorgeous views right out of your window. Being on the lake front it is also close to everything in town, including easy access to the metro line. We had a lovely stay and hopefully things will be cheery again at the hotel.
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £334
  • Booking.com
0.3 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £230
  • Preferred Hotels
0.0 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Movenpick
    £141
  • Hotels.com
0.2 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £104
  • Booking.com
0.6 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £395
  • Hotels.com
0.9 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ibis
    £124
  • Hotels.com
1.2 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £125
  • Booking.com
3.0 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £121
  • Hotels.com
1.6 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £102
  • Priceline
3.9 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £84
  • Hotels.com
4.2 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Lausanne
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
83
109
41
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
83
109
41
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews olympic museum lake geneva great location tea bags every morning room facing the lake stayed here for nights metro station switzerland ferries evian kettle proximity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2021 via mobile

The lake view here is just stunning - straight out onto the lake and mountains beyond. Laurent was a great host, very accommodating despite the covid restrictions, and I look forward to coming back to the hotel!

Date of stay: April 2021
Thank pjn31
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2019

One of the smaller hotels on the lake front in Ouchy on Lake Léman. The hotel is a typical Swiss family run hotel - do not expect luxury. However, for the price it is good value for money. Room was of a good size, even if the fixture and fittings were a bit dated. The Lausanne Métro station is only a few minutes’ walk from the hotel.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 July 2019

We stayed at this hotel for one night at the end of June. The hotel is located on the main street in the ‘Ouchy’ area, across the street from a beautiful lake. This is an older, family-run hotel and restaurant that's in good condition.
You can add the breakfast buffet at their restaurant for $15/person with the typical European breakfast options.
Pros – Location. I preferred this area to the Lausanne old town area. For touring, it’s easy to get up to the Old Town area via the metro that’s very close (with a free pass you can get from the hotel) and the hotel is within walking distance of the Olympic Museum.
Size - this was the one hotel we stayed at in Europe that was a traditional US sized hotel room.
Cons – The biggest con is that there is no air conditioning in the rooms. There was a room fan that helped and with the windows open, it was manageable – even at the end of June.
They have no parking so you have to park a few blocks away in a public parking garage. You can get a discounted rate of $15 per night if you get a voucher from the hotel. I knew we’d need to pay for parking but it was disappointing that there was no way to pull up and drop off the luggage before parking the car.

I enjoy the smaller towns over bigger cities and really enjoyed the Lausanne area. It has an historic area, a beautiful waterfront, and is close to some great tourist sites (Olympic Museum, Chillon Castle). There is supposed to be wonderful hiking between vineyards and villages near the lake (TERRACES OF UNESCO LAVAUX). Unfortunately, the weather was too hot and we were short on time so didn’t have an opportunity to try those hikes.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2019

We had planned a trip to Evians Les Bain, so arrived late morning. Early check in was accepted no problem. Unfortunately weather very poor so abandoned the idea, instead wandered around Lausanne.

Hotel gives free travel pass for are so useful for nearby metro up into old town. This hotel has quality decor inc fixtures dating from the 70's, so not modern. But as with most Swiss hotels, spotlessly clean.

We had a 'suite' overlooking the lake. We wanted to swop things around, the sitting are was away from the windows, the bed near it.

There was a kettle in the room, useful, but replacement consumables at a charge. A bit mean we thought...but then, most hotels dont provide anything, so perhaps a little unfair.

We had stayed the previous night in Montreux at the lakeside Rene Capt hotel. The price was about the same, but the quality of the room, breakfast was definitely better value there.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Waterlooman2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2019 via mobile

Nice views over the lake from this small comfortable hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Very clean and good sized rooms. Would have been an excellent except for two things. Every time you enter the hotel it smells of smoke because of people smoking outside the entrance - very unpleasant and not a good advert. Second thing was difficulty in adjusting room temperature. Could not find any controls. Shame about the two smalk issues. Otherwise very nice.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MurrayP550
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews