We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£157
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Vio.com
£156
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Agoda.com
£156
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
KevinH312
Cardiff, United Kingdom

Good value, great location.

Review of Hotel du Port
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Feb 2023
Stayed here for 3 nights after my visit to Zermatt. I arrived by train and got the metro from the station to Ouchy then less than 5 minutes' walk to the hotel. Proximity to the metro is a huge advantage. The du Port is in a great location across the road from Lake Geneva, and very close to the departure points for the ferries if you fancy a trip on the lake. I went across to Evian though it was very quiet there in the middle of winter. The Olympic Museum is just a short walk along the lake. I expect Switzerland to be expensive, but I balked at paying 13CHF for a coffee in the museum! Nearby are a enough bars and restaurants to save you going up to the city centre every evening.

As is normal in Switzerland the hotel gave me a free public transport pass, essential for going up the steep hills of Lausanne, but it was a very pleasant walk downhill from the centre of the city through what appeared to be a fairly affluent area.

I was pleased with the hotel. It looked like it had been refurbished not too long ago and my room fittings were good quality, although I thought there was a lack of charging outlets in the room. The staff were very pleasant, especially the cleaning ladies. I thought it was a good value hotel with a nice atmosphere and would certainly stay here again if I came back to Lausanne..
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£129
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £111
  • Agoda.com
    £109
  • Expedia.com
    £129
0.6 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Double Economy
Booking.com
£149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £142
  • Agoda.com
    £108
  • Expedia.com
    £123
0.7 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Room service
Outside Wine&Lounge Bar
Booking.com
£152
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £120
  • Agoda.com
    £105
  • Hotels.com
    £117
0.4 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Room service
Exterior view
Booking.com
£102
  • ibis
    £112
  • Priceline
    £110
  • Expedia.com
    £112
1.2 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
£150
  • Expedia.com
    £150
  • Agoda.com
    £121
  • Hotels.com
    £150
3.0 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£143
  • Expedia.com
    £134
  • Agoda.com
    £111
  • Priceline
    £113
1.6 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Triple Room with bathroom at the Hotel du Marche
Booking.com
£87
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £92
  • Expedia.com
    £92
  • Agoda.com
    £87
1.2 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£329
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £265
  • Agoda.com
    £222
  • Expedia.com
    £266
0.0 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£322
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £321
  • eDreams
    £322
  • StayForLong
0.8 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £300
  • Vio.com
    £239
  • Priceline
    £270
0.3 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Lausanne
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
83
109
41
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
83
109
41
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews olympic museum lake geneva great location tea bags every morning room facing the lake stayed here for nights metro station switzerland ferries evian kettle proximity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2022 via mobile

Great hotel overlooking the beautiful Geneva lake. We had a room facing the lake and it's amazing to open the curtains to this view every morning. Comfortable bed. The room was extremely clean and serviced every day. Very impressed by the housekeeping staff. They were efficient and polite. The only thing missing is a kettle. Coming from the UK where kettles/tea bags are provided in absolutely every hotel, it felt weird that there wasn't one available for guests.

Room tip: No kettle provided. Very close to the excellent Lausanne metro (and free travel on the metro for guests)
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank NMartGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 April 2021

My wife and I were visiting Lausanne for two nights and decided to stay at Hotel Du Port based primarily on its superb location by the lake. We booked the junior suite. We had been in touch with Laurent prior to arrival to make sure about the availability of breakfast and food, and he was very transparent about the fact that because of the Covid situation he had shut the restaurant. Real pity as having a meal with those gorgeous views would have been great.
The check-in was easy and we had a detailed conversation with Laurent about the situation with the current restrictions and how it was affecting his operations as well as other family run establishments like his. The suite was very spacious and clean and had everything we needed. The hotel was pretty quite and desolate though during our stay as there were only two other rooms occupied at that point.
It is an old building and it shows. But that also gives it character. The winner hands down has to be the gorgeous views right out of your window. Being on the lake front it is also close to everything in town, including easy access to the metro line. We had a lovely stay and hopefully things will be cheery again at the hotel.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank ParagliderBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2021 via mobile

The lake view here is just stunning - straight out onto the lake and mountains beyond. Laurent was a great host, very accommodating despite the covid restrictions, and I look forward to coming back to the hotel!

Date of stay: April 2021
Thank pjn31
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2019

One of the smaller hotels on the lake front in Ouchy on Lake Léman. The hotel is a typical Swiss family run hotel - do not expect luxury. However, for the price it is good value for money. Room was of a good size, even if the fixture and fittings were a bit dated. The Lausanne Métro station is only a few minutes’ walk from the hotel.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 July 2019

We stayed at this hotel for one night at the end of June. The hotel is located on the main street in the ‘Ouchy’ area, across the street from a beautiful lake. This is an older, family-run hotel and restaurant that's in good condition.
You can add the breakfast buffet at their restaurant for $15/person with the typical European breakfast options.
Pros – Location. I preferred this area to the Lausanne old town area. For touring, it’s easy to get up to the Old Town area via the metro that’s very close (with a free pass you can get from the hotel) and the hotel is within walking distance of the Olympic Museum.
Size - this was the one hotel we stayed at in Europe that was a traditional US sized hotel room.
Cons – The biggest con is that there is no air conditioning in the rooms. There was a room fan that helped and with the windows open, it was manageable – even at the end of June.
They have no parking so you have to park a few blocks away in a public parking garage. You can get a discounted rate of $15 per night if you get a voucher from the hotel. I knew we’d need to pay for parking but it was disappointing that there was no way to pull up and drop off the luggage before parking the car.

I enjoy the smaller towns over bigger cities and really enjoyed the Lausanne area. It has an historic area, a beautiful waterfront, and is close to some great tourist sites (Olympic Museum, Chillon Castle). There is supposed to be wonderful hiking between vineyards and villages near the lake (TERRACES OF UNESCO LAVAUX). Unfortunately, the weather was too hot and we were short on time so didn’t have an opportunity to try those hikes.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews