We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Colin
Solihull, United Kingdom

Great Location

Review of Hotel du Port
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Oct 2023
Stayed here whilst on business and the location is fantastic, this is not a major hotel chain so I didn't expect the usual facilities, like gym etc, but the room was clean and breakfast was good.

I would stay again.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£141
  • Movenpick
    £141
  • travelup.com
    £127
  • Expedia.com
    £140
0.2 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£114
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £114
  • travelup.com
    £98
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
£150
  • Hotels.com
    £150
  • Expedia.com
    £150
  • Tripadvisor
    £150
0.8 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
£105
  • ibis
    £115
  • Hotels.com
    £115
  • Expedia.com
    £115
1.2 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Room service
£154
  • Hotels.com
    £154
  • Agoda.com
    £124
  • Expedia.com
    £154
3.0 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£129
  • Expedia.com
    £125
  • Agoda.com
    £97
  • Hotels.com
    £109
1.6 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£109
  • Hotels.com
    £109
  • StayForLong
    £88
  • B&B Hotels
    £105
3.9 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
£90
  • ibis Budget
    £90
  • Agoda.com
    £77
  • Expedia.com
    £90
4.2 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
£334
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £320
  • Booking.com
    £379
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Pool
£337
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £271
  • Expedia.com
    £271
  • Trip.com
0.0 miles from Hotel du Port
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Lausanne
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
83
109
41
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
83
109
41
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews olympic museum lake geneva great location tea bags every morning room facing the lake stayed here for nights metro station switzerland ferries evian kettle proximity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2023 via mobile

We arrived and greeted by a very friendly receptionist and checked us in. Rooms were very clean and inviting.
When we arrived back later that evening we stopping for a night cap in the hotel restaurant, the staff were obviously wanting to Finnish and ignored us for some time it was around 22:30 we finally made him aware of our presence and were served.
The next challenge was to pay the bill and eventually went up to the bar and paid.
Next morning we were sat outside the hotel ( not the restaurant ) and were ask to move by restaurant staff very rudely, we explained we were residents and had to insist that he allowed us to remain.
So basically the hotel was fabulous let down badly by the more senior restaurant waiter.
Needless to say our return will not be in the near future.
We did let the nice guy on reception of our experience and he apologised.

Room tip: Avoid the restaurant
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 June 2023

Our overall impression of this hotel is that it was like stepping beck in time, ie outdated. No air conditioning, no fridge, room very warm but, there was a fan. Very difficult to charge devices as plug sockets almost inaccessible; luckily we found one that worked but, had to get down on hands & knees under the bedside table! Had already stayed in 3 hotels in Switzerland & all offered free tea/coffee in the room or breakfast room, this one didn’t. I collected tea for us from the breakfast room before catching our early train and was charged Sf 8.20. Very disappointing!

Room tip: The White Horse pub in adjacent road offering good quality and value food and drinks. Has Happy Hour every day between 6 and 7pm.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank D4283VOjamieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2023

Stayed here for 3 nights after my visit to Zermatt. I arrived by train and got the metro from the station to Ouchy then less than 5 minutes' walk to the hotel. Proximity to the metro is a huge advantage. The du Port is in a great location across the road from Lake Geneva, and very close to the departure points for the ferries if you fancy a trip on the lake. I went across to Evian though it was very quiet there in the middle of winter. The Olympic Museum is just a short walk along the lake. I expect Switzerland to be expensive, but I balked at paying 13CHF for a coffee in the museum! Nearby are a enough bars and restaurants to save you going up to the city centre every evening.

As is normal in Switzerland the hotel gave me a free public transport pass, essential for going up the steep hills of Lausanne, but it was a very pleasant walk downhill from the centre of the city through what appeared to be a fairly affluent area.

I was pleased with the hotel. It looked like it had been refurbished not too long ago and my room fittings were good quality, although I thought there was a lack of charging outlets in the room. The staff were very pleasant, especially the cleaning ladies. I thought it was a good value hotel with a nice atmosphere and would certainly stay here again if I came back to Lausanne..

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank KevinH312
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2022 via mobile

Great hotel overlooking the beautiful Geneva lake. We had a room facing the lake and it's amazing to open the curtains to this view every morning. Comfortable bed. The room was extremely clean and serviced every day. Very impressed by the housekeeping staff. They were efficient and polite. The only thing missing is a kettle. Coming from the UK where kettles/tea bags are provided in absolutely every hotel, it felt weird that there wasn't one available for guests.

Room tip: No kettle provided. Very close to the excellent Lausanne metro (and free travel on the metro for guests)
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank NMartGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 April 2021

My wife and I were visiting Lausanne for two nights and decided to stay at Hotel Du Port based primarily on its superb location by the lake. We booked the junior suite. We had been in touch with Laurent prior to arrival to make sure about the availability of breakfast and food, and he was very transparent about the fact that because of the Covid situation he had shut the restaurant. Real pity as having a meal with those gorgeous views would have been great.
The check-in was easy and we had a detailed conversation with Laurent about the situation with the current restrictions and how it was affecting his operations as well as other family run establishments like his. The suite was very spacious and clean and had everything we needed. The hotel was pretty quite and desolate though during our stay as there were only two other rooms occupied at that point.
It is an old building and it shows. But that also gives it character. The winner hands down has to be the gorgeous views right out of your window. Being on the lake front it is also close to everything in town, including easy access to the metro line. We had a lovely stay and hopefully things will be cheery again at the hotel.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank ParagliderBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews