We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lausanne stay”
Review of Hotel du Boulevard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Boulevard
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Lausanne
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I'm use to staying in hotels and having human contact face to face. Here in this hotel we were outside in the rain ringing a doorbell for quiet a long time before someone answered on an inter com. Only to be asked our names and we were let in.

Inside is just an entrance foyer and stairs. We were told by the person who spoke on the intercom to wait in the reception but there is none. Only mail boxes and 2 phones. When the phone rings we were to answer and that is an off site reception. But you can't tell which phone is ringing. I see other guests who just arrived and they also answered the wrong phone. It was almost comical. No human touch. A little too much impersonal for me.

Each time we arrive to our room, it is cleaned but we never saw any hotel staff

In the morning there is a bread basket of croissants and that is the complimentary breakfast. But you have to be alert to see these because it is a bit obscured on the right side of the exit door and quickly disappeared. Of the 3 days we only saw croissants on our last day of stay because we left early.

The kitchen-like closet to me is ingenious! The bed should be thrown away and replaced. Same goes with the carpet. No air conditioner so we were lucky it was cool nights. The brochure sure was different from the real thing.

It was very difficult to locate this hotel and no parking for guests. If you arrived with a car after 6 pm the existing parking is gone and we ended up 4 blocks away from the hotel because there are also the locals who need to park. I didn't really enjoy this stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chickobabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

location is awesome and very close to the main train statation, it takes 5 minutes to go to the hotel from station by walk. Tiny and very clean room but a little bit noisy because of the flush :) You can hear who complete their job in the rest room :) because of the water pipe :)
But whatever happens it highly recommend this hotel. By the way it's good experience that there is no reception exists, you are communicate a guy via telephone, it is like in the movies (etc.The Game)

Room Tip: don't choose number 104 if you don't want to hear anything happens in the rest room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank musicinema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This hotel was hard to find, had no secure storage, rude staff who were not on site. The rooms was small and pokey - the bathroom door didn't shut. There was a water pipe in the room so you could hear when the people in the room above flushed their toilet.

Breakfast wasn't inlcuded but it was mentioned on the receipt.

Completely over priced and close to many other hotels

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bristol9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This place was hard to find with our GPS and we wandered for a while before asking some locals for help. The hotel has a telephone check-in process, which actually worked better than I thought it would - after hearing about it from other reviewers. The room was big, two rooms really, with an adequate bathroom, very clean, and overlooking a pleasant street with several cafes nearby. Loved the neighborhood and is close to the Lausanne gare (train station). Parking at or near the hotel, however, is almost impossible. I understand there is decent parking near the gare, 2-3 blocks away. I would definitely consider staying here again because it was clean and comfortable. And I would probably park at the gare next time too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed here with my daughter for four days. Good location close the the train station. The wifi was a bit spotty, but it did work.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

My partner & I spent 4 nights in the Hotel du Boulevard, it's in a great spot, close to the tube & railway stations. The "virtual" registration that takes place on the doorstep is fraught with issues, standing in the rain being told by the lady (however nice she was) she couldn't find your booking & then for her to forget you're stood there waiting in the rain wasn't an auspiscious start to our stay. Once we made it to the room, the beds were comfortable, the breakfast served in the patisserie across the road was great & typically swiss, We have little else positive to say. The carpet was mingin and the bathroom, although clean was dingey. The kitchenette was laughable & I wouldn't recommend preparing any food there. Inspite of it being a no smoking room, there was loose tabacco in the bedside cabinet. The WiFi wasn't working all the time we were there, reception told us they were waiting for a "part" but talking to other guests, this doesn't appear to be a new problem. We had come from Zurich & stayed in a vastly superior hotel for the same price, so this amplified our disappointment with the hotel.
This hotel is fine if you want to be close to public transport otherwise but there are other hotels around the station area that represent better value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
1  Thank bugle_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Recomended thru Travel agents but booked direct after finding little else availble.
Hotel is close to station and the travel network of Lausanne is great, which made this an ideal hotel to use as a base - and that's all you'd want it for.
No reception, which was strange and meant couldn't ask advice about area. Hotel is dated and on corner of quite a busy road, so can get noisy. Rooms old and in need of refurb, and you worry when sign on wall reminds you of the age of the hotel, so be patient waiting for hot water.
Several times thought it was pouring with rain, but merely next doors shower pounding on your wall.
In short - would not go back, not what I expected of Swiss hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mutt1ey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel AlaGare
Hotel AlaGare
#26 of 45 in Lausanne
236 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#12 of 45 in Lausanne
345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
#24 of 45 in Lausanne
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 45 in Lausanne
523 reviews
3.5 mi away
ibis Lausanne Crissier
ibis Lausanne Crissier
#1 of 2 in Crissier
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Boulevard

Address: boulevard de Grancy 51, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range: £77 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Boulevard 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right next to Lausanne main train station, Hotel du Boulevard is a charming 19th century building, typical of classic Lausanne architecture. Renovated in 2014, the hotel is linked to Hotel AlaGare (400 m away), where you can enjoy a copious buffet breakfast in a remarkable room inspired by the style of the Orient Express. Particularly adapted to mid- to long-term stays (suites with kitchenettes), the hotel reception desk is managed remotely 24/7 and a concierge service is proposed to clients who book their room at least 2 days before arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Boulevard Hotel
Du Boulevard Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing