We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fondue anyone?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Vieil Ouchy

Le Vieil Ouchy
Reserve with
Le Vieil Ouchy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 672 Restaurants in Lausanne
Cuisines: French, Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fondue anyone?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We went for the experience of sharing fondue and were not disappointed. Service was fine, attentive certainly. Nice little place, very cozy, prices for area were okay (24 ch I believe per person). Wine selection was decent. One glitch: they had a small, handwritten note saying the credit card machine was down. Did not know this until I got the bill! The waiter pointed me to an ATM across the street. Colleagues with me thought this was a scam, but who knows. Fondue is fun - the quality was decent and I would go again with a group of people.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    84
    37
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA USA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Wonderful Fondue!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I was traveling on business and had one night to dine alone. I have passed this cafe many times but finally decided to give it a try. It was wonderful! I was there a bit early so it wasn't busy. The staff was charming--despite the fact that my French is almost non-existent and their English just a bit better than my French. The fondue was perfect. I felt relaxed--not conspicuous--as a solo diner.

I will definitely go back on my next trip to Lausanne!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank twocoasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
290 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Fondue decevante”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Went with customer for lunch and frankly the fondue just wasnt up to the charm of the locale.

Was very disappointed and with all the other options in Lausanne, will try the rest before I come back here....better yet, I'll stick to having my fondues up towards Chatel ;-)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeDude13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Rosti Goodness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

I must be a man of simple tastes. Away from home on business and on my own I am not up to the full fine dining experience and look for something simple and satisfying. I found it here. The simple salad was fresh and crispy with a good piquant dressing. The rosti the way it never is when I cook it - crispy on the top and edges and soft an unctuous in the middle. The sausage meaty and tasty. The beer ice cold and flavoursome. The espresso excellent. The service was friendly and efficient and the overall atmosphere warm and wafting with gruyèreness. Yes, it was a bit expensive but what do you expect in Switzerland. I would certainly go back for more ... now what am I doing tomorrow.

Helpful?
2 Thank Chiddiprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chernex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very Swiss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

traditional swiss food, I go quite often to this place, especially when it's cold outside, I like the ambiance

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Gufette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Vieil Ouchy also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Le Vieil Ouchy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing