We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tralala Hotel Montreux
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean Place to stay”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were recommended this hotel, was ok.
Funky reception, staff were friendly when we arrived.
Parking was certainly an issue but lucky for us we had a motorbike and there was one spot left for us to squeeze into.
Rooms were quite small as was the bathroom.
Wardrobe was a rod hanging from ceiling which was only just hanging from ceiling and very lose in our room and had a curtain that you pulled across to block seeing anything which was also the window curtain.
Was a bit of a walk to get down to the lake, shops and cafes etc but a nice walk.
Heard most cars drive by throughout the night but maybe because I didnt sleep very well, bed was ok but didnt like the pillows.
Free wifi
Breakfast was not included in room price.
We asked for some water, but it cost us.
Overall was ok not the worst place to stay in thats for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazza996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tralalahotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tralala Hotel Montreux, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for giving us your opinion. It is always good for us to know what you think about our establishment, as much as the positive points as the negative ones.

We are sorry that you did not sleep that well. If you come again, we will give you an extra pillow so that you can sleep better.

We will improve our weaknesses to satisfy as much as possible our guests.

We sincerely hope to welcome you anytime soon at the Tralala Hotel.

Best regards,

Clara Biro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    210
    72
    20
    8
See reviews for
58
208
40
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Hotel is clean and located in the center of the old town. When we arrived, we were told the parking was full and we should find our own parking. That was more difficult than parking in Manhattan. We found a spot quiet a distance from the hotel and down the hill. Getting the suitcases to the car was an experience (when checking out the next day). Front desk closes at 11. Lobby looks funky and abandoned. Not a place where I would want to hang. Although there are couple of restaurants close by, there was nowhere to eat at 10 pm- kitchens close early. Not the hotel's fault of, course, but there is no mini bar in the room- so we were out of luck. Rooms are really small! Bathrooms even smaller. We had a view of the lake- that was great. Front desk clerk was friendly but not helpful enough- I hated the parking situation ( especially sine there were two spots in the lot marked "reserved for hotel"). This is not a five star property, but it's not pretending to be it. For the money- it was better than adequate. Unexpected decor, great location and the view make up for most of the other small issues. No AC, however, meant that we slept with open window. Great for getting the fresh air, not so great for the unexpected amount of noise in such quiet, sleepy town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVGIRL01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tralalahotel, Responsable réception at Tralala Hotel Montreux, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for giving us your opinion. It is always good for us to know what you think about our establishment, as much as the positive points as the negative ones.

We have only two parking places that were booked in advance. However, you have a lot of free places around the hotel, which we can show you at your arrival.

The reception and the bar are opened from 7 am to 11 pm, so if you would like to have a drink, it will be a pleasure to serve you something.

We will improve our weaknesses to satisfy as much as possible our guests.

We sincerely hope to welcome you anytime soon at the Tralala Hotel.

Best regards,

Lorena De Nobili
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel is situated in the ancient part of the city. It has 4 floors, and it is very clean. Very comfortable bed but horrible pillows... It is very close to the road, so I heard the cars passing by all night, also the next door guest was talking a lot till 1 am (I'm a light sleeper). The bathroom was clean, I really liked the decoration and the reception was very friendly. Parking might be a problem. Did not have breakfast at the hotel, but they offer some snacks and water if I'm not mistaken

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tralalahotel, Stagiaire at Tralala Hotel Montreux, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Hello dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your review. It is nice to hear that you enjoy lot of things at the hotel.

Yes you are right for the parking area, we have two private parking places but there are a lot of parking around the hotel in the white zone.
But we do have breakfast in the lounge from 7 a.m. until 10.30 a.m. We propose a wide various range of food : for exemple : eggs, ham, cheese, croissant, différents bread, cake, fruits, etc. Maybe you missed it ?

We hope to welcome you another time at the Tralala Hotel.

We wish you a nice evening.
Best regards,

Clara Biro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

If it's space your after the room we stayed in in this hotel did not have it. The lady at the front desk was very helpful and the hotel presents well but our room was not big enough and made it uncomfortable. Clean, tidy and good location were the positives. Parking = difficult. Should include breakfast. Nearby noise a factor.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mirah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tralalahotel, Stagiaire at Tralala Hotel Montreux, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hello dear customer,

First of all we would like to thank you for giving us your opinion.That is good for the team to get positive and negative points of the establishment.
We will try to improve our weakness to satisfy more our guests.

We sincerly hope to welcome you another time at the Tralala hotel.

Best regards,

Clara Biro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here over Easter and it was nothing short of perfect. The front desk lady (young lady--forget her name) was really sweet and helpful. Had a lovely room on the 4th floor. Only downside was that the room was facing the road and it got a tad noisy in the morning. Also it would help if the curtains blocked out light. Apart from that, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Room away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsHJM1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tralalahotel, stagiaire at Tralala Hotel Montreux, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Goof afternoon,

We really are thankful for your comment.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Tralala Hotel and hope to welcome you another time by us.

We wish you a nice end of the day,

Yours faithfully,

Clara Biro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is our second time visiting Hotel Tralala in Montreux. After our lovely first visit 2 years ago, we decided to go back. This time we were greatly disappointed.

We visited on a Thursday. Upon check in, we were told they had some kind of special event in the evening. As it turned out, it was a very loud party with earth shaking music.

We stayed on the second floor. We could feel the floor shaked due to the heavy bass of the sound system from the party. Also lots of people were talking in the stairway and we could hear them laugh and talk till late night. Noises of the crowd also entered from the windows because the party people also gathered on the streets. It was a small hotel for such a big party anyway.

The party did not end until way past midnight. But when the music stopped, people still gathered in the hotel and also on the street. Noises from people getting into the cars in front of the hotel and people's laughing and talking in the stairway did not stop until almost 2am.

We used Montreux as a stop to catch an early train the next morning so we badly needed a good night sleep which we did not get.

I don't mind people having fun but not at the expense of other hotel customers. If the party ended before 9 or 10pm it could be ok, but the noises did not die down until 2 am, and this was totally unacceptable.

When complaining to the reception the next morning, they made up excuse and said how the party was supposed to have ended early.


Another thing about the hotel is that they seemed to be more commercialized than before. In the past Tralala hotel gave me the a sense of sincerity of a family run business. But this time it all felt commercialized. When the staff saw that we are Asians, they immediately said Mandarin (a Chinese dialect) and told us how they have started taking Mandarin classes. Not all Asians are Chinese, by the way. They repeatedly recommended us a restaurant nearby and said that they could reserve a table for us. It felt a bit too pushy. I can understand their effort in satisfying the recent increase of Chinese travellers, but over emphasizing it will just have the opposite effect.

If there was no noise issue, this hotel could have offered a very good value because the room rate was reasonable in Switzerland standard.

However, with the noisy party going on till late night and the unapologetic attitude from the staff regarding the party noise, I can not recommend this hotel anymore.

We'll have to look for another hotel next time we visit Montreux.

Room Tip: Don't stay on second floor unless you don't mind the earth shaking loud music downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tralalahotel, stagiaire at Tralala Hotel Montreux, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Good evening,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your honesty and your comment.

We feel sincerley sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Tralala Hotel.

It was our party of the month, we apologize to you if you were disturbed, because that is true, it lasts really late this time.

We hope that you will change your mind and will come to visit us again.
Next time we will upgrade you to compensate the stay.

We wish you a nice evening.

Best regards,

Clara Biro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

To qualify my review, I have to first note that this is a very expensive part of Switzerland.

Beyond that, I would say that Tralala is good for what it offered, in that context. It isn't really a hotel in some senses, more of a B&B/guesthouse or motel in American parlance. Very charming in comparison to staying at a hotel for the price. i was there for 3 nights.

We arrived after dark, and got lost trekking uphill from the train station. Not terribly far... but when you are walking uphill in the dark and uncertain where to go, with luggage in the cold, it can be daunting. Fortunately a local we had met at the train station gave us a lift.

The night reception was very helpful, very friendly (this is in contrast to the day-reception, whose service was perfectly dreadful).

The room itself is basic, but big and clean ... very stylish in keeping with the spirit of the montreux jazz festival. It had a lovely two-corner view over the cobblestone streets outside.

No fridge or perks, but you can ask for a hot water kettle. My primary complaint is that at night it was too dark in the room for reading... even a basic reading lamp... and an extra foldable chair would have been useful so we didn't have to sit on the bed. And the pillows were too thin to be comfortable sleeping.

The wifi in our room was also weak. The TV only offered local stations.

It is situated high on a hill, on the edge of the old town but oh so charming with its cobble stoned streets out front and the views from the Rue du pont out over the lake. This is therefore also its weakness - the walk to town (about 15mins) is a steep downhill trek, and the trek uphill similarly steep ...

When we were there in early winter it got dark and deserted early, and the locals assured me it was quite safe to be walking around ... but it was nevertheless a long, quiet walk back from the lake to the hotel - uphill.

In the day, the hotel provides a pass for the free bus shuttle which stops right outside the hotel. This was very helpful , but when we were there it stops operating at 8pm.

Round the corner, we ate at a very local, charmng french-style restaurant Rue du Pont. i can recommend it .. . when in montreux ... stick with the french food if you're not one for the traditional swiss cooking.

If you're there near Christmas as we were, the christmas market by the lake was very charming.

Room Tip: The noise from the road isn't as bad as some travellers suggest. Just early in the morning... bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keltzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tralalahotel, Réceptionniste at Tralala Hotel Montreux, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

The Tralala team thank you for your comment that will hep us to improve our services to satisfy you even more during your next stay in our establishment.

You do not have to worry about Montreux concerning the quite nights. The city is really safe.

We would be more than pleased getting to welcome you again to our Hotel.

Till then, we stay with our warmest regards from Montreux.

Clara Biro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.5 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
718 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.2 mi away
Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
#6 of 17 in Montreux
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#4 of 17 in Montreux
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior
0.3 mi away
Hotel Helvetie
Hotel Helvetie
#14 of 17 in Montreux
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tralala Hotel Montreux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tralala Hotel Montreux

Property: Tralala Hotel Montreux
Address: rue du Temple 2, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tralala Hotel Montreux 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of the old Montreux (1 km from railway ; 0.5 km from the Leman lake), Tralala is a 1616 charming hotel 3 * entirely renovated in 2008 around the theme of music, typical characteristic of Montreux with its Jazz Festival. The Tralala offers a harmonious mix of comfort and elegance topped with a very warm ambiance. You will sleep emerged in sounds, thoughts and dreams from Prince, David Bowie, Igor Stravinsky or Alicia Keys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Tralala Hotel Montreux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing