We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Con should have checked trip advisor ”

Brasserie Du Nouveau Metropole
Ranked #100 of 120 Restaurants in Montreux
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Big Con should have checked trip advisor ”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

First thing, do not eat here! Yes it looks great and offers alfresco dining right on the lake and that's where the good points end.

We should have walked away as soon as we arrived as the waiters response was, "so you want a table?"

I ordered a glass of Rose a non description White arrived.

The salad starter was fresh but smothered in a sickly dressing. We ate it and waited and waited and waited. Our request for additional drinks was met with a surly response and they never came. A second request to a different waitress and they arrived.

Finally the main course a wet greasy doughy pizza Yuk! And a carbonara in a watery cheese sauce, fat for bacon and no seasoning, actually no pepper or Parmesan was offered.

The cost for the food we did not eat £70. In the UK a similar meal in a Pizza Hut that you probably could eat around £30. OK we were sat with a lake view and in Switzerland but there is no excuse to rip off your diners.

Avoid Avoid Avoid!

Helpful?
2 Thank Scrumpymoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    26
    21
    20
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
655 reviews
369 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Decent meal with a view”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

It's a restaurant with a terrace overlooking Lake Geneva in Montreux, so it's going to be aimed squarely at the tourist market, but for all that we had a decent meal with a beautiful view and when you're on holiday, what else do you want. It wasn't cheap, but we didn't expect it to be. The Moules Mariniere were quite ordinary, not terrible, but could have done with a little more punch...but the steak tartare was excellent. It was tasty, piquant and the meat was high quality. I could have sat there all afternoon with a couple of beers in the sun gazing out over the lake, not bad at all!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, Kent, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“We hadn't researched.......”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

..... where to eat in Montreux. If we'd looked at Tripadvisor we probably wouldn't have gone here, but we found nothing wrong. Sitting in the sunshine, beside the lake helps, but the resaturant was busy, the food was fine, the service up to standard and the prices (for Switzerland!) seemed reasonable. And the credit card machine didn't ask whether we wanted to add a tip.
So we think we got value for money - and that's what counts, at the end of the day!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJGJAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
1 review
“I will never eat it again and do not recommend it!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

we were out walking in Montreux and it was time for lunch , we saw this restaurant that seemed to be well but ....
A serveur is approached in very grumpy , it seemed that someone had bothered , then realized who was another of her pink shirt who spoke exalted with all serveurs . The serveur gave us the menu and chose the pizza and lasagna for the kids , my husband asked a local wine chosen Montreux , the serveur then brought everything, and serving the wine , poured on top of one of the kids , the serveur apologizes . Comes to food, the pizzas were not cheesy mozzarella had seemed to be bechamel sauce, not to mention the lasagna was inedible , it seems that should save and sell ultra frozen products , but the price of the menu should have fresh ingredients ,
My salad nicely presented but to start eating I come across a bug , I called serveur who came to apologize and said that things are happening everywhere . I'm not accustomed to eating insects ! I understand it was full because it was Sunday, but it is not food that presents with that price , it seems that the policy of this restaurant is to explore the tourist selling bad products at high price .

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cozy Restaurant on the Lake”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

While visiting Montreux this Christmas to visit the Christmas market we stopped in for a bite at this restaurant. My wife enjoyed the carrot soup, and I slurped up the chicken consomme with shitake mushrooms. Great food. We shared a pepperoni pizza with arugula and cheese. I am not an arugula fan but the combination was great. they even split the pizza into two dishes for us to share. Haven't been here during summer, but we had a great view of the Christmas Market and the lake. It was sunny versus the foggy lake in Geneva. If you are looking for a place to get a bite this is it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Du Nouveau Metropole also viewed

Montreux, Canton of Vaud
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Brasserie Du Nouveau Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing