We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique style not enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant de la Rouvenaz
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Boutique style not enough”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. The Wifi is spotty, so had trouble staying connected. Breakfast was included, but not enough choices: cereal, bread, a few cheeses, yogurt and fruit. Certainly adequate, bot lacking compared to other hotels. The breakfast room is a wine bar at night. Unfortunately, our room was directly above the wine bar which was open to the street. Since there's no airconditioner, we had to open the window. So we never got to sleep before midnight. Our room layout was strange with the desk down the hall in an alcove. The bathroom exhaust must circulate air somewhere near people smoking. Our bathroom always smelled like smoke, even though it was a nonsmoking hotel. The location was convenient. There's no parking included. Public parking isn't far away, but 21cfh per day! The restaurant was good an reasonably priced for Switzerland. Probably wouldn't stay here again or ever return to Montreux.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank PlanningFool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    108
    24
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
100
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Nice small hotel, very clean room and comfortable bed. Good location, ca 5 min walk from station.

Our room had (partially view) over the lake. Part of our view was obscured by the building opposite which was in the process of renovation, so there was some noise and lack of privacy, but not a huge issue.

Staff was friendly during check in, but hardly visible during breakfast, which itself was a bit disappointing after the generous portions/variety/choices at other places in Switzerland.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aslun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Set on the beautiful lake at Montreux this hotel is really a great place to stay. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The breakfast was filling, fresh and a great start to the day. It is very close to the railway station which was excellent for us as we used rail travel throughout Europe. On leaving the hotel we used the Golden Pass railway journey to take us to our next destination. This is an excellent trip to do from Montreux. We can’t faulty this hotel and certainly pleased to recommend it to anyone, based on our experience and stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug-Jennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A short walk from the railway station-head down to the lake and turn left.
Very centrally placed being two minute walk to the lake side.
A quirky hotel and difficult to rate.
It is very small and the reception is just a corner desk.
Staff were very helpful.
Visitors get a pass for local transport and reduced rate for the boats and museums and we made good use of it.
Our room was a bit on the small side but the bathroom was magnificent!
There was an air conditioning unit which we didn't use to start with, but then needed to turn on. We tried opening the window, but it had to be closed to cut out the road noise.
We had an evening meal in the restaurant and it was popular, with a good atmosphere and the food was good.
Breakfast was disappointing, adequate but basic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a lovely room with balcony which also had a stove & frig. and tea making facilities. Wonderful. Worth paying the extra. The only thing it didn't have was shampoos etc. Breakfast was adequate with cereal, fruit, bread and cheeses but not a cooked breakfast. We had a lovely view of Lac Leman. As we like to sleep with the window open it was a bit noisy. Would go back again. Found all the staff to be really welcoming. It is a bit hard to find but follow HogesOz direction and can't go wrong. Turn left from the railway station and across the road 50metres there is a lift but hard to find. We didn't see the sign.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biglizard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

By booking early and on their website we were lucky enough to have a room with a small balcony overlooking Lac Leman. Not the easiest hotel to find after arriving by train. Room was basic but sufficient and staff very quick to bring us a kettle and cups and tea bags when we requested them. Breakfast was very basic but was OK to start the day. Very central to ferry stop, train station and we made good use of the free Montreux-Vevey travel card. Caught free tram to Vevey and walked along the waterfront promenade back to Montreux. This is a must.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sixamigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were looking forwards to our stay here,having read some of the previous reviews.
Check in was efficient and informative. However, our room had to be reached via one flight of stairs after getting out of the lift. The room was smaller than average for the price paid, Nevertheless it was very clean and tastefully decorated. However, there was no view, and building work was taking place directly opposite. This proved to be very noisy first thing in the morning and noise from the restaurant directly next door went on late in to the early hours of the morning.
Breakfast was only adequate, with no meats . Other hotels in Switzerland, we have stayed at have always provided dried nuts and fruit salad.
We were not made to feel really welcome in the hotel.
To be fair one positive was that the hotel did provide a guest pass for travel and entry. The hotel is very convenient for the train station.

Room Tip: Check if there is stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunsetbeach08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.2 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#4 of 17 in Montreux
518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#12 of 17 in Montreux
661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
0.2 mi away
Hotel Helvetie
Hotel Helvetie
#14 of 17 in Montreux
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant de la Rouvenaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant de la Rouvenaz

Property: Hotel-Restaurant de la Rouvenaz
Address: rue du Marche 1, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant de la Rouvenaz 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant de la Rouvenaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing