We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Eden Palace au Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Eden Palace au Lac
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Reviewed 27 July 2007

We booked this hotel feeling confident that it would be of a reasonably high standard considering the huge prices they charge. Unfortunately from the moment we entered the lobby, we were very disappointed. The carpets were dirty and the decor very dated. The rooms were clean, just in need of some modernisation. My main complaint is about the food and the restaurant. We were on a half-board basis and therefore were not allowed to sit at the nicer tables which were kept for 'walk-ins'. The restaurant staff were overworked and far from attentive, although this could be overlooked if the food itself was edible. All I can say is that I have eaten better in a hospital canteen. Breakfast was equally as bad.
This hotel is in a fabulous location with wonderful views and it is such a shame that it is being so badly managed at present. I suggest that they use the profits from their inflated room rates to refurbish the hotel and hire a decent chef.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BelfastTownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
There are newer reviews for Eden Palace au Lac
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2007

No doubt, an enthralling view overlooking Lake Geneva. But you overpay for this. Very ordinary bathroom facility, soaps etc. in a junior suite for US$500. The room is old, needs remodelling. The sauna never worked. But the included breakfast was great. The reception service was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curtism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2007

Family of 3 stayed here 2 nights late May. Overall, very impressed. Let us check in early. Had emailed them a few days prior to arrival regarding self guided day trip to Gruyeres and Broc as Chocolate Train wasn’t running yet. Didn’t hear back before we left, but at check in, they handed over a printed up schedule and some tips, apologizing they hadn’t responded earlier. Later they helped me re-book a reservation on the Golden Pass train.
We had a corner room on the 5th floor. Very clean, great views.
Good lunch overlooking lake. Help yourself breakfast was very good, lots of variety. Great location, nice walk to Castle de Chillion.
Easy walk down from train station. ATM, shopping, restaurants all nearby.
Conclusion: friendly, helpful staff, clean room, good food, good location, fair price for what you get. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jmackq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2007

The hotel's website sure looks good. But if you reserve a room, be prepared to be accomodated in a completely different building which also belongs to the Eden Palace - and this will be a ghastly experience.

We booked a superior double room (with lake view) three months in advance, but when we arrived we were told that we were accomodated in another building which was, in fact, rather a clinic than a hotel. This happened to about a dozen other guests.

The reason is that the same company operates the Eden Palace au Lac (which looks nice) and another hotel/clinic which is called Biotonus. This Biotonus place looks like an old grand hotel and has mysteriously four stars but lacks every standard.

Please look at the pictures of the bathrooms of two superior (!) rooms which I am sending with this review. No further comment necessary.

No wonder, that Biotonus is always nearly empty. And so they overbook Eden Palace and send the guests to Biotonus to get the extra $$.

Brazenly, they charged Eden Palace's full rate (290 CHF) for the shabby accomodation at Biotonus. And no compensation, like a free dinner or at least a complementary bottle of champagne, at all.

Other experiences:

- The restaurant closes at 9 p.m. and the bar too.
- The pool (which is really beautiful) is open from 11 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.
- For breakfast, the only choice of bread is toast. No baguette, no croissants, nothing.
- No fitness room (as promised for Eden Palace).
- Noise from the railroad.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank traveller1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2007

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary at the beginning of May. The staff were absolutely wonderful and we were upgraded to a beautiful Junior Suite on the fifth floor with a superb view of the lake.
The location of the hotel is ideal - close to the lake (obviously) and just a few minutes walk to the shops/casino.
The hotel had a very relaxed, friendly atmosphere and the location and views make it worth every penny!
Hoping to go back to this hotel in the next few months.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank itsabigwideworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2007

From the minute we walked in the door it was worth the money. Staff were friendly and helpful, the location right on the lake is amazing, the views from our balcony were incredible. I have never stayed anywhere so expensive before, but would go back in a second.

The Eden Palace is a really majestic old hotel, with ornate intricate decor and a really lovely feel to the whole place. Our room on the top floor faced out onto the lake, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom enormous, plenty of wardrobe space and views to die for off the balcony. The room had free internet access through the TV which was a bit fiddly but did the job, and free movie channels in English to while away the hours we weren't drinking in the views.

The hotel was quiet at night but was located so close to all the major attractions (and right next door to the casino) that we never bothered using the free public transport card we were given within Montreux. It was handy for getting discounted tickets to Rochers-de-Naye, Chateau Chillon and a ferry trip around the lake.

Breakfast served downstairs in the ornate ballroom had a comprehensive buffet selection of hot and cold dishes and was delicious.

The hotel is starting to age, and against some of its newer competitors I can imagine it is going to need some renovation to the exterior sometime soon. However, the interior is beautiful, clean and well decorated. One thing missing was tea and coffee making facilities which I tend to expect but this did not take anything away from the hotel which exceeded my expectations.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, but would definitely pay a bit extra for a lake view room. Compared to other similar classed hotels in Montreux, the Eden Palace was cheaper and proved to be value for money in terms of location, views and room comfort.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BlondishRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2007

The staff were simply wonderful - so helpful, welcoming and utterly charming. Although the hotel looks a bit tired, the setting - on the shore of Lake Geneva is gorgeous.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HonestBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.4 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
789 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
#10 of 17 in Montreux
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helvetie
Hotel Helvetie
#14 of 17 in Montreux
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Palace au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Palace au Lac

Address: Rue du Theatre 11, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreux
Price Range: £104 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eden Palace au Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Eden Palace au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Palace Au Lac Hotel Montreux
Eden Palace Au Lac Montreux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing