We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Old Style Hotel”
Review of Hotel Helvetie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Helvetie
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The hotel is within easy walking distance to the train station and centrally located to the town. It would have been a grand hotel in it's day with large reception/lounge areas and breakfast room but is looking a bit tired. We booked a quadruple room with bathroom which was spacious and clean. The main room had a large bed and the separate bedroom had two single beds. Perfect for a family of four with older teenage children. Our breakfast was included in the room price and was a good continental breakfast. The staff were friendly, helpful and spoke english. I would stay there again as it was a good price in a very expensive area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nimontroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

The hotel is classy with a very beautiful staircase leading to the hotel lobby. The lobby is beautifully furnished and very cosy. There are nice art pieces and furniture there too. A small elevator leads up to the room and the room I had was a corner room that was really spacious and comfortable. Beds were good quality and fridge well stocked. Breakfast spread was good and for a really reasonable price. Truly enjoyed my stay there.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Seantyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Just stayed there for 3 nights. Knew nothing about it except, I asked my travel agent for 3 star hotels which were centrally located. If this place has 3 stars they are minuscule stars, probably more in line with something from another galaxy. Here's a few of the things we found: (1) could not open bathroom door more than 40 degrees because the sink was located behind the door so, we had to go in and out of the bathroom sideways; (2) there was no furniture in the room except for the bed and a small wooden chair... This means we had to put our suitcases on the floor and trip over them (3) the carpet was filthy... not just dirty... but, filthy; (4) we had a little terrace that was covered in bird and rodent droppings...they never cleaned it...oh, and since it was very hot and there is no A/C in most hotels in Switzerland, we had to keep the doors to the terrace open at night... Did not much like thinking of the birds and rodents coming into the room at night. But it was that or sweltering. I will never use the travel agents again as a function of this experience. Am still traveling around Switzerland... So I may have much more to report!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrQuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

beautiful genteel decay. The hotel Helvetie is a step back into the past reminding me of the Victorian seaside hotels you find in England. You can tell in it's heyday it was the grand dame of the avenue the reception, sitting room and dining room are grand belle epoque style and truly lovely. The rooms are not big but are plenty adequate and comfortable. I had a ensuite room which I would recommend. The hotel is very well located both from the train station but also from the lake side. The staff are very very helpful and friendly and are great at suggesting sights to see and how best to get there. They really are passionate about their area. The hotel provide guests with a travel card so you can use the buses and trains in the area for free. For the price it is a very nice place to stay and probably the best in its class and the staff are great.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter and cooler in the warm weather and have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

If you are a lover of antique furniture & classical buildings, you will definitely fall in love with this hotel. The location is very good. It's a ten minute walk from the train station. During your stay you can easily take bus number 12 from the bus stop downstairs - this will connect you to the train station. It's very close to the pretty water front, casino & some restaurants and is a relaxing place for holiday. The staff is extremely helpful and well mannered. It turned out to be our favorite hotel on Switzerland trip! I'd recommend this place to all romantic people :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amohd21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in a family room for 2 nights where the hotel had 2 single beds for the children but unfortunately 2 single beds for my husband and I, not ideal! The room had a gorgeous balcony where you could sit out and enjoy the views of Lake Geneva. The hotel breakfast was ok but the room was very small so found it hard to get a table in the mornings. The hotel is old but not in a shabby way it jus has great character, our room had high ceilings, parquet flooring. Would recommend that the hotel at least think about offering tea and coffee facilities I the room as once the children had gone to sleep we were stuck.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Gonzos4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We had a three night stay here over the last weekend of the jazz festival. The hotel is in a good position near the centre of Montreux and only a very short walk down to the lake. There is an incline on the way up. There are plenty of shops and cafes nearby, with the station a ten minute walk away. There is a large staircase up to the reception or a very small lift to the side which is locked in the evening. Reception were helpful and found information for us. We requested parking as they advertise there is parking if booked. We managed to obtain one night out of the three but be aware there is actually only one parking space at the back of the hotel that you need a pass for.
Our room was small, the bed was however the most comfortable we have ever slept on, that is the best thing about the hotel, linen was of good quality. There was a small cupboard for hanging clothes. The bathroom was another small cupboard with a section for the shower with the toilet in front. You couldn't help brush your towel past the toilet. It smelt of damp after a day. So small it was ridiculous. You only have one bath towel, no smaller towel for hair etc. There is a sink in the bathroom. There is no tea or coffee in the room. There is a hairdryer in the cabinet above the sink.
There is one chair and no where else to have your cases open. We had a balcony with a view of the tower block in front of us. Also there was no air conditioning but we were supplied with a fan. It was extremely hot and humid while we were there which making the fan inadequate.
There is a main lift in the hotel and an old wooden staircase, this is very creaky but is in keeping with the style of the hotel which might have been quite grand in it's day.
Breakfast again was disappointing. One day we were unable to get a coffee or tea from the waitress as she was busy and missed us. There is fresh bread and buns, a little cold meat and cheese selection, fresh fruit, yoghurts, and a small selection of cereals and juices. Service was not good and quite unfriendly, you got the feeling no one could be bothered.
Another point to note for those with mobility problems is that there is no stopping for drop off outside the hotel.
The problem in this area is that there is a big jump in price to get a better hotel. My advice is to spend a bit more. We wont be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeeBKHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.5 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#4 of 17 in Montreux
839 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.1 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#13 of 17 in Montreux
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Toscane
Villa Toscane
#17 of 17 in Montreux
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bon-Port Hotel
Bon-Port Hotel
#15 of 17 in Montreux
220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetie

Address: avenue du Casino 32, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Price Range: £75 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvetie 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel in provincial-style building located in city center, near casino & lakefront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Helvetie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetie Hotel Montreux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing