We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”
Review of Hotel Helvetie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Helvetie
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Birmingham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have to admit, i was suprised reading some of the recent reviews about tired looking decor. Having just returned from Montreux, and a one night stay at this hotel, I couldn't disagree more.

The twin room we stayed in (Room 251) was actually really nice. Modern bathroom with twin headed walk in shower, lovely spacious room with wooden floor throughout, and multiple windows providing a nice bright atmosphere. Yes the rest of the hotel may require a 'little' modernisation but I think it adds to the charm.....and after all you don't sleep in the corridors!

Helpful reception staff, providing detailed information about local attractions (and a free travel ticket which also gives 50% off boat trips and access to the Castle).

Location was great, far enough away from the main centre to be a quiet hotel, but still only a 5 minute walk to the central bars and restaurants. 2 minutes from the Casino and the Queen Experience, 5 minutes to the Freddie Mercury Statue.

Would definitely stay here again, bargain price in an expensive town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikey_westmids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    132
    94
    35
    19
See reviews for
87
129
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a really nice room. Its a great position. A view of the lake and mountains. Great king size bed. Helpful staff. Its just opposite the casino. I really recommend it.

It can be a bit hard to find in that the numbers of rue casino stop and start over. Make sure you print out a map.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Very good high standard hotel- best location- nearer to train and casino on the bus route- rooms are vintage with modernized type- highly recommended- staff were cooperative and nice-breakfast was good

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank aruppukottaimurugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed one night on train tour round Switzerland.Least good of all hotels we stayed in. Room rather gloomy, bathroom needs updating. But bed very comfortable so had good night's sleep. Breakfast fairly ordinary. Good position to go walking along edge of lake and handy for casino if you like that sort of thing (we don't!).

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank yorkshirelass32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Great location 5 minute walk from train station, 1 minute to casino, 5 minutes to lake and Freddie mercury statue. Nice terrace on our room, can see some mountains but mostly obscured by other buildings. This is an old building and some of it does look tired but comfortable, massive beds, good shower, fabulous location and reasonable rates for this area. Breakfast continental nice selection.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gail1842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Hotel Helvetie is a 5-10 minute walk from the Montreux train station. Descend from train station level to the next street below, and turn left. Pass the square with the Freddie Mercury statue, and walk a few more minutes and it will be on your left with a coffee shop on the first floor. The reception staff was very friendly, spoke English, and let me check in early. Every interaction I had with the reception was good. Once, they could not find me a place to do laundry, and so they gave me a coupon for a free coffee down in the shop below as an apology -- really nice of them!

The room was spotless, with a great view of the casino, lake, and mountains. The toilet was in a separate room from the sink and shower. The TV was a flat screen and got lots of channels in various languages. The bed (a single = slightly larger than an American twin bed, smaller than a double) was incredibly comfortable, and so was the pillow. The room was equipped with a fridge with a mini bar, a hairdryer, a wardrobe, and a desk. Everything was in working order and clean.

Breakfast was included in the rate, and was a buffet served in a lovely dining room across from reception. It had the standard croissants, breads, yogurts, fruit, cereals, juices, ham, and cheeses.

If you're a fan of the band Queen (as I am!) check out the Studio Experience across the street in the casino, and see where the band recorded some of its biggest hits!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street may get a bit of street noise, but also have incredible views of the lake an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisaq42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.5 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#12 of 17 in Montreux
663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#5 of 17 in Montreux
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bon-Port Hotel
Bon-Port Hotel
#15 of 17 in Montreux
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetie

Property: Hotel Helvetie
Address: avenue du Casino 32, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvetie 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel in provincial-style building located in city center, near casino & lakefront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Helvetie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetie Hotel Montreux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing