We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible view, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The view from our room was amazing. The room was comfortable; nice bathroom and adequate bed. The time of year we were there worked out well for having no A/C, as we were able to leave the door to our balcony open with little street noise. The "but" for my review is, after we checked out, I remembered I had left my cell phone sitting on the shelf in the bathroom. We returned to the hotel within 5-10 minutes of leaving, and housekeeping was already cleaning the room. My phone was gone and the ownership provided little assistance in trying to find it.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were stopping through on our way to Alsace and only stayed one night. My only regret is that we didn't have more time to enjoy the patio, which looks out over the lake surrounded by palm trees and picturesque snow capped mountains. We had been staying in Paris the days prior, so were pleased with how large the room was. Very clean and the desk staff spoke great English. Beds were comfortable and both room and bathroom were good size. We were visiting the Chillon castle, which was an easy bus ride from the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a city view room, which was reasonably priced. I'm sure the lake view rooms have great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

i"ve been in this hotel a month ago, i can tell that the rooms are very very clean , beds are comfortable & rich breakfast is served in the morning , staff is friendly .
our room was facing the lake , with the perfect view .My family and i were nicely welcomed by the GM Mr. konstantinidis.
i highly recommend it.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have an apartment very close to the hotel but we had let it - and had to attend a meeting in Montreux. Switzerland is expensive and Montreux one of the most expensive cities in Montreux. You must, though, pay extra for a lake view room. If you don't, you will find that the main railway is just in front of the hotel and it is raised to second floor level. People in Montreux accept that the railway winds through the centre of town - but the noise can be a huge shock to visitors! During the day fast passenger trains pass but during the night there are very long, very noisy goods trains - and the noise from these is earth shattering. If you stay in a room at the front of the building and have to open the window to get cool (there is no air conditioning) it will fell as though you are sleeping on the station platform.
At the back, the building insulates you from the noise, even when the window is open. You have an amazing view of the lake and the breeze is cooler as it is coming off the water.
The hotel probably needs some money spending on it - but is OK. I am not sure how it achieves four stars.
The terrace is very, very attractive and the staff are reasonable. Breakfast has just gone up from 18 to 25 francs and isn't worth it. I took the last piece of bacon and it wasn't replenished.
Instead, there are a couple of places in town that will do a croissant and a coffee at a reasonable price - or you could go to Zurcher (a very smart café) for breakfast.
There is a bus stop right opposite the hotel (and you will get a free public transport card from the hotel) and a walk into the centre of town takes 5-10 minutes.
If you go to a cheaper hotel there will be big drawbacks. If you go to a better hotel the prices will hurt you. I think this hotel is the best compromise - but you must decide just how much you want to spend.

Room Tip: ONLY choose a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnGerrardsCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

this hotel needs refurbishing. it is located next to the railway, this should be mentioned on their website because the rooms on the street side can be noisy due to the passing trains. except for the duvet, I can not say a lot of positive things about this hotel. the room was old, the light ornament was making noice when someone at the floor above us was walking around. the bathroom was tiny and really not reflecting 4 star quality. not a fair price for the service and value given

Room Tip: ask for a room on the lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TKBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Writing this review whike checked in here. We booked the cityview room but it didnt mention that it was right by the train track!!! Theres no a/c so we had to open the window and it's really really really noisy with trains passing by. We are drinking ourselves to sleep now!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank winkdiaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I was travelling by myself, stayed two nights and had a single room in the main building facing the lake. The room and bed were very comfortable and clean. The bathroom with bathtap gave good opportunity to relax. There was no noise from the train or neighbours.
I would highly recommand this hotel.
Did not have breakfast there as I found it pricy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evafoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.6 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#4 of 17 in Montreux
856 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#12 of 17 in Montreux
714 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#6 of 17 in Montreux
540 reviews
1 mi away
Villa Toscane
Villa Toscane
#17 of 17 in Montreux
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf-Hotel Rene Capt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf-Hotel Rene Capt

Address: rue de Bon-Port 33-35, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreux
Price Range: £108 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf-Hotel Rene Capt 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golf-Hotel Rene Capt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rene Capt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing