We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Villa Hotel worth every Swiss franc!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Toscane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Toscane
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Makati City
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Villa Hotel worth every Swiss franc!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just across the Royal Montreux Spa Hotel where our meeting was held, it was a cheaper and very convenient alternative. The room I was given was surprisingly huge with a very spacious bath/toilet/tub, and a big balcony where you can relax and eat/drink al fresco. There is an airconditioning unit, too!
Wonderful service, especially the breakfast crew!
Breakfast is served at the Royal Montreux, where you can sit outside with a beautiful view of Lake Leman. You can use the spa, pool, and other amenities at the Royal at no extra cost.
Wifi is free, though signal is erratic.
Bus to/from the train station stops at the doorstep.
NOTE: 1) Check-in/out at the Royal Hotel across the street. 2) Don't forget to ask for your Montreux card from the reception counter; gives you free bus/train transportation throughout your stay in Montreux.
Worth every swiss franc!

Room Tip: There are huge rooms on the 2nd floor with a huge balcony, facing the street though. Spacious, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maridel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    52
    67
    51
    52
See reviews for
62
98
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

It is hard to adequately describe my reaction to the Villa Toscane. After reading the comments, I sent a note along with my booking requesting a quiet room and foam pillows. We arrived at the Royal Plaza where you have to check in and after a delay, we were informed that our room was on the first floor of the Villa Toscane facing the highway and there were no other rooms available. The pillows had not been changed to foam and the room stank of pet urine. Finally, the room air conditioner barely worked. I went back to the Royal Plaza where the desk staff admitted that no one had read my note. The clerk checked on rooms at the Royal Plaza, and, after consulting with the manager, she offered to move us for 200 SF more per night. This was really no accommodation at all. Rather than check on alternative hotels on a very busy Montreux evening, we decided to tough it out. This was one of my worst hotel experiences and I would strongly recommend that the Villa Toscane be avoided even if it is the only hotel available, which would not be surprising.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LSwengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreux hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

hotel is 2 busstop away from main station.good big rooms very decent bathroom but small cubicle for bathing.worst part no wifi and no internet.check in and check out at the royal plaza and even internet is at the main hotel.carry your luggage to and fro acroosss the hotel for checking in n out. comfortable beds.friendly staff to help u out always.can stay again if visited.

Room Tip: carry your internet and light luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank varun1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed at Villa Toscane in a Solo Room, Nice Room for the relative short time I stayed being I was at the Festival as much as I could stand! Outstanding Breakfast! with a magnificent view, best part was Swimming in water! simply awesome... Itwas easy walking distance to the Festival and Auditorum Stravinsky. my only deal was the lack of an air conditioning in room, but without the presence of mosquitos no problem leaving window open. A nice "American Shower" actually enclosed and full closet. The 3 Prince concerts viewed was simply magnificent! Bring Snorkel and you can have even a greater experience swimming in Lake Geneva... next time I visit I will definitely explore!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEspree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

I have stay here three time in Villa Toscana ,I like this hotel because is small and the same luxury villa ,the room is very nice with big Balcony ,clean and comfortable ,but problem is road ,sound of the car ,all is okay .I have stay here ,2 weeks in Appril 2012 ,I weeks in October 2012 ,and 3 days in January 2013 , I like Montreux ,I like Villa Toscana ,I want back again here ,+++++++

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aida N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Having in mind how expensive are hotels in Switzerland it's nonsense to discuss the value for money.

This hotel is actually the liberty style villa transformed into small and lovely hotel as a part of Swiss Q Hotels. It's across the Royal Plaza Hotel where is also situated the reception and all amenities You can have as a hotel guest (pools, spa, wifi). So, at Your arrival do not be confused how to enter the hotel (because we were wondering) - cross the intersection (and very busy) road to reach the reception in the Royal Plaza Hotel. The staff is very kind and friendly but the hotel policies are a little bit restrictive - for example in order to get deposit they actually block your credit card for that amount (and it wasn't unblocked immediately after we left). There isn't free hotel parking - there is small street parking place and for using large one hotel parking you should be charged (something about 25 CHF per day).

We stayed in double room which was spacious and nice but the bathroom extremely small in old-fashion style (need for sure some refreshment and better ventilation). The cleaning was pretty good and average sleeping quality especially due to noisy position of the hotel.

Free wi-fi? Only in the lobby of Royal Plaza Hotel while in the rooms across the street the signal was to poor to have any stable connection.

It takes about 15 minutes by walk to reach center of Montreux i.e. the central square where is Shopping center and Freddy Mercury statue.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EternalSunshine78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is dated and needs an upgrade. The bed was comfy and cosy. WiFi access was hopeless it should not be advertised that it has coverage everywhere as we constantly had problems logging in and using it. We did complain about it but nothing got done to fix it. We did not even get a call with an update. Same went for a heater that we wanted one of the evenings or scales to weigh our baggage. I guess they are minor issues as the room was quiet and access from the hotel to the bus was easy. The staff were friendly and nice to talk to.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wojciech M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
0.8 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#12 of 17 in Montreux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
0.9 mi away
Bon-Port Hotel
Bon-Port Hotel
#15 of 17 in Montreux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Toscane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Toscane

Property: Villa Toscane
Address: Rue du Lac 2 - 8, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Montreux
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Toscane 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Toscane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Toscane Swiss q

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing