We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Spot!”
Review of Villa Toscane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa Toscane
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were so pleasantly surprised with this hotel after booking online with Hotwire! The room was grand and absolutely beautiful. We had two bedrooms, a bathroom, a large sitting room and a wonderful deck, with views over Lake Geneva. We had to check in at the hotel across the street, which was not a big deal at all. The service was amazing and the room was just perfect for what we needed. I wouldn't even think twice about staying here again. It was within easy walking distance of Lake Geneva and of the town of Montreux, which we explored after a great and comfortable sleep!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jainne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were rather skeptical as we had booked the room due to the price but were not sure with the other reviews. But the family (quad) room was a large one with a large bathroom. The bed was extremely confortable. The check in is across the road at the another 5 star property of the same hotel. Villa Toscane is four star one. but the breakfast is common. and the spread was really lavish by Europe standards. The service too was very good. Had free wifi and the location too was very close to the Montreux centre - 10 min walk. There is a bus available right outside the hotel which takes to Chillon Castle or Vevey or Montreux city centre.

All in all, a good hotel to stay.

Room Tip: The family room 302 number was really a large one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShilpaVora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

++ The room was very spacious and nicely decorated. Felt like a homey place. Bed was large and super comfy. Price was quite competitive. Hotel attached as an annex to Royal hotel which is a 5*. Beautiful bar with amazing view on the Lake. Food and drinks at the bar were good.

-- No reception at this hotel, only rooms, so a bit of a hassle to have to cross the street. Very noisy room with old windows (heavy traffic on the high street side:( and noisy neighbours (entire families). Bathroom was really not up to the standards and seems to have not been maintained since it was built in the 70's.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Stelaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Bad location,lift service not provided on every floor,very small rooms,very noisy,check in,breakfast,all othet service is in the other hotel,not very clean,hardly 1 plug point in the room,not a single person to guide in this hotel,no view from the hotel,very gloomy,feels not like a hotel but a haunted house,highly unrecommended hotel,the worst i could get

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 251,984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I picked this hotel for its price so didn't expect too much. Wasn't disappointed but wasn't wowed either. Room (2nd floor facing main road) was big and offered a little lake view. The 'twin' room was actually just one bed with two side by side mattresses, so I'm not sure it would qualify for 'twin bed'. The hotel itself is dated but was ok for one night.

Staff (at Royal Plaza hotel) could be more helpful though. Even though I was waiting at the front desk for a few minutes, they (both of them) still chose to pick up the phone rather than answer my queries.

Didn't try the swimming pool or the spa as the weather was great when we were there so didn't want to spend too much time indoors.

Location-wise, it's two bus stops (201) from the train station and 3 stops from the pier. Also wanted to point out that the staff wrongly advised me that I would still need to pay for the ferry (to Chateau de Chillon) using the Swiss Pass - it's free, even to Lausanne.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLNemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Villa itself was poorly maintained (chipped pain everywhere) and as I suffer from chest complaints I was aghast that the heating was poor, with a draft from the windows. I eventually developed pneumonia, due to my delicate health. The cleaners expect you to clean for them otherwise they complain. The staff were all very young - too young to have any authority. Most were of Eastern European origin and therefore surly, unprofessional and easily influenced to the detriment of the guest. The receptionists were also scruffy and worked as bar staff, if you wanted a drink. This gave the impression that you were an inconvenience. Knowing I was handicapped the cleaners complained again simply saying "We don't want you here,. This is not a hospital". I would certainly recommend tourists avoid Switzerland as I have received similar treatment elsewhere in the region.

Room Tip: I suggest you don't. I requested a large room as I had 4-5 cases with me, as I was working on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Villa Toscane for me is a very good hotel with a homy ambience. The place is quiet but you must select a room that is at the back and up of the hotel since the room near the road is somehow noisy because of the traffic. The disadvantage of this hotel is you have to cross to the other side of the road where royal plaza is located to have your meal, WiFi and other aminities.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Allyson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
0.4 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#4 of 17 in Montreux
836 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#13 of 17 in Montreux
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.8 mi away
Hotel Helvetie
Hotel Helvetie
#14 of 17 in Montreux
344 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Bristol
Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 1 in Territet
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Toscane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Toscane

Address: Rue du Lac 2 - 8, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Montreux
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montreux
Price Range: £79 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Toscane 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an Art Nouveau building, the Villa Toscane in Montreux features 45 guest rooms. Decorated in a modern style, all rooms provide free Wi-Fi access. Facing the Royal Plaza Montreux & Spa, the hotel offers the whole range of 5-star amenities including a restaurant, 2 bars, spa, underground parking for 135 cars and a conference centre featuring 11 conference rooms, able to accommodate up to 250 people. Catering to both leisure and business travellers’ needs, La Villa Toscane really has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Toscane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Toscane Swiss q

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing