We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bon-Port Hotel(Montreux)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Helvetie(Montreux)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
184
57
16
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
57
16
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbox of chocolatessweet trolleycow bellslake genevameeting roomold fashioned stylelittle touchesits charmup to datetraditional hotellocal winelac lemanoverlooking the lakepublic roomsbreakfast and dinnerold worldmagnificent view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were disappointed in Hotel Victoria. The public rooms had a stagnant smell of cigarettes and looked tired, in dire need of some updating. Our room, which had a wonderful view of Lake Geneva, also looked worn. This was definitely not up to the Relais & Chateaux standards that we experienced at other properties.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BandJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We visited the hotel in February and it was a complete delight. The hotel is located high above Lake Geneva on a large site with lovely gardens. You feel as though you are perched on the side of the mountain which is lovely. You can access the hotel by funicular from the village below or by an exciting car journey up through the old town of Montreux.
The hotel is a Swiss classic, real genuine hospitality, stunning scenery, great food and a historic trophy building. While we were there in February it rained down in Montreux but that means snow at Hotel Victoria. The hotel is also close to the railway station which enables a trip to the nearby mountain peak of Rochers-de-Nayers which offers a lot of snow, dramatic scenery and some skiing.
The staff were very helpful and the owner is always to be seen. The nicest touch was when the owner gave our kids each a box of chocolates when we were checking out. Perhaps he was just glad to see us go! But we felt our stay at the hotel was appreciated. We visit Switzerland each year and have stayed in many beautiful hotels. Normally we always try and visit a different hotel, but Hotel Victoria is different and we plan to return.

Room Tip: We had an end suite (120) at the eastern side of the hotel. There was a good sized bathroom, a bedroom with a single bed with morning and afternoon sunshine, another bedroom with a double bed with balcony overlooking Lake Geneva, and then the main room with a sofa bed, desk, table and chair and two French windows leading onto a balcony. The balcony was very spacious and would be perfect for breakfast in warm weather.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GstaadMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Take a trip back in time and visit an age that service was what it still should be but rarely is .

This is not the case at the hotel Victoria ,it is old fashioned in all the best senses of the words .

Everything is immaculate from a bygone era and the food absolute excellent simplicity with portions that for sure do not leave you wishing for more .

If one is in this area and wishes to experience the best of yesteryear then a visit to stay lunch or dine at the Victoria is an absolute must !

I was there again last week and shall revisit it again shortly ?

It is places like this that bring back the best memories of another time but superb still today .

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank JonathonSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were looking for a weekend getaway from Zurich, and this place was just perfect. I spent a long time researching hotels in Montreux, then I came across this place, which is only a 10 minute funicular ride away (hey - who doesn't like riding funiculars?) and has a beautiful view over the city, the lake, and the mountains.

The concierges at the front desk are super nice and accommodating (we got a free upgrade, they let us check out a bit late) and I had one of the better meals in recent memory at the restaurant there. Beef with foie gras and black truffle. The only thing that could have taken it up a notch was some gold leaf or tiny diamond sprinkles.

Our room was nicely furnished and comfortable, and had a breathtaking view over the lake and the mountains. The rest of the hotel has impressive Victorian decorations - you should definitely walk around or ask for a tour. Just don't think about that scene with the twins from The Shining...

I've never stayed at any hotels in Montreux, but this place felt somehow special, not just one of many (beautiful, I'm sure) hotels along the lake.

Bonus: The Caux Palace is a short walk (35m?) uphill. Great way to burn off all those acquired calories.

Room Tip: Corner room with the lake view was pretty impressive.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here during the Montreux Jazz Festival in July, 2013. It was like stepping back in time to a bygone world of civility and grace.
The views from the balconies overlooking the lake are spectacular. Rooms are elegant, bed linens of top quality.
Wait-staff is well trained - as one would expect in Glion - and the dining experiences unique. Breakfast served outside on the terrace is a lovely start to the day.
Well worth a visit to experience a quickly disappearing era of exquisite service.
We hope to be back again next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews